Geology & Well Technology Section

Directions to KDHE and Visitor Parking

Schedule of Office Closings:

  Labor Day

  September 1, 2014 - all day

  Veterans Day

  November 11, 2014 - all day

  Thanksgiving Day

  November 27, 2014 - all day


  December 24, 2014 - closed afternoon only
  December 25, 2014 - all day
  December 26, 2014 - all day

Data Base Links



Mike Cochran, Chief
Geology & Well Technology Section
1000 SW Jackson St., Suite 420
Topeka, KS 66612-1367
(785) 296.5560

Geology & Well Technology Section Staff

  • Debra Biester, Senior Administrative Assistant, 785.296.5524,
  • Jeffrey Hand, Environmental Scientist, 785.296.7265,
  • Richard Harper, Professional Geologist, 785.296.3565,
  • Rick Bean, Professional Geologist, 785.296.7254,
  • Cynthia Khan, Professional Geologist, 785.296.5554,
  • FAX: 785.296.5509
  • Mailing Address:  KDHE - Geology & Well Technology, 1000 SW Jackson Street, Suite 420, Topeka, KS 66612-1367

Purpose of the Geology & Well Technology Section

The Geology Section within the Bureau of Water administers the Underground Injection Control (UIC), the Underground Hydrocarbon and Natural Gas Storage, and Water Well Licensing, Water Well Construction and Abandonment Programs. These programs protect public health and safety, and the environment.

The UIC Program regulates injection well activities. Injection well activities include the disposal of industrial wastes into deep geologic formations, the solution mining of salt formations, and the shallow injection of non-hazardous fluids below the land surface.

The Underground Hydrocarbon and Natural Gas Storage Program regulates the storage of hydrocarbons, including liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) and natural gas, in salt caverns formed by solutioning in the Hutchinson Salt. The program also regulates the brine ponds associated with the underground storage facilities.

The Water Well Program regulates water well contractor licensing, water well construction, and water well abandonment.

The Geology Section also provides hydrogeological and technical support for other programs in the Bureau of Water.