Kansas Radon Laws


KDHE – Kansas Radon Program
Tele:    785-296-1560 (KDHE - certification)
E-mail:    Kdhe.radon@ks.gov


K.S.A. 58-3078a.
Same; information regarding radon.  On and after July 1, 2009, each contract for the sale of residential real property shall contain the following language:
     "Every buyer of residential real property is notified that the property may present exposure to dangerous concentrations of indoor radon gas that may place occupants at risk of developing radon-induced lung cancer. Radon, a class-A human carcinogen, is the leading cause of lung cancer in non-smokers and the second leading cause overall. Kansas law requires sellers to disclose any information known to the seller that shows elevated concentrations of radon gas in residential real property. The Kansas department of health and environment recommends all home-buyers have an indoor radon test performed prior to purchasing or taking occupancy  of residential real property. All testing for radon should be conducted by a radon measurement technician. Elevated radon concentrations can be easily reduced by a radon mitigation technician. For additional information go to www.kansasradonprogram.org."

Certification of contractors providing radon measurement, mitigation, or laboratory services:

During the 2010 legislative session, the Kansas Radon Certification Law was passed.   This law goes into effect on July 1, 2011 and requires that all persons performing radon testing or mitigation in the state be certified by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

Listed below is the statute and regulations which govern the Kansas Radon Certification Law:

K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 48-16a01 through 48-16a12 |

K.A.R. 28-35-600 through 28-35-608

Instructions:

An individual or laboratory wishing to be certified by the state of Kansas should download the application form attached below, and submit the completed form along with documentation of required training and examinations, and the required fee, to:
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Radiation Control Program
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 330
Topeka, KS    66612-1365
Attn:   Radon Program

Application Form for Kansas Certification or Renewal of Certification

Fees:

The fees for certification as listed in the Kansas radon regulations are as follows:

(1) Radon measurement technician:

                (A) Initial certification……………………….…………..……………………..$100.00

                (B) Renewal certification……………………….…………..…………………$100.00

(2) Radon mitigation technician:

                (A) Initial certification……………………….…………..……………………..$100.00

                (B) Renewal certification…………………….……………..…………………$100.00

(3) Radon measurement laboratory:

                (A) Initial certification……………………….…………..……………………..$250.00

                (B) Renewal certification………………….…………….…..………………...$250.00