
 
Certified Operator 

Training, education, and 
experience requirements 

 
The State of Kansas, through the Department of Health 
and Environment (KDHE), administers a mandatory 
water and wastewater operator certification program.  
The program was begun in 1975 as a result of laws 
passed by the Kansas Legislature.  The law requires all 
water supply systems and wastewater treatment facilities 
to be under the supervision of an operator certified by 
KDHE.  The Legislature realized that proper operation 
of these facilities was essential to protect the health and 
environment of Kansans. 
 

 How the program is administered – the program is 
administered through KDHE and provides for five 
certification levels for water operators, and five 
certification levels for wastewater operators.  There is 
currently no mandatory certification program for 
distribution system, collection system or laboratory 
personnel. 
 
In order to achieve certification, an individual must 
attain competency through study, training, and on-the-
job experience.  Once a minimum amount of 
experience has been gained, the individual must pass a 
written examination.  Upon passing the written 
examination, KDHE issues a certificate to  the 
operator.  The certificate must be renewed every two 
years.  Prior to renewal, operators must attain 
continuing education in some aspect of their 
certification area. 
 

 How reciprocity is handled – Reciprocity is awarded 
on a case-by-case basis. 

 
If you wish to obtain a certificate through reciprocity, 
you must submit a completed Request for Reciprocity 
form.  A copy of the form may be obtained by 
contacting us at the telephone number listed or from 
KDHE’s website.  It is particularly important that you 
submit a copy of your certification from the state 
where you are currently certified.  It is also important 
to attach a copy of your resume describing your water 
and wastewater training and experience. 

 
Requirements 

What you have to do to become 
certified 

 
Prior to taking an operator certification examination, an 
operator must meet four requirements: 
 
 1. Currently own or be employed by a water  
  supply system or wastewater treatment facility. 
 2. Have a high school diploma or GED. 
 3. Have acquired the minimum number of 
  years of experience for the class of examination  
  desired (see the table below). 
 4. Have acquired the minimum number of points 
  for the class of examination desired.  Points are 
  awarded based on experience, education, and 
  training (see the table below). 
  

 
Class 

 
Points* 

Years of 
Experience 

 

Small System 12.5 6 months 
I 13.0 1 
II 14.0 1 
III 16.0 2 
IV 18.0 2 

*See the back page for a listing of point values 
 
Once the minimum requirements are met, the operator 
must submit an examination application form, and a $25 
examination fee to KDHE.  For information on the dates 
and location of examinations, we can be contacted at 
785.296.5511 or at KHDE’s web site:  
www.kdheks.gov/water/www.html  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
Training 

How you obtain the necessary 
training in Kansas 

 
Training is a vital part of the Kansas certification 
program.  Training is helpful in obtaining initial 
certification, and it is mandatory for renewal of a 
certificate.  Ten hours of training are required during 
every two-year renewal period for Class I – IV water 
and wastewater certificates.  Five hours of training are 
required every two years for Small Systems certificates.  
See the last page for a listing of training credit hours 
awarded for various training activities. 
 
Kansas is fortunate to have numerous quality training 
opportunities available.  Training in Kansas is typically 
provided through the following outlets: 
 
 Fort Scott Community College (FSCC), Great Plains 

Institute (GPI), Kansas Laboratory Education 
Association (KLEA), Kansas Rural Water Association 
(KRWA), Kansas Section American Water Works 
Association (KSAWWA), Kansas Water Environment 
(KWEA). 
Copies of training schedules can be obtained from 
KDHE or at KDHE’s web site: 

 www.kdheks.gov/water/www.html  
 
 The KDHE Annual Water and Wastewater Operators 
 School.  The School is held each year around the first 
 week of August in Lawrence, Kansas. 
 
 In-house training, vendor training, and private 
 training.  Training falling in this category must be pre-
 approved by KDHE. 
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Training/Experience Credit 

 
 

Training/Education 
Experience 

Credit 
Hours* 

Experience 
Points 

 

1-day training** 5 0.0 
2-day training** 10 0.25 
KDHE Annual School 
 2 days 
 3 days 

 
10 
15 

 
0.25 
0.50 

High School diploma or 
General Education 
Development diploma 
(GED) 

NA 12.00 

College education – each yr 
 30 semester hours 

NA 1.00 

Operating experience – each 
yr 
 Must be involved in 
   daily operation and/or 
 Must be full time – full 
    time means on the job  
   during the working day  
   for the plant or system. 

NA 1.00 

Cal. State Univ. Courses 
 Per volume 

NA 1.00 

Approved semester-long 
Courses 

54 1.50 

Approved 2-yr environment 
technology degree 

NA 6.00 

Approved Training 
 40 contact hours 

40 1.00 

 
* Hours do not carry forward to subsequent renewal 
 period 
 
** Training must be pre-approved by KDHE 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
Education, Training and Experience 
Requirements 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
KDHE – Bureau of Water 
1000 SW Jackson Street, Suite 420 
Topeka, KS 66612-1367 
Phone: 785.296.5511 
Email:  Teresa.Schuyler@ks.gov 
    

 


