Remedial Section



Randy Carlson, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1660    Fax: (785) 559-4262 or (785) 559-4259
Email: Randy.Carlson@ks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The primary goals of the Remedial Section are to protect and preserve one of the most important natural resources of our state - our water supply, both groundwater and surface water, and to protect the human health and welfare of the citizens of Kansas, both current and future generations from environmental contamination.



Schilling Air Force Base
The former Schilling Air Force Base is a Formerly Used Defense Site located in southwest Salina, Kansas. The base was originally built as the Smoky Hill Army Airfield in 1942. The base was deactivated in the 1960's; it is now used for the Salina Regional Airport and industrial, aviation, military, and educational facilities. The Salina Airport Authority (SAA), Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE), the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) have conducted numerous environmental investigations and some limited remedial actions at the Schilling AFB Site since the mid-1990's.

Remedial Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Randy Carlson

Section Chief

Randy.Carlson@ks.gov

785-296-1675

Rachel Pierson

Administrative Associate

Rachel.Pierson@ks.gov

785-296-1673

Federal Facilities Unit

Margaret Townsend, P. G.

Unit Manager

Margaret.Townsend@ks.gov

785-296-8801

Mandi Chace

Environmental Specialist

Mandi.Chace@ks.gov

785-291-3249

Cathryn Mallonee

Environmental Specialist

Cathryn.Mallonee@ks.gov

785-296-6378

Marc Radloff

Geology Specialist

Marc.Radloff@ks.gov

785-296-1936

Jesse G. Saegert

Geology Specialist

Jesse.Saegert@ks.gov

785-296-1682

Site Remediation Unit

Daniel Newman

Environmental Specialist Supervisor

Daniel.Newman@ks.gov

785-296-0225

Mary Daily, P. G.

Professional Geologist

Mary.Daily@ks.gov

785-296-8896

Pamela Green

Environmental Specialist

Pamela.Green@ks.gov

785-296-1935

Laura Metheny

Geology Specialist

Laura.Metheny@ks.gov

785-291-3255

Site Restoration Unit

Alexandra Richards

Unit Manager

Alexandra.Richards@ks.gov

785-296-2068

John Cook, P. G.

Professional Geologist

John.Cook@ks.gov

785-296-8986

Kenneth Diediker, P. G.

Professional Geologist

Kenneth.Diediker@ks.gov

785-296-0291