Remedial Section



Randy Carlson, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1660    Fax: (785) 559-4262 or (785) 559-4259
Email: Randy.Carlson@ks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The primary goals of the Remedial Section are to protect and preserve one of the most important natural resources of our state - our water supply, both groundwater and surface water, and to protect the human health and welfare of the citizens of Kansas, both current and future generations from environmental contamination.



Policy Update: Considerations for Groundwater Potability and Use Determinations
KDHE has updated its policy BER-RS-045 - Considerations for Groundwater Potability and Use Determinations as of April 11, 2016. The updated policy establishes KDHE's procedure for evaluating groundwater potability based on threshold criteria, data collected about the aquifer, and considerations for long-term aquifer management.

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Update--TPH Analytical Method Update
In September 2015 KDHE BER revised its total petroleum hydrocarbon and LNAPL policy, Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management BER Policy # BER-041. BER has since coordinated with the Kansas Health and Environmental Laboratory (KHEL) to bring to fruition a new Kansas analytical method to meet the requirements of the policy.

Beginning January 1, 2016, several laboratories have been certified to run the new Kansas TPH Methods. For a complete list of certified laboratories for the Kansas TPH Methods and other various matrices and analytes, please visit the KHEL Laboratory Accreditation webpage.

Policy Update: Site Closure in the State Cooperative Progam
KDHE has updated its policy BER-RS-024 - Site Closure in the State Cooperative Progam as of February 26, 2015. This policy replaces the previous one titled "Reclassification Plan." The updated policy establishes KDHE's procedure for determining if an Active site in the State Cooperative Program is eligible for site closure (Resolved), conditional closure (Resolved with Restrictions), or if further remedial actions are necessary.

Policy Update: Nitrate Presumptive Remedy
KDHE has updated its policy BER-RS-047 - Presumptive Remedy Policy: Investigation and Cleanup of Nitrogen at Agriculture-Related Sites in Kansas as of December 1, 2014. The updated policy provides comprehensive guidance for successfully managing and mitigating risks at sites that included the use, manufacture, transportation, and/or distribution of chemicals or other processes resulting in nitrogen contamination.

Schilling Air Force Base
The former Schilling Air Force Base is a FUDS located in southwest Salina, Kansas. The base was originally built as the Smoky Hill Army Airfield in 1942. The base was deactivated in the 1960's; it is now used for the Salina Regional Airport and industrial, aviation, military, and educational facilities. The Salina Airport Authority (SAA), Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE), the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) have conducted numerous environmental investigations and some limited remedial actions at the Schilling AFB Site since the mid-1990's.

Risk-based Standards for Kansas Manual Updated With New Tables
KDHE/BER has updated the Appendices of the 2010 RSK Manual. The complete manual may be downloaded at the above link. Any questions regarding these changes and their effects on the management of a contaminated site may be directed to the KDHE project manager.

Remedial Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Randy Carlson

Section Chief

Randy.Carlson@ks.gov

785-296-1675

Rachel Pierson

Administrative Associate

Rachel.Pierson@ks.gov

785-296-1673

Federal Facilities Unit

Jorge Jacobs, P. G.

Unit Chief

Jorge.Jacobs@ks.gov

785-296-8801

Mandi Chace

Environmental Specialist

Mandi.Chace@ks.gov

785-291-3249

Jacqueline Grunau

Environmental Specialist

Jacqueline.Grunau@ks.gov

785-296-1682

Kelly Peterson, P. G.

Environmental Specialist

Kelly.Peterson@ks.gov

785-291-3245

Margaret Townsend, P. G.

Environmental Specialist

Margaret.Townsend@ks.gov

785-296-1936

Long-Term Stewardship and Information Management Unit

Andrea Schiller

Unit Chief

Andrea.Schiller@ks.gov

785-296-0489

Glenna Drake

Environmental Specialist

Glenna.Drake@ks.gov

785-296-6379

Aspen Junge

Research Analyst

Aspen.Junge@ks.gov

785-296-0099

David Meyer

Environmental Specialist

David.Meyer@ks.gov

785-296-8063

Scott Nightingale

Environmental Use Control Coordinator

Scott.Nightingale@ks.gov

785-296-1666

Stephanie Stites

Environmental Specialist

Stephanie.Stites@ks.gov

785-291-3244

Site Remediation Unit

Daniel Newman

Environmental Specialist Supervisor

Daniel.Newman@ks.gov

785-296-0225

Holly Burke

Environmental Specialist

Holly.Burke@ks.gov

785-291-3066

Mary Daily, P. G.

Professional Geologist

Mary.Daily@ks.gov

785-296-8896

Pamela Green

Environmental Specialist

Pamela.Green@ks.gov

785-296-1935

Alexandra Nicosia

Geology Specialist

Alexandra.Nicosia@ks.gov

785-296-0969

Site Restoration Unit

Maura O'Halloran, P. G.

Unit Chief

Maura.O'Halloran@ks.gov

785-296-0268

John Cook, P. G.

Professional Geologist

John.Cook@ks.gov

785-296-8986

Kenneth Diediker

Environmental Specialist

Kenneth.Diediker@ks.gov

785-296-0291

Scott Williamson

Environmental Specialist

Scott.Williamson@ks.gov

785-296-6437