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Kansas School Immunization Requirements 

Frequently Asked Questions  

 

Kansas Statute 

Q: Why do some school boards not exclude students who are non-compliant with the required school 

immunizations? 

A: Kansas Statute K.S.A. 72-6265 states: School boards may exclude students who have not completed the 

required inoculations.  This decision rests with each school board. 

 

Q: Why do medical exemptions from a health care provider not give a specific reason for the exemption? 

A: Health care providers are not required to provide specific health information for a medical exemption. The 

form must be completed and signed annually by a health care provider. 

 

Q: Is there a discrepancy between the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) and Kansas 

school immunization requirements? 

A: No.  The Kansas school immunization requirements are based on ACIP recommendations. It may appear 

there is a discrepancy because not all ACIP recommendations are required under Kansas Statute. For example, 

under current Kansas school immunization requirements, the influenza vaccine is not required for K-12 

attendance.    

 

Q: It appears there may be some misunderstanding of minimum vaccine intervals and ages which lead to 

repeated vaccines.  How are school healthcare personnel communicating this to providers? 

A: The ACIP schedule documents the minimum intervals and ages for each vaccine. School healthcare 

personnel might share this schedule with the provider and offer to assist in deciphering tough cases.  The 

provider is ultimately the one who is responsible for the immunization services they provide and if they refuse 

to re-vaccinate, the school may document this in the child’s record. 

 

Q: Where can I find a list of diseases that students are required to show proof of immunity against for school 

entry? 

A: The Kansas Register Regulations Vol. 38, No. 29, July 18, 2019, Department of Health and Environment, 

Permanent Administrative Regulations  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.kdheks.gov/immunize/download/KS_Imm_Regs_for_School_and_Childcare.pdf
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DTaP and Tdap 

Q: What if a child younger than 7 years old receives a Tdap or a child older than 7 years old receives a DTaP? 

A: The information below details when doses can be counted as valid and when they should be repeated: 

• Tdap given to a child younger than age 7 years as either dose 1, 2, or 3 is NOT valid.  Repeat with DTaP 

as soon as possible. 

• Tdap given to a child younger than age 7 years as either dose 4 or 5 can be counted as valid for DTaP 

dose 4 or 5. 

• DTaP given to children ≥ 7 years can count as a valid dose and will count as the one-time Tdap dose. 

 

Q: If a child between the ages of 7 to 9 years receives a dose of Tdap as a part of the catch-up schedule, will 

that child need an additional dose at 7th grade (11-12 years old)? 

A: Yes. Persons aged 7 to 9 years who received a dose of Tdap as part of the catch-up schedule will be 

required to receive an additional dose of Tdap at age 11 to 12 years.   

 

Q: If a child between the ages of 7 to 9 years inadvertently received a dose of Tdap, does this dose count as a 

valid dose? 

A: No, the Tdap dose should not be counted as valid.  Persons aged 7 to 9 years who inadvertently received a 

dose of Tdap will be required to receive an additional dose of Tdap at age 11 to 12 years.   

 

Q: If a child receives a dose of Tdap ≥ 10 years, will the child need an additional dose at 7th grade (11-12 years 

old)? 

A: No. If a Tdap dose is administered at age ≥ 10 years, the Tdap dose may count as the 7th grade (11-12 years 

old) Tdap dose. This recommendation has been updated for 2020 per the MMWR/ January 24, 

2020/69(3);77-93 

 

Q: What is the catch-up schedule for an incomplete DTaP or Tdap series? 

A:  The catch-up schedule is as follows: 

• Person ages 7-18 years not fully immunized with DTaP: 1 dose of Tdap as a part of the catch-up 

series; if additional doses are needed, use Td. 

• Adolescents ages 13-18 years who have not received a dose of Tdap: 1 dose of Tdap, then Td 

booster every 10 years. 

• For additional information on incomplete DTaP schedules, see The Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC) Catch-up Guidance for Children 4 Months through 6 Years of Age; 

Diphtheria-,Tetanus-, Pertussis-Containing Vaccines: DTaP/Dt. 

• For additional information on incomplete Tdap schedules, see the CDC Catch-Up Guidance for 

Children 7 through 10 Years of Age; Tetanus-,Diphtheria-, and Pertussis-Containing Vaccines: 

Tdap/Td or the Catch-Up Guidance for Children 11 through 18 Years of Age; Tetanus-

,Diphtheria-,and Pertussis-Containing Vaccines: Tdap/Td. 

 

Hepatitis A 

Q: Effective August 2, 2019 Hepatitis A is required for grades Kindergarten through 12th.  How does the 

Implementation Schedule work? 

A: The implementation Schedule is as follows: 

2019-2020 Required for Kindergarten and 1st grade students 

2020-2021 Required for Kindergarten through 3rd grade students 

2021-2022 Required for Kindergarten through 5th grade students 

2022-2023 Required for Kindergarten through 7th grade students 

https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/69/wr/mm6903a5.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/69/wr/mm6903a5.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/job-aids/dtap.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/job-aids/dtap.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/job-aids/tdap-7-10-508.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/job-aids/tdap-7-10-508.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/job-aids/tdap-7-10-508.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/job-aids/tdap-11-18-508.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/job-aids/tdap-11-18-508.pdf
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2023-2024 Required for Kindergarten through 9th grade students 

2024-2025 Required for Kindergarten through 12th grade students 

The Kansas Immunization Program’s Phased Implementation Schedule can be found at: 

http://www.kdheks.gov/immunize/download/Implementation_of_New_Requirements_Starting_2019-2020.pdf 

 

Q: What schedule should be followed if a student previously received one dose of Hepatitis A? 

A: The student should receive a second dose of Hepatitis A with a minimum interval of 6 months between 

doses.  If a student previously received a dose greater than 6 months ago there is no need to restart the series.  

 

Hepatitis B 

Q: What are the minimum acceptable intervals between doses of Hepatitis B vaccine? 

A: The minimum intervals between doses are as follows: 

• Dose 1 to dose 2: 4 weeks 

• Dose 2 to dose 3: 8 weeks 

• Dose 1 to dose 3: 16 weeks (when 4 doses are administered, substitute “dose 4” for “dose 3”)  

 

Q: What is the minimum interval for the 3rd dose of Hepatitis B vaccine? 

A: The minimum age for the final dose (either the 3rd dose or 4th dose) is 24 weeks.   

 

Meningococcal-Serogroup A,C,W,Y (MenACWY) 

Q: Effective August 2, 2019 MenACWY vaccine is required for grades 7th through 12th.  How does the 

Implementation Schedule work? 

A: For the 2020-2021 school year: 

• Children entering 7th and 8th grade need to receive one dose of MenACWY at school entry.  

• Children entering 11th and 12th grade who have previously received a dose of MenACWY and at least 8 

weeks has elapsed since dose one, need to receive the second dose of MenACWY at school entry. This 

second dose will complete the series. 

• Children entering 11th and 12th grade having received no previous doses will need one dose of 

MenACWY at school entry.  Because dose 1 was administered after the 16th birthday, no additional 

doses are needed. 

 

 

Q: What schedule should be followed for the MenACWY vaccine? 

A: The ACIP routine schedule is dose 1 at 7th grade (11-12 years of age) and dose 2 at 11th grade (16 years of 

age).  The catch-up schedule is as follows: 

• Age 13-15 years: 1 dose now and a booster at age 16-18 years 

• Age 16-18 years: 1 dose 

• The minimum interval between doses is 8 weeks 

 

Polio 

Q: What if a student has a record containing oral polio vaccine (OPV) and IPV (inactivated polio vaccine) or 

OPV only. 

A: A student receiving vaccines outside of the United States might have a vaccine record contain either a 

combination of OPV and IPV or OPV only. If the minimum age for vaccination and minimum intervals are 

similar to that of the ACIP recommendations, doses can be accepted as valid. Countries using an accelerated 

schedule, with the first dose given as early as 6 weeks, the second and third doses administered at least 4 weeks 

after previous doses, and minimum interval between third and fourth doses at least 6 months can also be 

http://www.kdheks.gov/immunize/download/Implementation_of_New_Requirements_Starting_2019-2020.pdf
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considered as valid doses.  Only written, dated records are acceptable as evidence of previous vaccination. 

Documentation of vaccination with OPV, outside the United States, should specify vaccination against all three 

poliovirus types (trivalent OPV or tOPV). If both trivalent OPV (tOPV) and IPV were administered as part of a 

series, the total number of doses needed to complete the series is the same as that recommended for the U.S. 

IPV schedule. A minimum interval of 4 weeks should separate doses in the series, with the final dose 

administered on or after the fourth birthday and at least 6 months after the previous dose. If only tOPV was 

administered, and all doses were given before age 4 years, 1 dose of IPV should be given at age ≥4 years, at 

least 6 months after the last tOPV dose. 

 

Varicella 

Q: How is proof of immunity from varicella disease determined? 

A: The ACIP and Kansas Immunization Program endorse the following criteria for verification of varicella 

immunity: 

 

• Documentation of age appropriate vaccination with a varicella vaccine; dose 1 at 12-15 months and dose 

2 prior to Kindergarten entry.  

• Written documentation of 2 doses of varicella given no earlier than age 12 months with at least 4 weeks 

between doses. 

• A healthcare provider’s diagnosis or verification of varicella or herpes zoster. 

• Laboratory evidence of immunity or laboratory confirmation of the disease 

• Birth in the United States before 1980 

• Parental history of varicella is no longer accepted.  

 

Q: Is documentation of varicella disease by a licensed nurse acceptable for school entry? 

A: Yes.  A provider of immunization services may document history of varicella disease since they make the 

determination of whether to administer varicella vaccine based on the patient’s vaccination or disease history.  

 

Q: What is a valid interval between doses of varicella vaccine? 

A: The ACIP schedule recommends the following:  

 

• Children ages 1 through 12 years should have a 3-month minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2.  

Therefore, students 12 years and younger should receive a second varicella dose 3 month after receiving 

the first dose.  

• Students 13 years and older must have 28 days between doses. 

• If the second dose is given 28 days after the first dose, ACIP does not recommend that the dose be 

repeated and should be counted as a valid dose.   

• The 4-day grace period does not apply to the interval between live vaccines (i.e. between dose 1 and 

dose 2 of varicella).  

 

4 Day Grace Period 

Q: Can vaccines be considered valid if doses are given less than the minimum interval? 

A: Vaccine doses administered ≤4 days before the minimum age or interval are considered valid. Doses of any 

vaccine administered ≥5 days earlier than the minimum age or minimum interval should not be counted as valid 

and should be repeated as age-appropriate. The repeat dose should be spaced after the invalid dose by the 

recommended minimum interval. Intervals between live vaccine doses (MMR, Varicella, Proquad, LAIV 

Influenza Vaccine) must be 28 days between doses, the 4-day grace period is not applicable. 

 



 
 

5 

Revised 1/30/2020 

Other 

Q: Who may sign the Kansas Certificate of Immunization (KCI)? 

A: The Kansas Statutes Related to School Immunizations states, “In each school year, every pupil enrolling or 

enrolled in any school for the first time in this state, and each child enrolled for the first time in a preschool or 

day care program operated by a school, and such other pupils as may be designated by the secretary, prior to 

admission to and attendance at school, shall present to the appropriate school board certification from a 

physician or local health department that the pupil has received such tests and inoculations as are deemed 

necessary by the secretary by such means as are approved by the secretary.” 

http://www.kdheks.gov/immunize/download/Kansas_Statutes_Related_to_School_Immunizations.pdf 

 

Q: May a rubber stamp be used to authorize a medical exemption? 

A: No, the physician must review and authorize by a signature, the student’s medical exemption.  As stated in 

K.S.A.72-6262, a signature is required annually to validate the medical exemption. The reason for the 

exemption is not required.  

 

Q: Are there any vaccines that need to be restarted if the series was not previously completed? 

A: No, there are no vaccines that would require the series to be restarted.  The child should receive the next 

scheduled dose. 

 
 

http://www.kdheks.gov/immunize/download/Kansas_Statutes_Related_to_School_Immunizations.pdf

