Electronic Health Records and

Meaningful Use Resources


Eligible Professionals need to have an active KMAP number in order to access and attest for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program
For questions or problems, please contact:

  • KMAP account: customer service at 1-800-933-6593 option 8
  • EHR Provider Support at 1-800-933-6593 option 7

Email: Kansas_EHR_Provider_Support@external.groups.hp.com

More information regarding Medicare payment adjustments and the hardship exception application including dates can be found at the following link: http://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Legislation/EHRIncentivePrograms/PaymentAdj_Hardship.html

HIT/HIE Initiative Webinar Series

CMS published a final rule that specifies the Modified Stage 2 criteria that EPs, EHs, and CAHs must meet in order to continue to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs.

Additional information can be found in the CMS Background – Resources section below

Eligible Hospitals: click here to start the application.

Eligible Professionals: click here to start application. |

Webinar: Review of Meaningful Use Stage 2 Regulation Changes and Other Impacts to the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program for 2014 |

EHR CMS Changes and Program Update: Webinar PowerPoint
Medicaid EHR Incentive Program – Eligible Providers – Review of CMS Changes to the Program. Click here for Webinar information. This webinar will be conducted to review CMS changes to the EHR Incentive Payment Program regarding Meaningful Use.

KDHE and Meaningful Use


KDHE Meaningful Use webpage, includes information and links for all public health registries to meet the public health reporting measure.

Modified Stage 2 and Stage 3

Public Health Measures, links below.


CMS Stage 3 Requirements for Providers Attesting to their State’s Medicaid EHR Incentive Program


CMS EHR Incentive Program website. Most meaningful use information can be found by starting on this page.


Eligible Hospitals


Hospitals which are eligible for EHR incentive payments under both Medicare and Medicaid when registering with CMS, should select "Both Medicare and Medicaid" during the registration process, even if they plan to apply only for a Medicaid EHR incentive payment by adopting, implementing, or upgrading certified EHR technology. Dually-eligible hospitals can then attest through CMS for their Medi-care EHR incentive payment at a later date, if they so desire. It is important as a dually-eligible hospital to select "Both Medicare and Medicaid" from the start of registration in order to maintain this option. Hospitals that register only for the Medicaid program (or only the Medicare program) will not be able to manually change their registration i.e., change to "Both Medicare and Medicaid" or from one program to the other) after a payment is initiated and this may cause significant delays in receiving a Medicare EHR incentive payment.

After reviewing the information above, and completing the CMS Application, Eligible Hospitals may access the Kansas Application at the MAPIR site here.

EHR Application Support

Eligible Professionals


Eligible providers are: acute care hospitals, children's hospitals, physicians, dentists, certified nurse midwives, nurse practitioners and physician assistants practicing in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) or Rural Health Clinic (RHC) that is so led by a physician assistant.

Eligible Professionals: click here to start application.

Meaningful Use Measures for Eligible Professionals is now available.

EHR Application Support

General Information


To facilitate the deployment of health information technology and exchange, Congress has authorized incentive payments for Medicare and Medicaid providers for the "meaningful use" of certified Electronic Health Record (EHR) technology. KDHE's Division of Health Care Finance, as the single state Medicaid agency in Kansas, is responsible for implementing this incentive program in Kansas. KDHE began accepting Medicaid EHR incentive applications in January 2012.

CMS Background - Resources:


Information about the EHR Incentive Program can be found on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) EHR Incentive CMS EHR website. |

Instructions - Obtaining CMS EHR Certification Number - Eligible Professionals and Hospitals Provider Groups |

Notable Differences between the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs |

Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs Decision Tool |

CMS changes to the Stage 1 meaningful use objectives, measures, and exclusions for eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals, and critical access hospitals (CAHs) |

CMS final rule that specifies Stage 2 criteria

KDHE Background - Resources:


On October 27, 2010 KDHE received federal approval of its plan to administer incentive funding for Kansas Medicaid providers to assist them in acquiring and implementing HIT and HIE. Additional information is available in State Medicaid HIT Plan (SMHP).

Fact Sheets


Meaningful Use - Background


CMS has adopted a three-stage approach for providers to achieve meaningful use of electronic health records. Read a summary of the Stage 1 or Stage 2 requirements. |
EHR Eligible Professional Meaningful Use Core and Menu Set Measures |

EHR Eligible Hospital and CAH Meaningful Use Core Objectives and Menu Set Objectives

Modified Stage 2 vs Stage 3 Comparison Table Professionals, Hospitals, and CAHs
Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs Decision Tool

Modified Stage 2 and Stage 3 details:
Eligible Hospital and CAH Stage 2 Objectives |

Eligible Provider Modified Stage 2 Objectives |

Eligible Hospital and CAH Stage 3 Objectives |

Eligible Provider Stage 3 Objectives

Medicaid EHR Incentives - Registration


Effective Jan. 3, 2011, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) began accepting registration from Eligible Providers and Eligible Hospitals interested in participating in the EHR Incentive Program. Click here for the registration user guide and additional information. Eligible Providers must first register with CMS into the National Level Repository (NLR) and then register with the State of Kansas.