CLIA Laboratory Certification

Congress passed the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) in 1988 establishing minimum quality standards for all laboratory testing to ensure the accuracy, reliability and timeliness of patient test results regardless of where the test was performed. A laboratory is defined as any facility which performs laboratory testing on specimens derived from humans for the purpose of providing information for the diagnosis, prevention, treatment of disease, or impairment of, or assessment of health.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) regulates all laboratory testing (except research) performed on humans in the U.S. through the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA). In total CLIA covers approximately 171,000 laboratory entities. The Division of Laboratories and Acute Care Services, within the Survey and Certification Group, under the Center for Medicaid and State Operations has the responsibility for implementing the CLIA Program. In Kansas, the CLIA program is administered by the Laboratory Improvement Program Office of the Kansas Health and Environment Laboratories. There are approximately 2200 certified laboratories in the state of Kansas.

Questions concerning laboratory certification or testing can be found at the "CLIA Lab demographic information" link. Any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at We have eliminated our CLIA Certificate Change Form. ALL CLIA changes will need to be completed on the Federal CLIA Application Form CMS 116 (listed in the Helpful links below) and signed by the laboratory director. Applications and documents may be submitted by emailed to or faxed to 785-559-5207.




Leigh Spear

Laboratory Improvement Specialist


Anne McKean

Laboratory Improvement Specialist


TaZaras Isom

Administrative Specialist



Helpful Links