Safe Kids Kansas

Preventing Accidental Injury.

December 4, 2007

KDHE Office of Communications, 785-296-0461

Safe Kids Kansas Presents 2007 Awards

Topeka KS — December 4 – Safe Kids Kansas presented its annual awards in a ceremony today at the Kansas National Education Association in Topeka. The prestigious Dr. Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence was presented to John J. Drees of Lawrence and Colonel William R Seck of Topeka for their exceptional contributions in the field of childhood injury prevention in Kansas. The yearly award is named in honor of pediatrician Dr. Dennis Cooley of Topeka. “We take this opportunity to recognize John Drees for his local, state, national and international leadership in child safety,” said Dr. Cooley. “I am also proud to present the Dr. Dennis Cooley award to Colonel William R. Seck, Superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol, in recognition of his dedication to providing a safe environment for children, including traffic safety and school safety, and for his continued leadership in the field of childhood injury prevention.”

“Safe Kids Kansas also honors one education program and two organizations that have made significant contributions to the mission of Safe Kids Kansas – preventing accidental injury, the leading killer of our children in Kansas,” said Jan Stegelman, coordinator of Safe Kids Kansas. The other award recipients are:

The Service Recognition Award was given to a very successful and innovative program, 2007 Kansas Reads to Preschoolers About Safety, sponsored by the Kansas Center for the Book, State Library of Kansas. This year’s program chose three books with a safety theme to showcase. The program reached preschoolers throughout the state with safety messages during Children’s Book Week, Nov. 11-17, 2007.

The Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety Award was presented to the Installation Safety Office, Fort Riley, Kan., for its aggressive campaign to reduce child injuries in multiple risk areas including vehicle accidents, playground s, swimming pools, bicycles, motor scooters, motorcycles, ATV’s and dirt bikes.

The Local Coalition of the Year award for 2007 was presented to Safe Kids Johnson County for its success in bringing together varied and diverse members of the community resulting in collaborations that provide outstanding injury prevention programming. The Coalition has hosted a wide variety of successful injury prevention activities, including child passenger safety, pedestrian safety, water safety and bicycle safety. The strong community partnerships with day care centers, preschools, Parents as Teachers, and Head Start have greatly strengthened the impact of the Coalition’s child passenger safety events.

Safe Kids Kansas, Inc. is a nonprofit Coalition of 67 statewide organizations and businesses dedicated to preventing accidental injuries to Kansas children ages 0-14. Local coalitions and chapters are located in Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Clay, Coffey, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Elk, Ellis, Finney, Ford, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Mitchell, Montgomery, Osage, Pottawatomie, Republic, Rice, Riley, Saline, Smith, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Wilson and Woodson Counties, as well as the cities of Chanute, Emporia, Leavenworth, Norton, Pittsburg, the Wichita Area and the Metro Kansas City Area. Safe Kids Kansas a member of Safe Kids Worldwide , a global network of organizations whose mission is to prevent accidental childhood injury. The lead agency for Safe Kids Kansas is the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. For more information visit