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The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (Recovery Act) created the Medicare and 
Medicaid electronic health record (EHR) incentive program to promote the adoption and 
meaningful use of certified EHR technology.  
 
Eligible professionals must meet specified patient volume requirements to enroll in the 
Medicaid EHR Incentive Program.  This fact sheet provides information about the volume 
requirements and calculating patient volume. 

 
Volume Threshold Requirements and Volume Calculations for Eligible Providers 
 
To qualify, Eligible Providers (EPs) must have 30 percent Medicaid patient volume over a 
continuous 90-day period in the previous 12 months.  Pediatricians can qualify with 20 percent 
Medicaid patient volume, and receive a pro-rated payment if less than 30 percent Medicaid 
patient volume. 
 
Providers applying for enrollment in the EHR incentive program as eligible providers are asked 
to select whether they will calculate their patient volumes as individual providers or group 
practices.   
 
Individual Provider Volume Calculation:  For an individual applying as an eligible provider, 
the calculation is:  

Total Medicaid Patient Encounters (includes Medicaid patient encounters in and out of 
Kansas) /Total Encounter Volume (in and out of Kansas) = % Medicaid Patient  

If an EP practices predominately in a FQHC/RHC, he or she will include needy individuals in 
the total Medicaid encounter volume.  
 
Again, pediatricians must meet the 20 percent Medicaid volume requirements to participate in 
the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program.  For pediatricians with  between 20 and 29.9 percent 
Medicaid patient volume the net allowable costs are capped at two-thirds of full amount (i.e., 
they may receive up to $42,500 over a six-year period). 
 
Group Practice Volume Calculation:  For an individual applying as an EP using the Group 
calculation method, the calculation is: 

Medicaid Patient Encounters1 (includes Medicaid patient encounters in and out of Kansas 
across the entire group) / Total Encounter Volume (in and out of Kansas) = % Medicaid 
Patient Volume 

                                                            
1 Definition of Encounter: Service rendered on any one day to a Medicaid-enrolled individual, regardless 
of payment liability.  [Includes zero-pay claims and encounters with patients in Title 21-funded Medicaid 
expansions (but not separate CHIPs).] 
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A Medicaid encounter includes encounters for anyone enrolled in a Medicaid program, 
including Medicaid expansion encounters (except stand-alone Title 21), and those with zero-pay 
claims.  Zero-pay claims include: 

• Claim denied because the Medicaid beneficiary has maxed out the service limit 
• Claim denied because the service wasn’t covered under the State’s Medicaid program 
• Claim paid at $0 because another payer’s payment exceeded the Medicaid payment 
• Claim denied because claim wasn’t submitted timely 

 
CHIP encounters that can be included in patient volume calculation are for patients in Title 19 
and Title 21 Medicaid expansion programs.  Encounters with patients in stand-alone CHIP 
programs cannot be included in Medicaid patient volume calculation. 
 
When enrolling through the Medical Assistance Provider Incentive Repository2 (MAPIR), EPs 
using the group practice calculation will be asked to enter the Group NPI (for verification 
purposes) that comprises the encounter volume they are entering and all members of the group 
will need to use the same patient volume methodology. 
 
If the group is an FQHC/RHC then it will include needy individuals3 in the total Medicaid 
encounter volume.  Pediatricians must achieve 30 percent Medicaid patient volume. 
 
Volume Threshold Requirements and Volume Calculations for Eligible Hospitals 
 
To qualify, eligible hospitals must have 10 percent Medicaid patient volume (there is no 
threshold for Children’s Hospitals4).  The Medicaid patient volume methodology for hospitals is 
shown below:  
 

Medicaid Discharges  / Total Discharges = % Medicaid Patient Volume  
 

                                                            
2 MAPIR, the Medical Assistance Provider Incentive Repository, is a state-level information system for the 
EHR incentive program that both tracks and acts as a repository for information related to payment, 
application, attestation, oversight functions, and the interface with CMS’ Registration and Attestation 
system (R&A). 
3 Definition of a Needy Individual: Needy individuals are those receiving medical assistance from 
Medicaid (Title XIX) or CHIP (Title XXI), individuals who are furnished uncompensated care by the 
provider, or individuals furnished services at either no cost or reduced cost based on a sliding scale 
determined by the individual's ability to pay. 
4 Eligible Children’s Hospitals must be a separately certified hospital that has a CMS Certification 
Number (CCN) with last 4 digits in the series 3300-3399.  If the hospital does not have a CCN, it is eligible 
if it has received an alternate number from CMS for Incentive Program participation. 
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Medicaid patient volume calculations for hospitals are calculated across a 90-day period and all 
service locations.  
 
Hospitals that begin participating in the Incentive Program before FFY 2013 must use discharge 
data from hospital fiscal year that ends during FFY prior to hospital fiscal year that services as 
the first payment year. 
 
Hospitals that begin participating in FFY 2013, or later,  must use discharge data from the most 
recent continuous 12-month period for which data are available prior to payment year. 
 
Volume Threshold Requirements and Volume Calculations for Eligible Professionals 
 
EPs may attest to patient volume under the individual calculation or the clinic/practice group 
practice calculation in any participation year.  Furthermore, if the EP works in both the clinic 
and outside the clinic (or within and outside a group practice), then the clinic/practice level 
determination includes only those encounters associated with the clinic/practice. 
 
EPs must enroll individually and can either be the recipient of the incentive payment or they 
can designate the payments to the clinic/group.  The clinic/group practice volume methodology 
provides a way to attest that they meet the volume threshold; however, it does not determine 
who receives the payment.  EPs can designate the payment to the clinic/group or keep the 
payment. 
 
EPs and hospitals will enter the numerator and denominator as part of the MAPIR application 
process, maintain back-up documentation and make the back-up documentation available at 
KDHE’s request for review.  
 
Additional guidance and information about Kansas’ EHR incentive program is posted on its 
website at:   http://www.kdheks.gov/hcf/hite/default.htm 

http://www.kdheks.gov/hcf/hite/default.htm

