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Compliance Assistance Visits Needed!

by Jim Rudeen, Bureau of Waste Management

The new Kansas hazardous waste regulations are in effect.  Hazardous waste generators 
need to be aware of the new regulations to avoid potential future violations.  For Large 
Quantity Generators, it is pretty much business as usual.  The changes have not really 
affected their operations.  
	 All generators are now required to update their Notification form within 60 days 
of any change of information on the form. Several major changes will affect Small 
Quantity (SQG) and Kansas Small Quantity (KSQG) Generators.  One such change is the 
requirement that hazardous waste must be shipped every 180 days (or 270 days if shipping 
over 200 miles).  Under the old regulations as long as a generator did not exceed 2,200 
pounds of hazardous waste on site, they did not have a timeframe to ship their waste.
	 Another major change is that SQGs may now store up to 13,200 pounds of hazardous 
waste on site, but as discussed above, it must be shipped every 180 (or 270) days.  
	 For additional information on the new regulations, contact Jim Rudeen at (785) 296-

1603 or jrudeen@kdheks.gov, or visit www.kdheks.gov/waste/p_regsandstatutes.html.

by Jim Rudeen, Bureau of Waste Management

If your business has not inquired 
about a Compliance Assistance 
Visit (CAV), it’s time to check into 
it.  CAVs are a great way to ensure 
your facility stays in compliance with 
Kansas hazardous waste regulations.  
Areas of concern are addressed 
without the usual violations 
associated with them and except in 
the case of very serious violations 
(such as dumping hazardous waste 
out the back door) enforcement 
action will not be taken on your 
facility.   Not all facilities will qualify 
for a CAV.   For more information, 
call or e-mail Jim Rudeen at (785) 
296-1603 or jrudeen@kdheks.gov.
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Take advantage of this voluntary 
technical assistance program 

and put your hazardous waste 
compliance concerns to rest!

A recent Compliance Assistance Visit 
(CAV) at a Kansas business revealed 
several issues that were corrected 
without the hassle of a violation or a 
possible fine from KDHE.   
	 In one issue, the facility had been 
operating under two separate EPA ID 
numbers due to a plant expansion and 
acquisition several years ago.   Two 
ID numbers for the same facility 
operating under the same ownership and 
processes is against EPA regulations.  
The two ID numbers were consolidated 
into one which streamlined operations 
for the facility and also negated a 
potential future violation for the facility.  
	 Another issue, again corrected 
without violations, involved making 
adequate waste determinations and 
container management.   If you feel 
your facility qualifies for a CAV, it is 
definitely worth your time to find out 
more about the process.  Contact Jim 
Rudeen at (785) 296-1603 or e-mail at 
jrudeen@kdheks.gov.
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Director’s Comments
by Bill Bider, Director, Bureau of Waste Management

If you are a generator or a TSD facility, you may have been expecting an increase in your hazardous waste 
monitoring fee.  KDHE had proposed a change to the fees in late summer 2011 in order to sustain the state 
program, but the fee increases have been delayed until July 1, 2012.  Even with the elimination of four staff 
positions, a fee increase was necessary to support all program expenses.  KDHE is moving forward with the 
proposed regulation that will adjust fees upward for generators and TSDs and downward for transporters in 
accordance with actual program costs to oversee these varying types of operations.  However, the new fees will 
not be effective until the next round of payments due in late 2012 or early 2013.   
	 About a dozen years ago, the Legislature determined that the KDHE Hazardous Waste Program should be 
entirely funded by a federal RCRA grant and state fees.  No state general funds are allocated to support this 
program.  The federal grant has remained constant for over 15 years, so any increases in program costs due 
to inflation, rent, or employee medical insurance have had to be covered by higher fees or through program 
shrinkage.  With the staff reductions made over the past nine months, further shrinkage is not possible without 
impacting KDHE’s ability to perform all needed work.  

Top Ten Kansas Quantities 
of Waste Generated in 
2009, by NAICS Code

Section 3002(a)(6) of the Resource Conservation and 
Recovery Act (RCRA) requires EPA to develop a 
program for hazardous waste generators to report the 
nature, quantities, and disposition of hazardous waste 
generated at least once every two years. In addition, 
section 3004(a)(2) of RCRA requires treatment, 
storage and disposal facilities (TSDFs) to submit a 
report on the wastes that they receive from off-site. 
The biennial Hazardous Waste Report (also known 
as the “Biennial Report”) was implemented in 1985 
to comply with these requirements. The Biennial 
Report form (8700-13A/B) must be submitted to the 
authorized state agency or the EPA Regional Office 
by March 1st of every even-numbered year. The 
form includes information such as the facility’s EPA 
ID number, the name and address of the facility, the 
quantity of hazardous waste sent to each TSDF in the 
U.S. and the manner in which the waste was treated 
during the previous year. KDHE will be mailing out 
this years Biennial Report to over 200 Large Quantity 
Generators/TSDFs in Kansas beginning January 
1.  For additional information on the process please 
contact Jim Rudeen at (785) 296-1603, or Sarah 
Fulton at (785) 296-0005.

2012 Biennial Report
Due March 1, 2012
by Jim Rudeen, Bureau of Waste Management

# NAICS Description Tons

1 3251 Basic Chemical Manufacturing 116,027

2 5622 Waste Treatment & Disposal 81,668

3 3241 Petroleum & Coal Products
Manufacturing 8,048

4 3364 Aerospace Product and Parts 
Manufacturing 5,189

5 3255 Paint, Coating, and Adhesive 
Manufacturing 2,655

6 4931 Warehousing and Storage 2,154
7 3315 Foundries 780

8 3328 Coating, Engraving, Heat 
Treating, and Allied Activities 686

9 3231 Printing and Related Support 
Activities 679

10 3361 Motor Vehicle Manufacturing 560
        Total 218,445
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KDHE will finalize the adoption of new 
hazardous waste monitoring fee regulations 
in the winter of 2012. The effective date 
of the new fees is July 1.  New fees have 
been established for all hazardous waste 
generators, transporters, and treatment/
storage/disposal facilities (TSDFs).  Owners 
or operators of TSDFs and transporters pay 
monitoring fees on or before January 1 of 
each year; generators pay their fees prior to 
March 1 of each year.  This fee increase is 
being combined with a 12 percent reduction 
in staff to yield a sustainable state hazardous 
waste regulatory program.  The old and new 
fees for each type of facility are shown in 
the table to the right.

Facility Type Old Fee New Fee
Treatment, Storage, and Disposal Facility
   On-site storage facility $  7,500 $10,000
   Off-site storage facility    $  8,000 $10,000
   On-site non-thermal treatment facility $  7,500 $10,000
   Off-site non-thermal treatment facility $  8,000 $12,000
   On-site thermal treatment facility $  8,000 $12,000
   Off-site thermal treatment facility $12,000 $18,000
   On-site underground injection well $10,000 $14,000
   Off-site underground injection well $15,000 $18,000
   Facilities subject to post-closure care $10,000 $14,000
Generators
   LQG: 5 tons or less $     250 $     300
   LQG: 5 to 50 tons $     750 $     900
   LQG: 50 to 500 tons $  2,500 $  2,800
   LQG: more than 500 tons $  7,500 $  8,000
   SQG & KSQG $     100 $     150
Transporters $     300 $     200

New Hazardous Waste 
Monitoring Fees

Case Studies - Training Violations
by Jim Rudeen, Bureau of Waste Management

Large Quantity Generators (LQGs) are required to implement and maintain a training program in 
accordance with the personnel training requirements of 40 CFR § 265.16 (K.A.R. 28-31-262/40 
CFR § 262.34(a)(4)).  Maintaining compliance with these requirements is important in achieving 
compliance with all hazardous waste regulations.
	 A Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) inspector recently conducted a 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) compliance inspection at a facility that was 
a LQG.  During the inspection, the inspector determined that the facility lacked any type of 
personnel training program.  In addition to the training violation, the inspector documented 12 
other hazardous waste violations, including unlawful disposal of hazardous waste and failure to separate hazardous waste 
containers from other containers that contained incompatible waste and/or material.  These two violations have 
the potential to adversely impact human health and/or the environment.  Unlawful disposal 
of hazardous waste may contaminate the environment, such as the soil, groundwater, or 
surface water.  Failure to separate incompatible wastes and/or materials may result in a 
chemical reaction that might cause an explosion or release a toxic gas, either of which may 
harm human health and/or the environment. 
	 This facility was assessed an administrative penalty for the hazardous waste violations.  
This case demonstrates the importance of having and maintaining a good hazardous waste 
personnel training program.  Good personnel training could have helped this facility 
maintain compliance with the regulations and avoid penalties.  Maintaining compliance 
may increase a company’s standing in the community as a responsible steward of the environment. 
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Contacts

Hazardous waste generator issues
Rebecca Wenner
Jim Rudeen

Special waste disposal
Tony Guy

Hazardous waste transporter registration
Sarah Fulton

Hazardous waste permitting
Mostafa Kamal

Groundwater monitoring
Brad Roberts

Bureau Director
Bill Bider

District Offices
North Central District - Salina 
Northeast District - Lawrence
Northwest District - Hays
South Central District - Wichita
Southeast District - Chanute
Southwest District - Dodge City
Satellite Office - Ulysses

785-827-9639
785-842-4600
785-625-5663
316-337-6020
620-431-2390
620-225-0596
620-356-1075

785-296-1604
785-296-1603

rwenner@kdheks.gov
jrudeen@kdheks.gov

785-296-0681 tguy@kdheks.gov

785-296-0005 sfulton@kdheks.gov

785-296-1609 mkamal@kdheks.gov

785-296-5639 broberts@kdheks.gov

785-296-1612 wbider@kdheks.gov

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Bureau of Waste Management

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 320    Topeka, KS  66612-1366

Ph 785-296-1600  or 1-800-282-9790    Fax 785-296-8909 
www.kdheks.gov/waste         www.kansasdontspoilit.com


