Secondhand Smoke in Kansas
2012-2013 Adult Tobacco Survey

The 2012-2013 Kansas Adult Tobacco Survey (ATS) was conducted September 2012 through
September 2013 by the Bureau of Health Promotion, Kansas Department of Health and
Environment (KDHE), with funding support from the Kansas Health Foundation. In total, 9,656
Kansas adults 18 years and older participated in the ATS. This document reviews some of the
major findings from the ATS.

8.8 percent of Kansas adults were exposed to secondhand smoke at

home in the past week.
¢ Secondhand smoke exposure at home is more common among adults with lower annual
household income or less education than adults with higher annual household income or
more education. Prevalence of exposure in the past week ranges from about 20 percent
of adults with an annual household income less than $15,000 to about 3 percent of
adults with an annual household income of $50,000 or more.

¢ The prevalence of secondhand smoke exposure at home in the past week among adults
without health insurance (19%) is nearly 3 times the prevalence of secondhand smoke
exposure at home in the past week among adults with health insurance (6.8%).

16.5 percent of Kansas adults live in households where smoking is

allowed.

¢ Previous analyses by KDHE found that children have a lower prevalence of exposure to
secondhand smoke if they do not live with a smoker, but even children who do live with a
smoker have a reduced prevalence of secondhand smoke exposure if there are
household rules preventing smoking inside.’

¢ Similar to secondhand smoke exposure in the past week, allowing smoking in the home
is more common among adults with lower annual household income and lower levels of
education.

1in 4 (25.6%) Kansas adults who live in multi-unit housing were
exposed to secondhand smoke from inside or outside their residential
building in the past year.

¢ 67 percent of Kansas adults who live in multi-unit dwellings favor rules prohibiting
smoking in shared common areas.



78 percent of adults think smoking should never be allowed indoors

In restaurants.

In 2010, Kansas enacted the Kansas Indoor Clean Air Act (KICAA), prohibiting smoking in most
indoor public places. The 2012 Kansas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System found that
77 percent of adults support the 2010 KICAA.

¢ 1in5 (20.2%) Kansas workers were exposed to secondhand smoke at work in the past
week (includes those who work indoors, outdoors and in vehicles).

¢ Exposure to secondhand smoke at work was more common among men (24.4%) than
women (15.3%), Hispanic workers (33.4%) than non-Hispanic workers (18.8%) and
adults who work outdoors (35.8%) than adults who work in a building (18.3%).

¢ 80 percent of adults think it is inappropriate that people smoke in the entryways of
buildings or workplaces and 73.8 percent of adults would favor regulation prohibiting
smoking in such places.
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