For Immediate Release
October 29, 2010

KDHE Office of Communications, 785-296-0461

Media Alert: Kansas Schools to Participate in Bullying Prevention Training

November 1, 12:30 p.m., Washburn Institute of Technology

Fifteen Kansas schools will participate in a bullying prevention initiative being offered by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) during the 2010/2011 academic year. An initial training will be held for participating schools on November 1-2.  All media are invited to a media availability session November 1 at 12:30 p.m. at the Washburn Institute of Technology, 5724 SW Huntoon St., Topeka. Representatives from the Committee for Children and participating schools will be available. Following the media availability session, media are welcome to stay for the training which will begin at 1 p.m.

 KDHE selected the Steps to Respect program, a comprehensive bullying prevention curriculum to implement in these schools.  This research-based curriculum teaches 3rd – 6th grade students to recognize, refuse and report bullying and build friendship skills.  The program also focuses on helping schools develop a school-wide framework to address bullying and includes both school staff and parents in the training to ensure everyone has the skills to respond to and help prevent bullying.  This initiative is funded through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Sexual Violence Prevention and Education Grant and the Preventive Health Block Grant awarded to KDHE.

“Bullying is a problem that affects many children,” said Roderick Bremby, KDHE Secretary.  “The great thing about the Steps to Respect Program is it’s a comprehensive approach that brings together both the school staff and parents to better reach our children.”

KDHE sought applications from schools for this initiative and the first 15 schools that met the requirements were selected.  Requirements include:  implementing all components of the Steps to Respect program including an all staff training, coaching (responder) training, curriculum implementation training, parent training and implementing the program between November and the end of the 2010/2011 academic year.

The following schools participating include: Erie Elementary School, Erie; Kingman Elementary School, Kingman; St. Mark’s School, Colwich; Country View Elementary, Winfield; Most Pure Heart of Mary School, Topeka; Hoxie Community Schools, Hoxie; Holy Spirit Catholic School, Goddard; West Indianola Elementary School, Topeka; Rochester Elementary School, Topeka; Riverton Elementary, Riverton; Stafford Elementary/Middle School, Stafford; Roosevelt Elementary School, McPherson; Lakeside Elementary and Middle School, Cawker City; Trego Grade School, WaKeeney; and Mt. Hope School, Haven.