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While the new hazardous waste regulations will look very different than they previously did, the 
actual requirements that generators must comply with are not that different.  The following list is 
not all inclusive, but is a summary of the changes that may affect you:

Numbering system – the new regulations have a completely new numbering system
Adopting through 2006 CFRs or Federal Regulations (Yellow copies) – This will not 

include the new definition of solid waste
Generator classification changes, including new definitions, new class, and new names
Less regulation for generators of between 55 lbs and 220 lbs per month of hazardous waste

•	 Monthly rather than weekly inspections (also includes generators of 0 to 55 lbs)
•	 Ability to take hazardous waste to a household hazardous waste facility permitted to 

manage business waste (also includes generators of 0 to 55 lbs)
•	 Additional requirement to train employees within 6 months of hire and provide 

annual training after that and to document all training (more stringent than previous 
requirements)

•	 Exceeding 2,200 pounds of hazardous waste on-site will cause them to become a 
Small Quantity Generator

•	 New option for posting preparedness and prevention information when the facility 
has no land line and is dependent on cell phones

(Continued on Page 2)

Where is KDHE different than EPA and why?

(Continued on Page 3)

We often get the questions, why are KDHE’s regulations different 
than EPA’s and how are they different?  KDHE is required by statute (KSA 
65-3451) to regulate anyone generating 55 pounds or more per month of 
hazardous waste.  EPA regulates only those generators who generate 220 
pounds or more per month.  Therefore, KDHE will continue to regulate 
anyone who generates 55 pound or more of hazardous waste per month.  In fact, that 
is one of the major differences between KDHE and EPA.  The new regulations create 
a special class of generators (Kansas Small Quantity Generators or KSQGs) for those 
generating 55 pounds to 220 pounds of hazardous waste per month.  By separating 
them (they were formerly part of the larger Kansas Generator class of 55 pounds to 
2,200 pounds per month) into their own class, we are able to regulate them to a lesser 
degree than those generating between 220 and 2,200 pounds per month (Small Quan-
tity Generators or SQGs).  Following are some other major differences faced by many 
of our generator classes:

Differences affecting all generator classes:
•	 Satellite accumulation container definition is different than EPA.  KDHE 

allows only one container of waste up to 55 gallons (not pounds) at each 
point of generation.  EPA allows multiple containers.  However, KDHE also 
views each waste stream as a separate point of generation, thus allowing you 
to have multiple satellite accumulation containers stored in close proximity 
as long as each contains a different waste stream.  This requirement did not 
change significantly from our old regulations.
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I have been the director of the Bureau of Waste Management for over 17 years and seen many changes to 
solid and hazardous waste regulations.  This issue of Hazardous waste Connection focuses on a comprehensive 
update to the hazardous waste regulations.  Never has an update involved so much work to fully satisfy the 
U.S. EPA and never has the outcome been so valuable to the regulated community.  Without adding many new 
requirements, the new regulations are easier to follow than the old regulations because the numbering system and 
facility classification nomenclature are more consistent with the federal regulations.  Some details are presented in 
this newsletter but much more information will be provided in the upcoming generator workshops.

Compliance with applicable hazardous waste regulations requires regular training and ongoing vigilance. 
Compliance does not just happen.  Management must make it a priority and employees need reminders and 
encouragement.  Compliance with the many details of the applicable rules (like labeling, keeping lids closed, 
and recordkeeping) do not necessarily cost much, but major failures in these areas can be costly with respect to 
penalties and potential legal expenses.  I encourage you all to become very familiar with the new regulations by 
thoroughly studying the articles in this newsletter and by attending one of the generator workshops.  You can 
minimize your future liabilities by taking advantage of these training opportunities.

Director’s Comments
by Bill Bider, Director, Bureau of Waste Management

Hazardous Waste Regulations 
Change Summary

Additional requirements for generators of between 
220 lbs and 2,200 lbs per month:

•	 Requirement to train employees within 6 
months of hire and provide annual training after 
that and to document all training

•	 Storage time limit of 180 days (or 270 when 
shipping waste more than 200 miles) imposed

•	 Allowed to accumulate up to 13,200 lbs (6,000 
kg) on-site

•	 Exceeding amount of waste (13,200 lbs) or 
time limit, will cause them to become an 
unpermitted Treatment, Storage, and Disposal 
Facility (TSDF)

•	 New option for posting preparedness and 
prevention information when the facility has no 
land line and is dependent on cell phones

60-day time limit to update Notification of Regulated 
Waste Activity form when information changes

Commercial Chemical Product is defined to help 
distinguish between waste and product

The majority of requirements for generators are NOT 
changing, including:

•	 Basic Container Management Requirements 
(labeling, dating, condition, closure, etc.)

•	 Acute Hazardous Waste (P-List) requirements
•	 Used Oil Requirements
•	 Universal Waste Requirements
•	 Recordkeeping
•	 Manifests
•	 Annual Monitoring Fees

(Continued from Page 1)

Free Hazardous Waste 
Generator Workshops

City Date Sessions
Topeka 11/02/10 9 - 11 am

1 - 4 pm; 6 - 9 pm
Webinar 11/02/10 9 - 11 am
KC Area 11/04/10 9 - 11 am

1 - 4 pm;  6 - 9 pm
Salina 11/10/10 1 - 4 pm
Dodge City 11/16/10 1 - 4 pm
Colby 11/17/10 1 - 4 pm
Hays 11/18/10 1 - 4 pm
Pittsburg 11/29/10 1 - 4 pm
Chanute 11/30/10 1 - 4 pm
Wichita 12/14/10 10 - 12 noon

1 - 4 pm; 6 - 9 pm
KC Area 12/15/10 9 - 11 am

1 - 4 pm

Register at:
http://www.kdheks.gov/waste/p_workshops.html
For more information - contact Rebecca Wenner at 
785-296-1604 or rwenner@kdheks.gov

Morning sessions are advanced workshops providing 
a brief update to the changes and where Kansas differs 
from the federal regulations.  Afternoon/evening sessions 
are introductory courses in hazardous waste (RCRA) and 
will incorporate all new Kansas regulations.
Registration is required.

Learn about the new Kansas 
Hazardous Waste Regulations`



3

Hazardous Waste Connection

New Generator Classification System

(continued from Page 1)

KDHE/EPA Differences

•	 Satellite accumulation containers must be labeled with the words “Hazardous Waste” in Kansas.  EPA allows these 
containers to be labeled with either the words “Hazardous Waste” or the contents of the containers. KDHE requires the 
words “Hazardous Waste”.

•	 If analytical testing is done as part of a hazardous waste determination, then the testing must be done by a KDHE certi-
fied laboratory.

Differences affecting only CESQGs and KSQGs
•	 Inspections of containers of hazardous waste are required.  A change to the regulation is that the frequency of those 

inspections has been reduced from weekly to monthly.
Differences affecting only KSQGs
•	 They are regulated as a generator in Kansas, whereas they are a conditionally exempt small quantity generator at the 

federal level.  
•	 Must meet the same preparedness and prevention requirements as the SQGs.
•	 Must obtain an EPA identification number using the Notification of Regulated Waste Activity form.
•	 Must send hazardous waste off-site under a hazardous waste manifest (existing requirement) or alternatively have the 

option of taking small amounts of hazardous waste to a household hazardous waste facility that is permitted to handle 
business waste (new option under the revised regulations).

Differences affecting KSQGs and SQGs only
•	 Those KSQGs and SQGs that do not have a land-line for telephone and are completely dependent on cell phones have 

a new option for posting emergency preparedness information.
•	 Training must be documented and must be provided to new employees within 6 months of their hire date (or transfer 

to a new position) and it must be provided annually after that.  EPA requires training, but does not specify initial or an-
nual and does not require that the training be documented.

Differences affecting KSQGs, SQGs, and LQGs
•	 They must update information on their Notification of Regulated Waste Activity form and submit it to KDHE within 

60 days of the information changing.  This is an existing requirement, but the 60-day time limit is new.
•	 They must pay an annual monitoring fee (existing requirement).

One of the most noticeable changes to the regulations will be the change in how we define generators and what each class 
of generators is called.  We currently have three generator classes but under the new regulations, we will have four classes.  The 
names of our generator classes were changed to more closely match the federal terms.  The following table summarizes the 
changes in terminology.

Generators
Old (Current) Kansas

Generator Classification
New (Proposed) Kansas
Generator Classification Federal (EPA)

Generators of less than 25 kg 
(55 lbs) of hazardous waste/
month

Kansas small quantity
generator

Conditionally exempt small quan-
tity generator (CESQG) Conditionally-exempt 

small quantity generator 
(CESQG)Generators of 25 kg (55 lbs) 

or more but no more than 100 
kg/month

Kansas generator

Kansas small quantity generator 
(KSQG)

Generators of greater than 
100 kg (220 lbs) but less than 
1,000 kg (2,200 lbs) of haz-
ardous waste/month

Small quantity generator (SQG) Small quantity generator 
(SQG)

Generators of 1,000 kg (2,200 
lbs) or more of hazardous 
waste/month

EPA generator Large quantity generator (LQG) Large quantity generator 
(LQG)
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Contacts

Hazardous waste generator issues
Rebecca Wenner
Jim Rudeen

Special waste disposal
Tony Guy

Hazardous waste transporter registration
Sarah Fulton

Hazardous waste permitting
Mostafa Kamal

Groundwater monitoring
Brad Roberts

Bureau Director
Bill Bider

District Offices
North Central District - Salina 
Northeast District - Lawrence
Northwest District - Hays
South Central District - Wichita
Southeast District - Chanute
Southwest District - Dodge City
Satellite Office - Ulysses

785-827-9639
785-842-4600
785-625-5663
316-337-6020
620-431-2390
620-225-0596
620-356-1075

785-296-1604
785-296-1603

rwenner@kdheks.gov
jrudeen@kdheks.gov

785-296-0681 tguy@kdheks.gov

785-296-0005 sfulton@kdheks.gov

785-296-1609 mkamal@kdheks.gov

785-296-5639 broberts@kdheks.gov

785-296-1612 wbider@kdheks.gov

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Bureau of Waste Management

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 320    Topeka, KS  66612-1366

Ph 785-296-1600  or 1-800-282-9790    Fax 785-296-8909 
www.kdheks.gov/waste         www.kansasdontspoilit.com

Hazardous Waste Generator Workshops start November 2nd.  See page 2 for more information.	


