
 
 
 
 

Bureau of Waste Management  Phone:  785-296-1600 
Curtis State Office Building  Fax:  785-559-4252 
1000 SW Jackson St., Suite 320  bwmweb@kdheks.gov 
Topeka, KS  66612-1366  www.kdheks.gov/waste 
 
Jeff Andersen, Acting Secretary                                                        Department of Health & Environment Sam Brownback, Governor 
 

January 17, 2018 
 
Re: 2018 Hazardous Waste Report and Monitoring Fee 
 
Dear Environmental Coordinator: 
 
Each facility that is classified as a Kansas Small Quantity Generator (KSQG), generating between 55 and 220 pounds 
of hazardous waste in any single month, or as a Small Quantity Generator (SQG), generating between 220 and 2,200 
pounds of hazardous waste in any single month, is required to pay an annual hazardous waste monitoring fee and 
submit an annual report. If the fee payment and report are not received, the facility will be in violation of KAR 28-
31-10(d)(2) and/or KAR 28-31-262a(b) and may receive a penalty. 
 
This letter serves as the invoice for the KSQG/SQG monitoring fee of $150, which is due before April 1, 2018. 
 

A complete submission consists of the following: 
 A copy of this letter. 
 The monitoring fee payment of $150 made payable to the “Hazardous Waste Management Fund-KDHE”. 
 A signed and dated Notification of Regulated Waste Activity Form, which serves as the annual report. 

The Notification of Regulated Activity Form can be found on the Bureau of Waste Management web site at 
www.kdheks.gov/waste under Hazardous Waste & Used Oil Forms. 
 

Be sure to: 
 Make a copy of the completed report for your records and keep it for at least three years. 
 Include the facility’s EPA ID number on the payment. (If the check includes payment for more than 

one facility, provide information indicating the EPA ID number and fee amount for each facility.) 
 Submit the original signed and dated Notification of Regulated Waste Activity Form, a copy of this letter, 

and the fee payment to my attention at the address shown above. 
 
Please note the following exception. If the facility has not been, and will not be, a KSQG or an SQG any time in 
2018, please submit the updated report without any payment. Be sure to indicate the date the facility generator 
classification changed. If, for all of 2018, the facility is a Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generator or is not 
generating any hazardous waste, no payment is due. If the facility is a Large Quantity Generator, there will be 
additional forms to complete and separate fees will apply; please contact me for additional information. 
 
If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact me by phone at 785-296-0005 or by email at 
kdhe.notifications@ks.gov.  Your cooperation with the Kansas Hazardous Waste Program is appreciated. 
 

Sincerely, 

 
Stacey Smith 
Bureau of Waste Management Regulations and Data Unit 

http://www.kdheks.gov/waste
mailto:kdhe.notifications@ks.gov.
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