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                PROCEDURE FOR RENEWING A KANSAS  

               WATER WELL CONTRACTOR LICENSE 

 
 

Procedure #: WWP-12 

(10/16) 
 

Narrative:  
 

The purpose of this procedure document is to outline the process for renewing your Water Well Contractor’s License 

issued by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.  Pursuant to Kansas Statutes K.S.A. 82a-1209, after 

becoming a Licensed Water Well Contractor, the contractor may renew their license annually if they wish to continue 

drilling water wells.  The term of all licenses issued under the provisions of this act shall be July 1 of each year 

through the following June 30. 
 

If one has access to the internet, it is recommended that one first go to the Kansas Department of Health and 

Environment Geology & Well Technology Section website at http://www.kdheks.gov/geo to learn more about the 

Geology & Well Technology Section in which the Water Well Program is located.  Then, it is recommended that one 

go to the Water Well Program website at http://kdheks.gov/waterwell/index.html to become familiar with the 

information available concerning the KDHE Water Well Program. 
 

Procedure: 
 

1. KDHE, Bureau of Water, GWTS will mail hard copies of the Water Well Contractor Renewal Letter, 

Renewal Application for Kansas Water Well Contractor License (WWC-1R) and Application for Kansas 

Water Well Contractor Drilling Rig Licenses (WWC-3) approximately May 15 or whichever date the first 

Monday falls on after May 15. 
 

2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 28-30-3(c), each water well contractor or the contractor’s designated person shall earn at 

least eight units of continuing education approved by the Kansas Ground Water Association who administers 

this program for the KDHE Secretary.  You will find information at their website listed below.  Please register 

and pay for your CEU’s at the following address:    
 

 Continuing Education Committee   Phone:     620.548.2669 
 Attn: Dale Hayse    E-mail:    Haysemgt@Havilandtelco.com 
 c/o KGWA, P.O. Box 107    Website:  http://kgwa.org/ 
 Mullinville, KS 67109-0107  
 

3. Prior to July 1, please send the items mentioned above in #1 (sent to you by KDHE in May) along with 

$100.00 fee for contractor license and $25.00 fee for each rig you register.  Please fill out the renewal 

application and rig application completely, show the number and what type of wells you constructed, 

reconstructed and plugged, list your drillers and make sure you sign your app and check.  Incomplete forms 

and/or no signatures will delay processing your license(s).  Mail applications and fees to: 
 

 Kansas Department of Health & Environment Phone:     785-296-5524 
 Attn:  Deb Biester    E-mail:    Debra.Biester@ks.gov 
 1000 SW Jackson Street, Suite 420  Website:  http://kdheks.gov/geo 
 Topeka, KS 66612-1367 
 

4. Pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-1206(d), if you are registering as a “Corporation”, you must register with the 

 Secretary of State and be in “Good Standing” with their office before KDHE can issue a license.    

 http://www.kssos.org/business/business.html 
 

Once the above items have been completed and approved, KDHE will issue the contractor and drilling rig licenses.  

The license number is to be displayed on each drilling rig.  If these requirements are not met by July 1, the license 

shall be revoked under K.S.A. 82a-1209.  
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