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Who administers the Kansas water &
wastewater certification program?

© The State of Kansas through the Department of Health
and Environment (KDHE) administers a mandatory
water and wastewater certification program

® The program was begun in 1975 as a result of laws
passed by the Kansas Legislature.

® The law requires all water supply systems and
wastewater treatment facilities to be under the
supervision of a KDHE certified operator

How are water supply systems
classified in Kansas?

Class Description Population
Served

Small System 1. Distribution System Only
. Chlorination of Groundwater Only
. Chlorination of Groundwater Only

. Treatment of Groundwater *

1

Z
| 1

2

] 1. Chlorination of Groundwater Only
2. Treatment of Groundwater *
3. Treatment of Surface Water
1. Chlorination of Groundwater Only
2. Treatment of Groundwater or Surface Water
1. Chlorination of Groundwater Only
2. Treatment of Groundwater or Surface Water
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All
<501
501 - 1,500
<501
1,501 - 5,000
501 - 2,500
<2,501

5,001 - 20,000
2,501 - 10,000
>20,000
>10,000

What is treatment of groundwater?

* Includes iron and manganese removal, softening,
membrane filtration, coagulation, sedimentation,
filtration, re-carbonation and chemical addition
(other than chlorine).
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How are wastewater treatment
facilities classified in Kansas?

Class Description Population
Served

Small System 1. Nonoverflowing Wastewater Ponds All
! 1. Any Secondary Facility ** <1,001
2. Overflowing Wastewater Ponds All
)i 1. Any Secondary Facility ** 1,001-5,000
i 1. Any Secondary Facility ** 5,001-25,000
2. Advanced or Specialized Facility *** <=5,000
v 1. Any Secondary Facility** >25,000
2. Advanced or Specialized Facility *** >5,000
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What is Treatment of Wastewater?

** Biological treatment facility including: waste
stabilization ponds, trickling filters, rotating
biological contactors and activated sludge

##% Includes chemical, biological or physical

treatment to provide nutrient removal beyond

secondary treatment; or effluent clarification
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How do | become a Kansas certified water
or wastewater operator?

Each operator must meet the following requirements:

® Currently own or be employed by a water supply system or
wastewater treatment facility.

Have a high school diploma or GED.

Have acquired the minimum number of years of experience

for the class of examination desired.

Have acquired the minimum number of points for the class of

examination desired. Points are awarded based on experience,

education, and training,

Points and Experience Required

CLASS POINTS | YEARS OF EXPERIENCE

Small System 12.5 6 months
Class | 13.0 1-year
Class Il 14.0 1-year
Class I 16.0 2 -years
Class IV 18.0 2 - years
e Kaiisas

N :
Training/Education Credit Experience
Experience Hours |Points Earned
1-day training ** 5 0.0
2-day training ** 10 .25
KDHE Annual School
« 2-days 10 .25
oSE 15 .50
High School diploma/GED NA 12
College - each full year NA 1.00
30 credit hours
Operating experience - each NA 1.00
full year - 40 hours a week
Cal State correspondence NA 1.00
course - per volume e
N e : e Kansas

Training/Education Credit Experience
Experience Hours Points Earned
Approved semester-long 54
Courses
Approved 2-year environmental NA 6.00
technology degree

** Training must be pre-approved by KDHE

Renewal hours do not carry forward to subsequent renewal periods

—
Is training required prior to taking a
certification exam?

® Training is a vital part of the Kansas certification program.
Training is not only helpful in obtaining initial certification; it
is mandatory for renewal of a certificate. Failure to attain the
required continuing education will result in non-renewal of an
operator’s certificate.

® While training is not required prior to taking the operator
certification exam, KDHE believes that training is extremely
helpful in obtaining initial certification.




Where can | find study material to
study for certification exams?

® KDHE recommends the water and wastewater training
manuals published by the University of California —
Sacramento. The Web site for these manuals is

WWW.OW ),L'NLI\L‘(IU

* KDHE also has Kansas Small System Water and
Wastewater manuals. To request a copy please contact
our office.
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RECOMMENDED STUDY MATERIAL -
MANUALS FROM
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY,
SACRAMENTO
www.owp.csus.edu

RECOMMENDED FOR SMALL SYSTEM
WATER

RECOMMENDED FOR SMALL SYSTEM
& CLASS | WATER

Fifth Edition

Small Water System

Operation and Maintenance
AField Study Training Program

RECOMMENDED FOR SMALL SYSTEM,
CLASS |, I, Il & IV WATER

Fifth Edition

Water Distribution sm@:ﬁ il
Operation and Maintenance.

A Field Study Training Program

RECOMMENDED FOR CLASS II, Il & IV
WATER

Vahima |, Binth Esinian

Water Trnnlmenf\_‘-_ |
Plant Operation®,

A Fiedd Stucy Trainieg Progism




RECOMMENDED FOR CLASS II, Il & IV
WATER
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RECOMMENDED FOR SMALL SYSTEM
WASTEWATER

RECOMMENDED FOR SMALL SYSTEM
& CLASS | WASTEWATER

N Volume II, Second Edition
10, '

Small Wastewater System
| ﬂﬂBTﬂ_liDlI and Maintenance

raining Prograrm

3
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RECOMMENDED FOR SMALL SYSTEM,
CLASS [, I, Il & IV WASTEWATER

OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE OF

==
Kansas

RECOMMENDED FOR SMALL SYSTEM,
CLASS |, II, Il & IV WASTEWATER

7. Volume i, Sevonth Edition

Operation and Maintenance of
Wastewater Collection Systems
AField Study Training Program

3
Kansas

RECOMMENDED FOR CLASS |, II, lll &
IV WASTEWATER

@ Volume I, Seventh Edition

Operation of WaSIevq;_ile' i)
Treatment Planis®: 4174

A Field Study Training Progra




RECOMMENDED FOR CLASS II, Il & IV
WASTEWATER

Velume I, Sevonth Edition

!

Treatment Plants™,
A Field Study Training Program
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How can | obtain an Application for
Water\Wastewater Certification Exam?

® You can obtain an application from the KDHE Operator
Certification Web site
WW \\,L(l]n‘k\.:}()\ /water/www.html or by contacting

our office.

e Ifit is the first time you have applied to take the exam
you must submit a copy of your high school diploma or
GED with the application.

Exam Applications

® Please take the time to carefully fill out each part of the
application in detail

® Provide a clear and detailed work history

® The application must be signed by you and your
immediate super visor

® Keep a copy of the application for your file
® Plan ahead and mail your application early

® $25 fee must accompany the application

Our vision is "healthy
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Why does the exam application have to
be mailed to KDHE two weeks before
the exam date?

® We have to screen all applications to ensure the
applicants meet the minimum qualifications for the
examination. With as many as 200 exams given at one
test site, evaluating, approving and preparing exam
packets for a large number of applicants is time and labor

intensive.

Allow time for approval letters to be mailed back

Additionally, all exams must be paid for before exam
results will be mailed.

Our vision is "healthy Kai

Why would my exam application be
returned in the mail unprocessed?

® The application was incomplete

® The application did not have the required signatures

® The application was not received in our office by the
application deadline

® To assure that your application is completed in detail and
mailed on time it is recommended that you do it yourself

Training is a vital part of the Kansas certification
program. Training is not only helpful in obtaining initial
certification; it is mandatory for renewal of a certificate.
Failure to attain the required continuing education will

result in non-renewal of an operator’s certificate.

Our visio




How many hours of continuing Education
is required after certification
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What is approved training?

® Small System operators are required to obtain a minimum of
5 hours of approved training every 2 years.

® Class I, I, Ill and IV are required to obtain a minimum of 10
hours of approved training every 2 years.

® The renewal cycle is two years from the date of certification.

¢ Training credit shall be valid only for the renewal period in
which it was earned and will not carry over into any

subsequent renewal period.

. =
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® Only training approved by KDHE will be credited
towards meeting the renewal requirements. The training
must be related to the subject matter of the certificate to
which the credit is being applied.

® If you are not sure if training you are wanting to attend
has been approved for renewal credit please contact the
training provider and ask if it has been approved by
KDHE for water and wastewater renewal credit prior to

attending,

Our visio
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Where can | find a list of approved
training?

¢ Training listed on KDHE training calendar has been

approved by KDHE. For other training not listed on the
training calendar, verify with the training provider that
the training has been approved by KDHE.

® Please remember that KDHE has no control over
scheduling changes made by the training providers. For
the most up-to-date training schedule check the on-line
training calendar and always contact the training

provider to get registered.

What will happen if | do not obtain my
continuing education or fail to renew
my certificate by the expiration date?

® Considered no longer certified

® Removed from the certified operator database

® You will have to pay a reinstatement fee along with the
renewal fee after you obtain the required continuing
education

Can an expired certificate be
reinstated?

® Yes an expired certificate can be reinstated for up to
two years from the expiration date by obtaining the
required continuing education hours, paying the
renewal fee and paying a reinstatement fee.
Reinstatement fee up to one year is $35.00
Reinstatement fee up to two years is $45.00

After two years you will have to retake and pass the operator

certification exam

Can an operator check their own
renewal and training information?

® KDHE has established real-time Internet access to
operator data. To access the operator database, go to

www.kdheks.oov/water/www.html and click on

Certified Operator Database. Once you have gained
access to the operator database, you will be able to
review operator renewal dates and continuing education
hours. Operators can also e-mail KDHE changes of

address, employment, etc. directly from the site.

ainable environments.” Ty
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What training records should | keep?

* Although KDHE maintains individual operator training
records from cooperating training providers, it is the
operator’s responsibility for maintaining their own
training records. Documentation of attendance or a
certificate of completion for each training event should
be provided by the training provider and maintained by
the operator.

® The operator’s documentation will be used to resolve
errors in KDHE’s records or those of the training
provider and/or course sponsor.

G
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What is an operator in training ?(OIT)

® OIT is a temporary certification that can be issued to the
operator of a water supply system and/or wastewater
treatment facility that loses its only certified operator in
direct responsible charge for a period of up to one year.

The OIT allows the public water supply system and/or
wastewater treatment facility to hire a person who meets the
minimum educational requirements and allows the OIT the
time to gain the necessary experience requirements.

Allows the OIT time to attend training and or time to study
so that the OIT can take and pass the appropriate level of

certification examination.

Our vis
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What are the OIT requirements?

® The option to issue the OIT certificate is based on several factors.

® The water supply system and/or wastewater treatment facility
OIT meets the minimum education requirements.

¢ The owner of the water supply system and/or wastewater
treatment facility is required to submit an application, identifying
the person responsible for the operation and management of a
system.

The OIT certificate will be issued to the operator for a period of
up to one year. During that period, the OIT should attend
training and prepare for the exam or the owner risks losing the
right to have an OIT certificate. KDHE tracks OIT expiration
dates and notifies the owner and OIT in advance of expiration that
they must sit for the next available exam.

Our vision is "healthy Kansans living in
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For what reason will KDHE not issue an
oIT?

¢ The water supply system and/or wastewater treatment
facility has a history of not maintaining the employment of a

certified operator.

KDHE has issued the owner of a water supply system and/or
wastewater treatment facility an OIT certificate and the OIT
did not follow through and become certified within the time
frame allowed.

The system already has a certified operator certified at or
above the level required to operate the water supply system

and/or wastewater treatment facility.

t
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How is Reciprocity Handeled?

* If you are currently a Kansas certified water supply system and/or
wastewater treatment facility operator, and are looking at relocating to
another state, it is critical that you check with that state’s Operator
Certification Program to see how their state’s certification program
handles reciprocity.

‘We have had several incidences over the last couple of years where a
Kansas operator has accepted a job with another state or has just
relocated to another state to find out that that state’s certification
program cither would not reciprocate at all or was going to drop the
operator back to a lower level of certification.

The worse case scenario is that if the state drops you back to a lower
level or will not reciprocate at all with Kansas, you would be required to
meet the education and experience requirement for that state as well as
take and pass that state’s certification examination.

The state bel I of us - "Kansas Don't Spoil It"
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Why didn’t the training session | attended
cover all of the examination questions?

® You should never expect the training sessions to cover all
of the information needed to pass a certification
examination. In order to pass an examination, an
operator needs to utilize a combination of training,
experience, and outside study. The training manuals
published by the University of California - Sacramento
are an excellent source of outside study materials.

Our vision is "healthy Kansans living in safe and sustainable environments." T
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What is an operator in responsible
charge?

¢ The operator in responsible charge means the person or
persons designated by the owner to be the certified operator
or operators who make decisions regarding the daily
opcrational activities of a water supply system or wastewater
treatment facility that will directly impact the quality or
quantity of drinking water for human consumption or the
quality of wastewater effluent.
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How many certified operators are
required to operate a Kansas water
supply or wastewater treatment facility?

* Kansas law requires that all public water supply systems or
wastewater treatment facilities be under the supervision of
an operator in responsible charge that is certified at or above
the level required to operate that facility and be able to be
contacted 24/7.

With that being said the owner/employer can exceed the
KDHE requirements and require all operators working in the
day to day operations of a water supply system or wastewater
treatment facility to be certified at or above what KDHE
requires.

Helpful Tip

® There is no substitute for studying,
preparing and planning ahead for the

operator certification exams.

Our vision is "he

The st

environments =
e Kansas

QUESTIONS?

For more information regarding any of the
frequently asked questions or any questions
regarding Operator Certification contact
Vickie Wessel at 785-296-2976 or

Teresa Schuyler at 785-296-5511
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