
Accessed November 10, 2011 
http://www.kssos.org/pubs/KAR%5C2009%5C2%20002_28-
Department%20of%20Health%20and%20Environment%20Articles%201%20through%208,%202009%20KAR%20Vol%202.pdf 
 

28-1-18. Notification of Kansas department of health and environment by laboratories of 
positive reaction to tests for certain diseases.  
(a) To assist in the control of disease in Kansas, each person who is in charge of a clinical laboratory shall 
notify the Kansas department of health and environment within 48 hours after testing, unless otherwise 
specified in this regulation, any specimen derived from the human body that yields  microscopical, 
cultural, immunological, serological, or other evidence suggestive of those diseases that are significant 
from a public health standpoint. 
(b)  

(1) Each notification shall include the following: 
(A) The date and result of the test performed; 
(B) the name of the person from whom the specimen was obtained; 
(C) when available, either the date of birth or the age, and the address and telephone 
number of the person from whom the specimen was obtained; and 
(D) when available, the name and address of the physician for whom the examination or 
test was performed, and any other information required by the secretary. 

(2) A legible copy of the laboratory report delivered by confidential electronic transmission or 
mail, or a confidential telephone communication of the laboratory report shall satisfy the 
notification requirement of this subsection. 

(c) The conditions or diseases to which this regulation applies shall include the following: 
(1) All diseases listed in K.A.R. 28-1-2; 
(2) all blood lead level test results as follows: 

(A) Blood lead level test results greater than or equal to 10 micrograms per deciliter for 
persons less than 18 years of age, and greater than or equal to 25 micrograms per 
deciliter for persons 18 years of age or older shall be reported within 48 hours; and 
(B) blood lead level test results less than 10 micrograms per deciliter for persons less 
than 18 years of age, and less than 25 micrograms per deciliter for persons 18 years of 
age or older shall be reported within 30 days; and 

(3) CD4+ T-lymphocyte count of less than 500 per microliter or a CD4+ T-lymphocyte percent of 
total lymphocytes less than 29. 

(d) Isolates of positive cultures of the following microorganisms shall be sent to the Kansas department 
of health and environment, division of health and environmental laboratories, unless this requirement is 
waived under special circumstances by the secretary of health and environment: 

(1) Salmonella; 
(2) shigella; 
(3) Escherichia coli O157:H7 and other enterohemorrhagic, enteropathogenic, and enteroinvasive 
E. coli; 
(4) Neisseria meningitidis; 
(5) streptococcal invasive disease from group A Streptococcus or Streptococcus pneumoniae; and 
(6) Mycobacterium tuberculosis. 

(e) All laboratory notifications required in this regulation shall be confidential and shall not be open to 
public inspection, as provided in K.S.A.65-118 and amendments thereto.  
 
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-101, K.S.A. 2001 Supp. 65-118, and K.S.A. 65-128; effective, 
E-68-22, Aug. 9, 1968; effective Jan. 1, 1969; amended May 1, 1986; amended Aug. 23, 1993; amended 
Jan. 12, 1996; amended Dec. 1, 1997; amended Feb. 18, 2000; amended, T-28-8-9-02, Aug. 9,2002; 
amended Dec. 2, 2002.) 


