
 
 
 
 
129-10-31.   Responsibilities of, assessment of, and disbursements for the nursing  
 

facility quality care assessment program.  (a) In addition to the terms defined in L. 2010,  
 
ch. 159, sec. 1 K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 75-7435 and amendments thereto, the following terms  
 
shall have the meanings specified in this subsection, unless the context requires  
 
otherwise. 

 
(1)  “Agent” has the meaning specified in L. 2010, ch. 159, sec. 1 and  

 
amendments thereto. 

 
(2)  “Authority”  has the meaning specified in L. 2010, ch. 159, sec. 1 and  
 

amendments thereto. 
 

(3)  “High medicaid volume skilled nursing care facility” means any facility 
 

 that provided more than 25,000 days of nursing facility care to medicaid recipients 
 
 during the most recent calendar year cost-reporting period. 

 
(4) (2)  “Kansas homes and services for the aging,” as used in L. 2010, ch. 159,  

sec. 1 K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 75-7435 and amendments thereto, means the Kansas  
 
association of  homes and services for the aging leadingage Kansas. 
 

(5) (3) “Nursing facility quality care assessment program” means the  
 

determination, imposition, assessment, collection, and management of an annual  
 
assessment imposed on each licensed bed in a skilled nursing care facility required by L.  
 
2010, ch. 159, sec. 1 K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 75-7435, and amendments thereto. 
 

(6) (4)  “Skilled nursing care facility that is part of a continuing care retirement 
 

facility” means a provider who is certified as such by the Kansas insurance  
 

department before the start of the state’s fiscal year in which the assessment process is  
 

occurring. 
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(7) (5) “Small skilled nursing care facility” means any facility with fewer than  
 

 46 licensed nursing facility beds.   

(b)  Agreements and arrangements with the Kansas department on aging and  
 

other state agencies may be entered into by the authority as needed to operate and 
  
manage the nursing facility quality care assessment program.  

 
 (c)  The assessment shall be based on a state fiscal year.  An Each skilled nursing 
 

 facility shall pay the annual assessment for each licensed bed in a skilled nursing care 
  
facility shall be imposed and collected by the authority. as follows: 

 
(1) The assessment amount shall be $250 $325 annually per licensed bed for the  

 
following:  

 
(A)  Each skilled nursing care facility that is part of a continuing care 

 
retirement facility;  

 
(B) each small skilled nursing care facility; and 

 
(C) each high medicaid volume skilled nursing care facility.   

 
(2) The assessment amount for all each skilled nursing care facilities facility other  

 
than those identified in paragraphs (c)(1)(A) through (C) shall be $1,500 $1,950  
 
annually per licensed bed. 

 
 (3)  The method of payment for each skilled nursing care facility assessment  

amount shall be paid according to the method of payment designated by the authority or 

its agent secretary of the Kansas department of health and environment.  Any skilled 

nursing care facility may be allowed by the authority or its agent secretary of the Kansas  
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department of health and environment to have an extension to complete the payment of 

the assessment, but no such extension shall exceed 90 days.  (Authorized by and 

implementing L. 2010, ch. 159, sec. 1 K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 75-7435, as amended by L. 

2013, ch. 55, sec. 1; effective Feb. 18, 2011; amended P-                            .) 


