For Immediate Release
May 9, 2012

KDHE Office of Communications, 785-296-0461

Beloit, Sabetha Receive Kansas' First Level IV Trauma Designations

Topeka—The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) has designated two Kansas hospitals as Level IV trauma centers. They are Mitchell County Hospital Health Systems in Beloit and Sabetha Community Hospital in Sabetha. Hospital administrators were presented their certificates at a meeting of the State’s Advisory Committee on Trauma in Topeka today. 

These designations are a landmark, as they are the first hospitals to receive Level IV trauma center designation in the State of Kansas. KDHE was given legislative authority earlier this year to begin designating Level IV trauma centers.

“Trauma center designation is one component of a comprehensive statewide trauma system designed to get patients with life-threatening injuries to a hospital with the necessary resources,” said Robert Moser, M.D., KDHE Secretary and State Health Officer. “It means these hospitals have met essential criteria that ensure institutional performance and trauma care capability.”  

State trauma designation is a voluntary process that provides confirmation that a hospital has demonstrated its commitment to providing the highest quality trauma care for all injured patients. To earn designation, the hospital must have the necessary equipment and resources needed for trauma care.

The criteria for trauma center designation was established by the American College of Surgeons and endorsed by the State’s Advisory Committee on Trauma. There are four separate categories of designation (Level I, II, III & IV) that are awarded by KDHE.  Each category has specific criteria that must be met by a facility seeking that level of designation. Level IV trauma centers are community hospitals that provide urgent care for those who are seriously injured and have relationships with other trauma centers if a higher level of care is needed.

“A trauma center designation recognizes the hospital’s dedication to providing optimal care for those who have been injured in their community.  Designated Level IV trauma centers are a vital resource to rural communities when every second matters,” said Moser. 

Enclosed: Two photos; one each including hospital administrators from Sabetha Community Hospital or Mitchell County Hospital Health Systems, as indicated in the name of the image. The person on the far right in each photo is Dr. Paul Harrison, the chair of Kansas' Advisory Committee on Trauma.