How to report novel coronavirus (COVID-19

disease, SARS-CoV-2 virus) testing,

infections, and deaths in Kansas


Updated 11/18/2020: Due to the volume of suspect cases being reported to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE), KDHE has modified mandatory reporting and is now requiring all mandated reporters to report:

Suspicion of disease:

  • Suspected cases of COVID-19 disease (patients experiencing symptoms or asymptomatic patients based on exposure history) no longer need to be reported to KDHE.
    • Do not fax reports of suspected cases of COVID-19 disease.
      • Clinics/hospital systems: if possible, please modify electronic health record systems to cease sending notifiable disease forms to KDHE via email and fax. If your facility uses Epic for its electronic medical records, you may be able to submit reports to KDHE automatically. Contact kdhe.epitraxadmin@ks.gov for more information.
  • If a facility is conducting facility-wide testing to contain an outbreak of COVID-19, the facility does not need to report each person being tested through the Kansas Reportable Disease Portal. 
  • Suspected cases of Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C) associated with COVID-19 should be reported to KDHE within 4 hours of suspicion.

Outbreaks

  • All infectious disease outbreaks are reportable to KDHE within 4 hours.
    • Call the KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 1-877-427-7317

Deaths due to COVID-19:

Diagnostic Testing: Testing of people based on symptoms or exposure history for the purpose of diagnosing COVID-19 disease

  • Reporting suspected cases to KDHE is no longer required.
  • Report antigen or PCR point of care results, positive and negative, directly to KDHE via the Kansas Reportable Disease Portal https://diseasereporting.kdhe.ks.gov/ within 24 hours.
    • If the facility sends a second specimen to a reference or in-hospital laboratory for confirmatory PCR testing, the facility does not need to report the confirmatory result that comes back from the reference laboratory or in-hospital laboratory to KDHE. The laboratory conducting the SARS-CoV-2 test is required to report results to KDHE.  
  • For facilities that do not perform point of care antigen or PCR testing, for antigen or PCR testing done through a reference laboratory or in-hospital laboratory, your facility does not need to report result to KDHE. The laboratory conducting the SARS-CoV-2 test is required to report results to KDHE.

Reference and In-hospital Laboratory Reporting Requirements:

  • Reference laboratories and in-hospital laboratories are required to report laboratory test results electronically via Electronic Laboratory Reporting or via the Kansas Reportable Disease Portal https://diseasereporting.kdhe.ks.gov/ within 24 hours. Laboratories should email KDHE.EpiTraxAdmin@ks.gov to establish electronic reporting. 

Antibody Testing:

  • KDHE is not requiring any antibody test results (positive or negative) to be reported to KDHE at this time.

Screening Testing: Testing of asymptomatic and unexposed people on a regular schedule

  • CMS-regulated Long-Term Care Facilities
    • These facilities are required by CMS to report all point of care test results, positive and negative, to the National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN). KDHE does not require dual report of these results to KDHE. If a facility has not begun reporting results to NHSN, they must continue to report results to KDHE via the Kansas Reportable Disease Portal https://diseasereporting.kdhe.ks.gov/ within 24 hours. Reporting to KDHE should continue until the facility begins reporting to NHSN, at which point reporting to KDHE can stop.  
    • If point of care testing yields a positive result:
      • If the point of care testing was an antigen test (for example, Abbott BinaxNOW or BD Veritor), reflex to PCR by collecting a sample within 48 hours. If the point of care testing was a PCR test (for example, Abbott ID NOW) and the facility needs assistance to determine the need for facility wide testing, report the positive case that resulted from point of care testing to KDHE within 4 hours.
        • Call the KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 1-877-427-7317
      • If the LTCF sends a second specimen to a reference or in-hospital laboratory for confirmatory PCR testing, the facility does not need to report the confirmatory result that comes back from the reference laboratory or in-hospital laboratory to KDHE.  
        • If the facility needs assistance to determine the need for facility wide testing based on the positive result, call the KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 1-877-427-7317
    • If a LTCF is not conducting point of care testing and all screening testing is going through a reference or in-hospital laboratory
      • The facility does not need to report the lab result that comes back from the reference laboratory or in-hospital laboratory to KDHE.
        • If the facility needs assistance to determine the need for facility wide testing based on the positive result, call the KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 1-877-427-7317
  • All facilities excluding CMS-regulated Long Term Care Facilities
    • Report antigen or PCR point of care results, positive and negative, directly to KDHE via the Kansas Reportable Disease Portal https://diseasereporting.kdhe.ks.gov/ within 24 hours.
      • If the point of care testing was an antigen test (for example, Abbott BinaxNOW or BD Veritor), reflex to PCR by collecting a sample within 48 hours. If the point of care testing was a PCR test (for example, Abbott ID NOW) and the facility needs assistance to determine the need for facility wide testing, report the positive case that resulted from point of care testing to KDHE within 4 hours.
        • Call the KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 1-877-427-7317
      • If the LTCF sends a second specimen to a reference or in-hospital laboratory for confirmatory PCR testing, the facility does not need to report the confirmatory result that comes back from the reference laboratory or in-hospital laboratory to KDHE.  
        • If the facility needs assistance to determine the need for facility wide testing based on the positive result, call the KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 1-877-427-7317
    • If a LTCF is not conducting point of care testing and all screening testing is going through a reference or in-hospital laboratory
      • The facility does not need to report the lab result that comes back from the reference laboratory or in-hospital laboratory to KDHE.
        • If the facility needs assistance to determine the need for facility wide testing based on the positive result, call the KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 1-877-427-7317

Do I need to report by telephone?

  • Reporting suspicion of disease or lab results by phone is not required.
  • For urgent issues, contact the epidemiology hotline at 877-427-7317

Who is a mandated reporter in Kansas?

Health care providers and laboratories are required to notify KDHE regarding patients with suspected or confirmed reportable diseases. Each person licensed to practice the healing arts or engaged in a postgraduate training program approved by the state board of healing arts, licensed dentist, licensed professional nurse, licensed practical nurse, administrator of a hospital, licensed adult care home administrator*, licensed physician assistant, licensed social worker, and teacher or school administrator are required to report. The list of reportable diseases is defined by Kansas statute (K.S.A. 65-118, 65-128 and 65-6001 through 65-6007; and by K.A.R. 28-1-2 and 28-1-18).

If you are a mandated reporter who is aware of a suspected or confirmed case of COVID-19, but your facility did not conduct a laboratory test, you are not required to report the patient to KDHE. For example, if you are a school nurse who is aware of a student that tested positive at a local clinic, you do not need to report the student. The laboratory conducting the SARS-CoV-2 test is required to report results to KDHE.