Remedial Section



Chris Carey, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1673    Fax: (785)-296-7030 or (785)-296-1686
Email: ccarey@kdheks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The primary goals of the Remedial Section are to protect and preserve one of the most important natural resources of our state - our water supply, both groundwater and surface water, and to protect the human health and welfare of the citizens of Kansas, both current and future generations from environmental contamination.

Policy Update: Nitrate Presumptive Remedy
KDHE has updated its policy BER-RS-047 - Presumptive Remedy Policy: Investigation and Cleanup of Nitrogen at Agriculture-Related Sites in Kansas as of December 1, 2014. The updated policy provides comprehensive guidance for successfully managing and mitigating risks at sites that included the use, manufacture, transportation, and/or distribution of chemicals or other processes resulting in nitrogen contamination.

Schilling Air Force Base
The former Schilling Air Force Base is a FUDS located in southwest Salina, Kansas. The base was originally built as the Smoky Hill Army Airfield in 1942. The base was deactivated in the 1960's; it is now used for the Salina Regional Airport and industrial, aviation, military, and educational facilities. The Salina Airport Authority (SAA), Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE), the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) have conducted numerous environmental investigations and some limited remedial actions at the Schilling AFB Site since the mid-1990's.

Risk-based Standards for Kansas Manual Updated With New Tables
KDHE/BER has updated the Appendices of the 2010 RSK Manual. The complete manual may be downloaded at the above link. Any questions regarding these changes and their effects on the management of a contaminated site may be directed to the KDHE project manager.

Remedial Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Chris Carey, P. G.

Section Chief

ccarey@kdheks.gov

785-296-1675

Environmental Use Control and Information Management Unit

Maggie Weiser

Unit Chief

mweiser@kdheks.gov

785-291-3807

Glenna Drake

Environmental Scientist

gdrake@kdheks.gov

785-296-6379

Aspen Junge

Research Analyst

ajunge@kdheks.gov

785-296-0099

Scott Nightingale

Environmental Use Control Coordinator

snightin@kdheks.gov

785-296-1666

David Meyer

Environmental Scientist

dmeyer@kdheks.gov

785-296-8063

Federal Facilities Unit

Jorge Jacobs, P. G.

Unit Chief

jjacobs@kdheks.gov

785-296-8801

Mandi Chace

Environmental Scientist

mchace@kdheks.gov

785-291-3249

Travis Daneke

Environmental Scientist

tdaneke@kdheks.gov

785-296-6378

Jacqueline Grunau

Environmental Scientist

jgrunau@kdheks.gov

785-296-1682

Michael Law

Environmental Scientist

mlaw@kdheks.gov

785-213-6312

Kelly Peterson

Environmental Scientist

kpeterson@kdheks.gov

785-291-3245

Site Remediation Unit

Ryan Weiser, P. G.

Unit Chief

rweiser@kdheks.gov

785-291-3255

Holly Burke

Environmental Scientist

hburke@kdheks.gov

785-296-6242

Jessica Crossman, P. G.

Professional Geologist

jcrossman@kdheks.gov

785-291-3066

Mary Daily, P. G.

Professional Geologist

mdaily@kdheks.gov

785-296-8896

Andrew Hollenbach, P. G.

Environmental Scientist

ahollenbach@kdheks.gov

785-296-6437

Angela Thompson

Geology Associate

athompson@kdheks.gov

785-296-0291

Margaret Townsend, P. G.

Environmental Scientist

mtownsend@kdheks.gov

785-296-1936

Site Restoration Unit

Maura O'Halloran, P. G.

Unit Chief

mohalloran@kdheks.gov

785-296-0268

Pam Chaffee, P. G.

Professional Geologist

pchaffee@kdheks.gov

785-296-0969

John Cook, P. G.

Professional Geologist

johncook@kdheks.gov

785-296-8986

Pamela Green

Environmental Scientist

pgreen@kdheks.gov

785-296-1935

Kevin Moon

Geology Associate

kmoon@kdheks.gov

785-296-3866