Remedial Section

Chris Carey. P. G., Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1673    Fax: (785)-296-7030 or (785)-296-1686

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367

The primary goals of the Remedial Section are to protect and preserve one of the most important natural resources of our state - our water supply, both groundwater and surface water, and to protect the human health and welfare of the citizens of Kansas, both current and future generations from environmental contamination.

Proposed Cleanup at Cargill Flour Milling Facility Site in Wichita, Kansas
KDHE is soliciting for public comments regarding a proposal to address environmental contamination at the Cargill Flour Milling Facility Site in Wichita.

A draft Corrective Action Decision (CAD) document that outlines the proposal for cleanup is available for public review at the KDHE offices in Topeka and at the Wichita Department of Public Works - Office of Environmental Health. Appointments to review documents in Topeka may be made by contacting Ryan Weiser at 785-291-3255. Appointments to review documents in Wichita may be made by contacting Shawn Maloney at 316-268-8351. An online copy of the Draft CAD is also available here.

Public comments can be submitted in writing to: Ryan Weiser, KDHE Bureau of Environmental Remediation, 1000 SW Jackson St, Suite 410, Topeka, KS 66612-1367. Comments will be accepted until April 1, 2015.

Policy Update: Site Closure in the State Cooperative Progam
KDHE has updated its policy BER-RS-024 - Site Closure in the State Cooperative Progam as of February 26, 2015. This policy replaces the previous one titled "Reclassification Plan." The updated policy establishes KDHE's procedure for determining if an Active site in the State Cooperative Program is eligible for site closure (Resolved), conditional closure (Resolved with Restrictions), or if further remedial actions are necessary.

Policy Update: Nitrate Presumptive Remedy
KDHE has updated its policy BER-RS-047 - Presumptive Remedy Policy: Investigation and Cleanup of Nitrogen at Agriculture-Related Sites in Kansas as of December 1, 2014. The updated policy provides comprehensive guidance for successfully managing and mitigating risks at sites that included the use, manufacture, transportation, and/or distribution of chemicals or other processes resulting in nitrogen contamination.

Schilling Air Force Base
The former Schilling Air Force Base is a FUDS located in southwest Salina, Kansas. The base was originally built as the Smoky Hill Army Airfield in 1942. The base was deactivated in the 1960's; it is now used for the Salina Regional Airport and industrial, aviation, military, and educational facilities. The Salina Airport Authority (SAA), Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE), the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) have conducted numerous environmental investigations and some limited remedial actions at the Schilling AFB Site since the mid-1990's.

Risk-based Standards for Kansas Manual Updated With New Tables
KDHE/BER has updated the Appendices of the 2010 RSK Manual. The complete manual may be downloaded at the above link. Any questions regarding these changes and their effects on the management of a contaminated site may be directed to the KDHE project manager.

Remedial Section Staff Directory






Chris Carey, P. G.

Section Chief


Environmental Use Control and Information Management Unit

Maggie Weiser

Unit Chief


Glenna Drake

Environmental Scientist


Aspen Junge

Research Analyst


Scott Nightingale

Environmental Use Control Coordinator


David Meyer

Environmental Scientist


Federal Facilities Unit

Jorge Jacobs, P. G.

Unit Chief


Mandi Chace

Environmental Scientist


Travis Daneke

Environmental Scientist


Jacqueline Grunau

Environmental Scientist


Michael Law

Environmental Scientist


Kelly Peterson

Environmental Scientist


Site Remediation Unit

Ryan Weiser, P. G.

Unit Chief


Mary Daily, P. G.

Professional Geologist


Andrew Hollenbach, P. G.

Environmental Scientist


Angela Thompson

Geology Associate


Margaret Townsend, P. G.

Environmental Scientist


Site Restoration Unit

Maura O'Halloran, P. G.

Unit Chief


Pam Chaffee, P. G.

Professional Geologist


John Cook, P. G.

Professional Geologist


Pamela Green

Environmental Scientist


Kevin Moon

Geology Associate


Daniel Newman

Environmental Scientist