Storage Tank Section


Sharon Morgan, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1678    Fax: (785) 559-4260
Email: Sharon.Morgan@ks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Storage Tank Section is responsible for enforcing federal and state storage tank regulations designed to prevent releases that impact the health and safety of the citizens of the state.



The Storage Tank Section enforces federal and state storage tank regulations and provides oversight and direction of investigations and remedial activities at sites where storage tank releases have taken place. Site remediation may be funded by responsible parties, or through reimbursement from the state Petroleum Storage Tank Reimbursement Fund or from the federal LUST Trust Fund.

STORAGE TANKS AND COVID-19
The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) acknowledges there are difficulties due to the precautions to prevent the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19). Please see below for information about site work for consultants working for the Storage Tank Section.

What's New!

Updated Corrective Action Policy Manual

The Storage Tank section has updated the Storage Tank Section Corrective Action Policy Manual.

Updated UST Compliance Forms

The Storage Tank section has updated the UST Compliance Forms to be used by underground storage tank operators. There are also updated forms to be used by contractors for registering regulated and nonregulated underground storage tanks. These forms are required when using KEIMS, KDHE's new information management system.

Storage Tank Statutes: Senate Bills

Representatives of the Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association (PMCA) of Kansas introduced amendments to the Storage Tank Act (KSA 65-34,100 et seq) to the Kansas Legislature under Senate Bills 285, 286 and 287. These bills include extensions to various funds sunset dates, an increase in the maximum liability of the funds used for clean-up activities, and an increase in the amount of reimbursable expenses of underground storage tank replacement.

  • SB 285 - Extending the existence of the UST Redevelopment fund and Compensation Advisory Board to 2032.
  • SB 286 - Amending the Kansas Storage Tank Act by increasing the maximum liability of and extending the sunset of the aboveground and underground fund.
  • SB 287 - Amending the Kansas Storage Tank Act by extending the expiration of certain reimbursement provisions to 2030 and increasing the underground storage tank replacement reimbursement maximum.

Statute Update:
After going through committee, the Bills were passed by the Senate in February 2020. In March 2020, the House Agriculture Committee also passed the bills, and combined the three bills into one. The Bill was awaiting approval from the House when COVID-19 delays were implemented, and the session was postponed. During a special session held in May 2020, one of the bills' provisions was passed which extended the sunset date of the UST Removal and Replacement program through July 1, 2021.

Storage Tank Regulations

The Kansas storage tanks requirements regulated under KAR 28-44 have been in effect since 1990 and consisted of an adoption of most of the federal regulations cited in 40 CFR 280. Due to the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) amended regulations in 40 CFR 280 and 281 effective in 2015, KDHE was charged with amending regulations governing storage tanks to comply with the federally mandated requirements.

Regulation Update: As of June 18, 2020, the approved amended Storage Tank Regulations have been published by the Secretary of State in the Kansas Register. The effective date of these regulations is July 6, 2020.

Tank Talks

The Storage Tank Section is working with the Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association to coordinate several meetings for the regulated community throughout the state regarding hot topics. This year one of those hot topics is the new storage tank regulations. A copy of the presentation describing the regulatory changes and new requirements is available at the link above.

Contractual Services Unit

The Contractual Services Unit designs and specifies the format for bidding on scopes of work for corrective action at UST and AST petroleum release trust fund sites. The unit tracks consultant work timelines and budgets and enforces program reimbursement policies. The unit tracks project budgets and expenditures made through the KDHE petroleum remediation contract. The unit documents and tracks consultant qualifications and compliance of responsible parties with agency policies and consent agreements.

Groundwater Monitoring Unit

The Groundwater Monitoring Unit is responsible for the oversight of UST and AST sites in the monitoring program. Unit activities include set-up and coordination of long term monitoring at trust fund sites and evaluating natural attenuation of petroleum constituents. Unit project managers carefully evaluate monitoring report data in accordance to Risk-based Corrective Action guidelines to determine if sites are candidates for continued monitoring, remediation or closure. The unit also oversees recovery and removal of Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids (raw fuels) where recovery is technically possible in order to reduce source areas, and inspects vendor activities and field work in order to maintain quality assurance/quality control. Unit technicians are in charge of remedial equipment inventory, maintenance, and disposal.

LUST Investigation Unit

The Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Unit performs project management for Limited Site Assessments and Risk Based Corrective Action. In addition, staff administer Time and Materials contracts and the Federal LUST program. Staff also coordinate tank removals and excavation activities, respond to emergencies, process public requests for information, and disseminate program information to the public and other government agencies.

Remedial Unit

The Remedial Unit facilitates remedial actions at sites where there has been a release of petroleum products from storage tank systems. Remedial Unit staff oversee design, installation, and continued operation of soil and groundwater remedial systems as well as sensitive receptor treatment, including private and public water supply treatment systems and vapor mitigations systems associated with indoor air quality.

Preventative Unit

The Preventative Unit works to prevent the release of regulated substances from underground storage tanks (USTs), protecting public health and safety and preventing soil and groundwater contamination. KDHE, UST owners and operators, and Kansas-Licensed Contractors work together register and permit tank sites, perform compliance inspections, maintain a facility database, and license contractors for work on these systems. The Unit also permits regulated aboveground tanks and processes applications for the storage tank trust and UST property redevelopment funds.

Kansas Public Record Summary Information for USTs for 2019.

Storage Tanks Section Staff Directory

-->

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Sharon Morgan

Section Chief

Sharon.Morgan@ks.gov

785-296-1684

Cathy Herring

Administrative Specialist

Cathy.Herring@ks.gov

785-296-1661

Contractural Services Unit

Marcia Morgan

Unit Chief

Marcia.Morgan@ks.gov

785-296-4574

Tammy Sund

Coordinator

Tammy.Sund@ks.gov

785-296-5625

Julie Turner

Public Service Administrator

Julie.Turner@ks.gov

785-296-2181

Pam Tyner

Administrative Assistant

Pamela.Tyner@ks.gov

785-296-6367

Kerri Yocum

Coordinator

Kerri.Yocum@ks.gov

785-296-5542

Groundwater Monitoring Unit

James Snow

Unit Chief

James.Snow@ks.gov

785-296-1870

Ashley Allen, P. G.

Professional Geologist

Ashley.Allen@ks.gov

785-296-6385

Victor Cimino

Geology Specialist

Victor.Cimino@ks.gov

785-296-2579

Cory Ingham

Environmental Specialist

Cory.Ingham@ks.gov

785-291-3793

Matthew Ptacek

Environmental Specialist

Matthew.Ptacek@ks.gov

785-296-0642

Mark Totty

Environmental Associate

Mark.Totty@ks.gov

785-291-3107

LUST Investigation Unit

Stephanie Pfannenstiel

Unit Chief

Stephanie.Pfannenstiel@ks.gov

785-296-6768

Chris Anderson, P. G.

Geology Associate

Chris.Anderson@ks.gov

785-296-0623

Matt Kuffel

Geology Specialist

Matt.Kuffel@ks.gov

785-296-0699

Alda LaCrone

Administrative Assistant

Alda.Lacrone@ks.gov

785-296-8426

Lacey Laird

Environmental Specialist

Lacey.Laird@ks.gov

785-296-8987

Matthew Lawhon

Environmental Associate

Matthew.Lawhon@ks.gov

785-296-2579

Remedial Unit

Scott O'Neal

Unit Chief

Scott.O'Neal@ks.gov

785-296-1597

Nic Goodner

Geology Specialist

Nicholas.Goodner@ks.gov

785-291-3103

Jeff Swanson, P. G.

Professional Geologist

Jeff.Swanson@ks.gov

785-296-5931

Brett Tavener

Geology Specialist

Brett.Tavener@ks.gov

785-291-3105

Preventative Unit

Marcus Meerian

Unit Chief

Marcus.Meerian@ks.gov

785-296-6372

Robin Ashton

Senior Administrative Assistant

Robin.Ashton@ks.gov

785-296-8061

Debbie Clure

Administrative Specialist

Debbie.Clure@ks.gov

785-296-1599

Bailey Ham

Environmental Associate

Bailey.Ham@ks.gov

785-296-1685

Cathy Herring

Administrative Specialist: AST and Licensed Contractor

Cathy.Herring@ks.gov

785-296-1661

Kelsey Lamer

Environmental Compliance Regulatory Specialist

Kelsey.Lamer@ks.gov

785-296-7007

Gary Richardson

Environmental Associate

Gary.Richardson@ks.gov

785-296-1677

Eve Williams

Administrative Assistant

Eve.Williams@ks.gov

785-296-0668