American Recovery and Reinvestment Act

(ARRA) Funding

In February 2009, Congress enacted the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). Among the provisions of the act that was intended to provide fiscal relief to states is a temporary increase in the federal matching rate for Medicaid, officially known as the Federal Medicaid Assistance Percentage, or FMAP. The increased FMAP rate varies among states, depending on such factors as the amount of increased unemployment each state has experienced during the economic recession.

The increased federal assistance applied retroactively to the first quarter of Federal Fiscal Year 2009 (which began October 1, 2008) and continues through the first quarter of FFY 2010 (December 31, 2010).

In Kansas, Medicaid spending is administered through four agencies: KHPA ; the Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services; the Department on Aging; and the Juvenile Justice Authority.

The chart below shows how much the state of Kansas has received in State Fiscal Years 2009 and 2010.


Medicaid-Related ARRA Funding


SFY 2009

SFY 2010

August SFY 2011

SFY 2011 to Date






All State Agencies (HCF, SRS, Aging, JJA)