Safe Kids Kansas

Preventing Accidental Injury.

December 9, 2008

KDHE Office of Communications, 785-296-0461

Safe Kids Kansas Presents 2008 Awards

Topeka KS—December 9---Safe Kids Kansas presented their annual awards in a ceremony today at the Kansas National Education Association in Topeka.  The prestigious Dr. Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence was presented to Dr. Jeffrey Colvin of Lawrence for his exceptional contributions in the field of childhood injury prevention in Kansas.  Dr. Colvin has served on the Safe Kids Kansas Board of Directors, has provided leadership for and insight into multiple childhood injury prevention efforts in the state, and recently accepted the role as Medical Advisor for the Safe Kids Kansas.  The Cooley award is named in honor of pediatrician Dr. Dennis Cooley of Topeka. “We take this opportunity to recognize Dr. Colvin for his outstanding leadership in child safety,” said Jan Stegelman, State Coordinator for Safe Kids Kansas.

“Safe Kids Kansas also honors one local coalition, a local coordinator, a local newspaper, and a State agency who have all made significant contributions to the mission of Safe Kids Kansas – preventing accidental injury - the leading killer of our children in Kansas,” said Stegelman.  The other award recipients are:

The Local Coalition of the Year award for 2008 was presented to Safe Kids Shawnee County for their success in bringing together varied and diverse members of the community resulting in collaborations that provide outstanding injury prevention programming.  The Coalition has hosted a wide variety of successful injury prevention activities, including a Child Passenger Safety (CPS) inspection station and regularly scheduled car seat check lanes around the county, pedestrian safety events, smoke alarm installations, Halloween safety programs, and involvement in local school safety fairs and programs.   The strong community partnerships with businesses such as Dillon’s and AAA, state agencies, civic organizations, Head Start, ERC and many others have greatly strengthened the impact of their childhood injury prevention events.  The lead agency for Safe Kids Shawnee County is Community Action.

The Service Recognition Award was given to the coordinator of a local coalition, Sondra Mayfield of Safe Kids Marion County.  Sondra has been active in providing diverse and creative injury prevention programs to families in Marion County.   She has been successful in receiving grants from varied sources to provide education and safety devices, including programs such as a life jacket (personal floatation device) loaner program, and providing baby bath thermometers through home visits to prevent scald burns of children.  Sondra is being honored for her passion and dedication to the safety and well being of children in Marion County and Kansas. 

The Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety Award was presented to the Abilene Reflector-Chronicle for their support in providing important safety messages to their readership in Dickinson County.  The editors and staff recognize the potential impact they may have on their community by educating their readers about topics such as the danger of heat in cars, pedestrian safety for children, and car seat and bike helmet safety.  Through their relationship with Safe Kids Dickinson County, the Abilene Reflector-Chronicle has provided vital safety information to many families in Dickinson County, and is a model of how the media can play a positive and supportive role in their community.

The Outstanding Coalition Organization Award was presented to the Kansas Department of Health & Environment (KDHE).  KDHE has been the lead agency for Safe Kids Kansas since its inception and has remained a strong supporter of the mission to prevent unintentional injuries to children in Kansas.  KDHE, under the direction of Secretary Rod Bremby, has remained dedicated to the health and safety of Kansas children through its continued support of the coalition and its operations

Safe Kids Kansas, Inc. is a nonprofit Coalition of 67 statewide organizations and businesses dedicated to preventing accidental injuries to Kansas children ages 0-14.   Local coalitions and chapters are located in Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Clay, Coffey, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Elk, Ellis, Finney, Ford, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Mitchell, Montgomery, Osage, Pottawatomie, Rice, Riley, Saline, Smith, Shawnee, Wilson and Woodson Counties, as well as the cities of Chanute, Emporia, Leavenworth, Pittsburg, the Wichita Area and the Metro Kansas City Area.  Safe Kids Kansas a member of Safe Kids Worldwide, a global network of organizations whose mission is to prevent accidental childhood injury. The lead agency for Safe Kids Kansas is the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.