For Immediate Release
November 25, 2009

KDHE Office of Communications, 785-296-0461

Students honored for environmental works of art

Thirteen students from across the state were selected as winners in the 2010 Kansas Don’t Spoil It! Calendar Contest.  The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) received thousands of entries for the contest in which students in grades kindergarten through high school were invited to submit original artwork that promotes recycling, reusing materials and reducing waste.

The contest winners met Lt. Governor Troy Findley on Monday and received a large version of their artwork signed by Governor Mark Parkinson, Lt. Governor Findley and Roderick Bremby, Secretary of KDHE. 

“This contest is a great way to combine the teaching of environmental awareness and art skills in Kansas classrooms,” Secretary Bremby said.  “We have been pleased with the increased participation over the years and continue to be impressed by the artwork being submitted by Kansas students.”

The winning artwork will be displayed on our Kansas Don’t Spoil It! web site by December 1.

The 2010 Kansas Don’t Spoil It! Calendar Contest winners are:

Molly Foote                              Kindergarten                Hoxie Grade School, Hoxie
Natalie Delgado                      1st Grade                     Delaware Ridge Elementary, Kansas City
Mikayla Hogue                        2nd Grade                    Holy Spirit, Overland Park
Peyton Kennedy                      3rd Grade                    Lakewood Elementary, Overland Park
Caroline Edge                         4th Grade                     Highlands Elementary, Prairie Village
Kayla Tribble                           5th Grade                     Concordia Middle, Concordia
Hunter Mendenhall                  6th Grade                     Concordia Middle, Concordia
Makena Utech                         7th Grade                     Topeka Lutheran, Topeka
Brittnee Pingsterhaus             8th Grade                     Cimarron Middle School, Cimarron
Jessica Fouard                       9th Grade                     Ellsworth High School, Ellsworth
Rachel Carver                         10th Grade                   Maranatha Academy, Shawnee
Derek Tate                              11th Grade                   John Dewey Learning Academy, Lecompton
Jordan Russell                        12th Grade                   Oswego High, Oswego

Artwork from the runners-up in the contest will be featured on the back cover of the calendar. 

The 2010 Kansas Don’t Spoil It! Calendar Contest runners up are:

Carson Wehmeier                  Kindergarten                Zion Lutheran, Independence
Parker Stoecklein                   1st Grade                     Holy Spirit School, Overland Park
Sidney Fleek                           2nd Grade                    Troy Elementary, Troy
Nyemah Mitchell                      3rd Grade                     Northview Elementary, Manhattan
Kohlbe King                             4th Grade                     Troy Elementary, Troy
Ashley Dawn Jackson            5th Grade                     Cheney Elementary, Cheney
Tristan Hinton                          6th Grade                      Wathena
Janie Bramhall                        7th Grade                      Sts Peter and Paul, Seneca 
Janna Schulte                          8th Grade                      Ruppenthal Middle, Russell
Alex Borell                                9th Grade                      Wilson Schools, Wilson
Willie Cauley                          10th Grade                     Spearville USD 381, Spearville
Dorian Hooks                         11th Grade                     Piper High School, Kansas City
Britnie Jenkins                        12th Grade                    Cimarron High, Cimarron