Storage Tank Section


Randy Carlson, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1678    Fax: (785)-296-6190
Email: rcarlson@kdheks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Storage Tank Section is responsible for enforcing federal and state storage tank regulations designed to prevent releases that impact the health and safety of the citizens of the state.

The Storage Tank Section enforces federal and state storage tank regulations and provides oversight and direction of investigations and remedial activities at sites where storage tank releases have taken place. Site remediation may be funded by responsible parties, or through reimbursement from the state Petroleum Storage Tank Reimbursement Fund or from the federal LUST Trust Fund.

Contractural Services Unit

The Contractual Services Unit designs and specifies the format for bidding on scopes of work for corrective action at UST and AST petroleum release trust fund sites. The unit tracks consultant work timelines and budgets and enforces program reimbursement policies. The unit tracks project budgets and expenditures made through the KDHE petroleum remediation contract. The unit documents and tracks consultant qualifications and compliance of responsible parties with agency policies and consent agreements.

Groundwater Monitoring Unit

The Groundwater Monitoring Unit is responsible for the oversight of UST and AST sites in the monitoring program. Unit activities include set-up and coordination of long term monitoring at trust fund sites and evaluating natural attenuation of petroleum constituents. Unit project managers carefully evaluate monitoring report data in accordance to Risk-based Corrective Action guidelines to determine if sites are candidates for continued monitoring, remediation or closure. The unit also oversees recovery and removal of Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids (raw fuels) where recovery is technically possible in order to reduce source areas, and inspects vendor activities and field work in order to maintain quality assurance/quality control. Unit technicians are in charge of remedial equipment inventory, maintenance, and disposal.

LUST Investigation Unit

The Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Unit performs project management for Limited Site Assessments and Risk Based Corrective Action. In addition, staff administer Time and Materials contracts and the Federal LUST program. Staff also coordinate tank removals and excavation activities, respond to emergencies, process public requests for information, and disseminate program information to the public and other government agencies.

Remedial Unit

The Remedial Unit facilitates remedial actions at sites where there has been a release of petroleum products from storage tank systems. Remedial Unit staff oversee design, installation, and continued operation of soil and groundwater remedial systems as well as sensitive receptor treatment, including private and public water supply treatment systems and vapor mitigations systems associated with indoor air quality.

Preventative Unit

The Preventative Unit works to prevent the release of regulated substances from underground storage tanks (USTs), protecting public health and safety and preventing soil and groundwater contamination. KDHE, UST owners and operators, and Kansas-Licensed Contractors work together register and permit tank sites, perform compliance inspections, maintain a facility database, and license contractors for work on these systems. The Unit also permits regulated aboveground tanks and processes applications for the storage tank trust and UST property redevelopment funds.

Kansas Public Record Summary Information for USTs for 2013.

Storage Tanks Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Randy Carlson

Section Chief

rcarlson@kdheks.gov

785-296-1684

Cathy Herring

Administrative Specialist

cherring@kdheks.gov

785-296-1678

Marcia Morgan

Research Analyst

mmorgan@kdheks.gov

785-296-4574

Contractural Services Unit

Vacant

Unit Chief

Tina Gustin

Research Analyst

tgustin@kdheks.gov

785-296-5542

Barbara Jordan

Research Analyst

bjordan@kdheks.gov

785-296-5625

Julie Turner

Public Service Administrator

jturner@kdheks.gov

785-296-2181

Pam Tyner

Administrative Assistant

ptyner@kdheks.gov

785-296-6367

Groundwater Monitoring Unit

Sharon Ferguson, P. G.

Unit Chief

sferguson@kdheks.gov

785-296-1030

Tom Guilfoyle, P. G.

Professional Geologist

tguilfoy@kdheks.gov

785-296-6385

Corey Ingham

Environmental Scientist

cingham@kdheks.gov

785-291-3793

Mike LaBuda

Environmental Technician

mlabuda@kdheks.gov

785-296-1870

Matthew Lawhon

Environmental Scientist

mlawhon@kdheks.gov

785-296-2579

Mark Totty

Environmental Technician

mtotty@kdheks.gov

785-291-3107

LUST Investigation Unit

Roger Boeken, P. G.

Unit Chief

rboeken@kdheks.gov

785-296-1674

Alda LaCrone

Administrative Assistant

alacrone@kdheks.gov

785-296-8426

Lacey Laird

Environmental Scientist

llaird@kdheks.gov

785-296-8987

Ben Meissner

Geology Associate

bmeissner@kdheks.gov

785-296-0623

Stephanie Pfannenstiel

Professional Geologist

spfannenstiel@kdheks.gov

785-296-6768

Amelia Springer

Environmental Scientist

aspringer@kdheks.gov

785-296-0699

Remedial Unit

Scott O'Neal

Unit Chief

soneal@kdheks.gov

785-296-1597

Brandy DeArmond, P. G.

Professional Geologist

bdearmond@kdheks.gov

785-291-3103

Seth Kostbar, P. G.

Professional Geologist

skostbar@kdheks.gov

785-296-0642

Emily McGuire, P. G.

Professional Geologist

emcguire@kdheks.gov

785-296-7005

James Snow

Environmental Scientist

jsnow@kdheks.gov

785-296-0610

Jeff Swanson, P. G.

Professional Geologist

jswanson@kdheks.gov

785-296-5931

Brett Tavener

Environmental Scientist

btavener@kdheks.gov

785-291-3105

Preventative Unit

Marcus Meerian

Unit Chief

mmeerian@kdheks.gov

785-296-6372

Robin Ashton

Administrative Assistant

rashton@kdheks.gov

785-296-8061

Debbie Clure

Administrative Specialist

dclure@kdheks.gov

785-296-1599

Chris Eichman

Environmental Scientist

ceichman@kdheks.gov

785-296-1685

Gary Richardson

Environmental Technician

grichardson@kdheks.gov

785-296-1677