Storage Tank Section


Sharon Morgan, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1678    Fax: (785) 559-4260
Email: Sharon.Morgan@ks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Storage Tank Section is responsible for enforcing federal and state storage tank regulations designed to prevent releases that impact the health and safety of the citizens of the state.



The Storage Tank Section enforces federal and state storage tank regulations and provides oversight and direction of investigations and remedial activities at sites where storage tank releases have taken place. Site remediation may be funded by responsible parties, or through reimbursement from the state Petroleum Storage Tank Reimbursement Fund or from the federal LUST Trust Fund.

New Policy: Contaminated Groundwater and Surface Water Intersection
KDHE developed the policy BER-049 - Contaminated Groundwater and Surface Water Intersection as of July 5, 2017 to provide guidance for determining whether groundwater contamination poses harm to a surface water body.

Policy Update: Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management
KDHE has updated its policy BER-041 - Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management as of May 24, 2017. The updated policy provides additional clarification regarding its use and the associated analytical methods, without the overall framework established in the original policy.

Contractual Services Unit

The Contractual Services Unit designs and specifies the format for bidding on scopes of work for corrective action at UST and AST petroleum release trust fund sites. The unit tracks consultant work timelines and budgets and enforces program reimbursement policies. The unit tracks project budgets and expenditures made through the KDHE petroleum remediation contract. The unit documents and tracks consultant qualifications and compliance of responsible parties with agency policies and consent agreements.

Groundwater Monitoring Unit

The Groundwater Monitoring Unit is responsible for the oversight of UST and AST sites in the monitoring program. Unit activities include set-up and coordination of long term monitoring at trust fund sites and evaluating natural attenuation of petroleum constituents. Unit project managers carefully evaluate monitoring report data in accordance to Risk-based Corrective Action guidelines to determine if sites are candidates for continued monitoring, remediation or closure. The unit also oversees recovery and removal of Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids (raw fuels) where recovery is technically possible in order to reduce source areas, and inspects vendor activities and field work in order to maintain quality assurance/quality control. Unit technicians are in charge of remedial equipment inventory, maintenance, and disposal.

LUST Investigation Unit

The Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Unit performs project management for Limited Site Assessments and Risk Based Corrective Action. In addition, staff administer Time and Materials contracts and the Federal LUST program. Staff also coordinate tank removals and excavation activities, respond to emergencies, process public requests for information, and disseminate program information to the public and other government agencies.

Remedial Unit

The Remedial Unit facilitates remedial actions at sites where there has been a release of petroleum products from storage tank systems. Remedial Unit staff oversee design, installation, and continued operation of soil and groundwater remedial systems as well as sensitive receptor treatment, including private and public water supply treatment systems and vapor mitigations systems associated with indoor air quality.

Preventative Unit

The Preventative Unit works to prevent the release of regulated substances from underground storage tanks (USTs), protecting public health and safety and preventing soil and groundwater contamination. KDHE, UST owners and operators, and Kansas-Licensed Contractors work together register and permit tank sites, perform compliance inspections, maintain a facility database, and license contractors for work on these systems. The Unit also permits regulated aboveground tanks and processes applications for the storage tank trust and UST property redevelopment funds.

Kansas Public Record Summary Information for USTs for 2017.

Storage Tanks Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Sharon Morgan

Section Chief

Sharon.Morgan@ks.gov

785-296-1684

Cathy Herring

Administrative Specialist

Cathy.Herring@ks.gov

785-296-1661

Contractural Services Unit

Marcia Morgan

Unit Chief

Marcia.Morgan@ks.gov

785-296-4574

Jenny Haas

Coordinator

Jenny.Haas@ks.gov

785-296-5542

Tamy Simmons

Coordinator

Tamy.Simmons@ks.gov

785-296-0624

Tammy Sund

Coordinator

Tammy.Sund@ks.gov

785-296-5625

Julie Turner

Public Service Administrator

Julie.Turner@ks.gov

785-296-2181

Pam Tyner

Administrative Assistant

Pamela.Tyner@ks.gov

785-296-6367

Groundwater Monitoring Unit

Brandy DeArmond, P. G.

Unit Chief

Brandy.DeArmond@ks.gov

785-296-1870

Ashley Allen, P. G.

Professional Geologist

Ashley.Allen@ks.gov

785-296-6385

Joe Dornes

Environmental Associate

Joe.Dornes@ks.gov

785-296-0642

Cory Ingham

Environmental Specialist

Cory.Ingham@ks.gov

785-291-3793

Matthew Lawhon

Environmental Associate

Matthew.Lawhon@ks.gov

785-296-2579

Mark Totty

Environmental Associate

Mark.Totty@ks.gov

785-291-3107

LUST Investigation Unit

Stephanie Pfannenstiel

Unit Chief

Stephanie.Pfannenstiel@ks.gov

785-296-6768

Chris Anderson, P. G.

Geology Associate

Chris.Anderson@ks.gov

785-296-0623

Alda LaCrone

Administrative Assistant

Alda.Lacrone@ks.gov

785-296-8426

Lacey Laird

Environmental Specialist

Lacey.Laird@ks.gov

785-296-8987

Meghan Railsback

Geology Specialist

Meghan.Railsback@ks.gov

785-296-1674

Remedial Unit

Scott O'Neal

Unit Chief

Scott.O'Neal@ks.gov

785-296-1597

Alek McElroy

Geology Specialist

Aleksander.McElroy@ks.gov

785-291-3103

Emily McGuire, P. G.

Professional Geologist

Emily.McGuire@ks.gov

785-296-7005

James Snow

Geology Specialist

James.Snow@ks.gov

785-296-0610

Jeff Swanson, P. G.

Professional Geologist

Jeff.Swanson@ks.gov

785-296-5931

Brett Tavener

Geology Specialist

Brett.Tavener@ks.gov

785-291-3105

Preventative Unit

Marcus Meerian

Unit Chief

Marcus.Meerian@ks.gov

785-296-6372

Robin Ashton

Senior Administrative Assistant

Robin.Ashton@ks.gov

785-296-8061

Debbie Clure

Administrative Specialist

Debbie.Clure@ks.gov

785-296-1599

Matt Kuffel

Environmental Associate

Matt.Kuffel@ks.gov

785-296-1685

Gary Richardson

Environmental Associate

Gary.Richardson@ks.gov

785-296-1677

Eve Williams

Administrative Assistant

Eve.Williams@ks.gov

785-296-0668