Ordering Marriage Certificates

Marriage certificates began being filed with the Office May 1, 1913.

Marriage information is open to the public at the county district court level. Click here to access a listing of all Kansas county district courts.

Completed marriage licenses are first filed with the County Clerk of the District Court in the county where the marriage license was issued. The District Courts then forward the completed licenses to the Office of Vital Statistics.

The Vital Statistics Office remains closed to walk-in customers. For ordering options, please see below.

Beginning June 15, the Vital Statistics Office lobby will open for pick-up for Will Call Orders only. Will Call applicants will be notified via email when they can pick up the certificate(s) and are encouraged to wear masks. Upon arrival, Will Call applicants should check in with Security.

For additional instructions, click on an Ordering Method.

ORDERING METHOD

DESCRIPTION

COST

PROCESSING TIME

INTERNET

Access www.vitalchek.com any time. Payment made by credit card.

$15 for each certified copy PLUS $13.95 expedited service fee.

Within 3 to 5 business days after receipt in our office

TELEPHONE

Call 1-877-305-8315 available 24 hours, seven days a week, 365 days a year. Payment made by credit card. Spanish interpreters available.

$15 for each certified copy PLUS $13.95 expedited service fee.

Within 3 to 5 business days after receipt in our office

MOBILE APP

Download the App through your device app store. Search for "IKAN" (select IKan – State of Kansas). Payment made by credit card or ACH.

1 certified copy per order. $15 for the certified copy PLUS $5.00 processing fee

Dependent on delivery method selected:

Will Call - will receive message usually same day or next business day for pick up

Regular mail - 7 to 10 business days.

WILL CALL
(MUST PICK UP IN OFFICE)

Access the VitalChek website at this address: https://www.vitalchek.com/Campaign?site=2&clickid=1017250999624990722
OR
Download the App through your device app store. Search for "IKAN" (select IKan – State of Kansas). 

Only the applicant can pick up the certificate and will need a current, government issued photo ID. Office hours are 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday. Customers are encouraged to wear a mask when entering Vital Statistics

$15 for each certified copy PLUS $5.00 processing fee.

An E-mail will be sent when certificate is ready for pick up. Usually ready the following business day. Do not come to the office until E-mail is received stating certificate is ready to pick up, otherwise you will not be able to enter our office.

REGULAR/PRIORITY MAIL

Send request by regular mail or priority mail service. Payment made by check or money order.

$15 for each certified copy.

Dependent upon current request volume - 7 to 10 business days

RECORD CORRECTIONS

AMENDMENT & CORRECTIONS

To amend/correct certificate of marriage.

$15 for amendment or correction of vital record.

Dependent upon current request volume - 3 to 5 weeks.

State law also specifies that the initial $15.00 fee for a certified marriage certificate copy is a five-year record search fee – one certified copy is issued if the record is found and if not found, the fee is retained. You will receive either the certified copy or a letter explaining the search conducted and that no record was located.