
Assessment of Kansas hospital policies to prevent perinatal hepatitis B transmission, 2015 

 

Background 
Hepatitis B virus (HBV) is spread via infected blood and other body fluids (saliva and semen). 
Individuals who are chronically infected are at an increased risk for cirrhosis of the liver and 
hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC).  Vertical transmission (mother to child) during the perinatal period is 
one of the most efficient means of transmission.  HBV-positive women have up to a 90% chance of 
transmitting the virus to their infant (1), which can result in significant morbidity and mortality for the 
infant.  However, proper chemoprophylaxis has been shown to be 85-95% effective in preventing an 
infant from becoming a chronic carrier of HBV (2) (3) (4).   The Advisory Committee on Immunization 
Practices (ACIP) has published guidelines addressing testing, treatment, and documentation of HBV-
positive women and their infants (1).  Recommended postexposure prophylaxis include admission of 
hepatitis B immunoglobulin (HBIG) and hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth, as well as, first 
dose of hepatitis B vaccine to all newborns prior to discharge from the hospital. 
 
To aid in the identification of HBV-positive women, and thus reduce the risk of perinatal hepatitis B 
transmission, Kansas statute 65-153f states that all women shall be tested for hepatitis B within 14 days 
of diagnosis of pregnancy and the Kansas Department of Health and Environment regulation 28-1-2 
states that each confirmed or suspected case of hepatitis B including hepatitis B in pregnancy are to be 
reported within 7 days to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.  All pregnant women 
should be tested for the hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg), which is a marker for HBV infection.  
Additionally, they can be tested for the hepatitis B “e” antigen (HBeAg), which indicates a high level of 
virus in the blood, and therefore high infectivity.  Following a notification of a HBV positive pregnant 
woman, follow up is conducted by the local health department and the Kansas Department of Health and 
Environment (KDHE). Monitoring includes education regarding prevention interventions for infant and 
other household contacts, ensuring that household contacts are tested and vaccinated against hepatitis B, 
and making certain that infants receive proper chemoprophylaxis to prevent mother-to-child 
transmission. In addition, delivery hospitals should implement written policies and standing orders 
regarding pregnant HBsAg-positive women and pregnant women with unknown HBsAg status, as well 
as their infants. 
 
Objective 
The objective of this study was to assess the presence or absence of policies and procedures concerning 
prevention of perinatal HBV transmission in birthing hospitals throughout Kansas.  
Methods  



A 25 question survey was created to meet the objective of this study and was based on a previous survey 
created by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).  Questions were asked to assess the 
existence of standing orders and written policies regarding prevention of perinatally acquired HBV.  The 
surveys were emailed to the directors of labor and delivery (L&D) at Kansas birthing hospitals.  A 
hospital was considered to have a policy in place if they responded affirmatively to having standing 
orders, written policies, or both for each recommended policy. 
 
Results 
Completed surveys were received from 61 (81.3%) birthing hospitals. Regarding maternal HBsAg 
status, nearly three-quarters of responding hospitals reported policies to review prenatal test results at 
time of admission; over half test for hepatitis B surface antigen reactivity if it is not already documented. 
However, only 6% of hospitals have standing orders and/or written policies to repeat HBsAg testing for 
hepatitis B negative women who are considered to be at high risk for infection, including those who 
have had more than one sex partner in the previous 6 months, have been evaluated for treatment of a 
sexually transmitted disease (STD), have recent or current injection drug use, have an HBsAg-positive 
sex partner or are symptomatic of hepatitis.  Finally, less than half of hospitals had a policy in place to 
document maternal HBsAg results in the infant’s chart.   
 
Concerning administration of chemoprophylaxis to newborns over two-thirds of all reporting hospitals 
stated as having policies to give HBIG and first dose of hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth to 
all infants of HBsAg-positive and status unknown mothers. Moreover, three-quarters of study delivery 
facilities had policies to administer the first hepatitis B vaccine dose to every newborn prior to hospital 
discharge; similar to the 2013 state-wide level of 73%. Lastly, while approximately one-quarter of 
responding hospitals mentioned HBsAg status policies, nearly two-thirds had chemoprophylaxis policies 
and 27% had policies for both.  
 
 

Table 1. Percent of hospitals with perinatal hepatitis B prevention policies 
Policies % 

HBsAg Status Policies 
Have a policy to review prenatal HBsAg (hepatitis B surface antigen) test results at the time of 
admission to the Labor and Delivery (L & D) unit for all pregnant women 

70.49 

Have a policy for HBsAg testing as soon as possible after admission for women admitted to L 
& D who do not have a documented HBsAg test result 

60.66 

Have a policy for repeat testing of pregnant, HBsAg-negative women who are at risk for HBV 
infection during pregnancy? (e.g. >1 sex partner in the previous six months, evaluation or 
treatment for an STD, recent or current injection drug use, HBsAg-positive sex partner or who 
have had clinical hepatitis) 

6.56 

Have a written policy for documentation of maternal HBsAg test results in the infant’s 
medical record 

47.54 

Chemoprophylaxis Policies 



Have a policy for administration of HBIG (hepatitis B immune globulin) within 12 hours of 
birth for all infants born to HBsAg-positive mothers 

65.57 

Have a policy for administration of hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth for all infants 
born to HBsAg-positive mothers 

68.85 

Have a policy for administration of hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth for all infants 
born to mothers with unknown HBsAg status 

70.49 

Birth Dose Policies 

Have a written policy to routinely administer the hepatitis B vaccine to all newborns before 
hospital discharge 

77.05 

 
Stratified by Hospital Size:  
The data was stratified by number of live births per year to determine if hospital size revealed any trends 
among presence or absence of policies. Responding hospitals with 50 – 99 live births per year had the 

highest proportion 
of delivery 
facilities claiming 
policies, with 
37%; followed 
closely by one-
third of hospitals 
with 500-999 live 
births (see Graph 
1). The very large 
and very small 
hospitals (over 
1,000 and under 
50 births 
respectively) had 
the lowest percent 
of L&D units with 
11%reporting 
policies in place. 
This trend is 
mirrored when 

looking at only HBsAg status policies; however, in terms of chemoprophylaxis over three-quarters of 
the largest hospitals reported having orders. Conversely, a majority of L&D units with less than 50 live 
births per year have no orders concerning hepatitis B mothers or their children. 



Graph 2: Trends of percentages of hospitals with policies 
concerning HBsAg status 

 

Graph 3: Trends of percentages of hospitals with policies 
concerning chemoprophylaxis 

 

Trending data: This survey has been completed five times by area labor and delivery facilities since 
2003; while response rates have varied, important trends can now be established. The most notable trend 
concern policies to retest HBsAg-negative women with known risk factors, averaging 7%, are markedly 
below levels of other (see Graph 2). Between 2011 and 2015, policies to document HBsAg status of the 
mother in child’s medical 
chart increased significantly 
by 50%. Additionally, 
between 2009 and 2011 
there was a significant 
increase in the percentage of 
hospitals that reported 
having policies in place to 
review maternal HBsAg 
status and test for it if 
unknown at time of 
admission. However, after 
this initial increase, rates of 
hospitals reporting policies 
have maintained 2011 levels. 
 
Policies for admission of 
chemoprophylaxis were higher in responding hospitals than those concerning HBsAg screening. Orders 
to give the first dose of the hepatitis B vaccine saw a four year average of 80% with no significant 
change over the past 7 years (see Graph 3). Furthermore, the percentage of hospitals giving hepatitis B 
vaccinations within 12 hours of birth to babies with unknown maternal HBsAg status has significantly 
increased since initial collection of data in 2007. Furthermore, this is the one policy that has seen an 
increase year-over-year since 2009 and has surpassed policies concerning admission of HBIG within 12 

hours of birth to infants 
whose mothers are HBsAg-
positive. Lastly, well over 
50% of study hospitals 
have chemoprophylaxis 
policies in place since the 
first year of available data.  
 
Discussion 
A majority of Kansas 
hospitals have policies in 
place to determine HBV 
test results of newly 
admitted pregnant women, 
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test women whose hepatitis B status is unknown, administer HBIG and HBV vaccine to infants born to 
HBsAg-positive women and women of unknown status, and to routinely administer the HBV vaccine to 
all infants prior to hospital discharge.   
 
The prevalence of women chronically infected with HBV with a positive HBsAg test is higher in 
pregnant women who receive no prenatal care than in women who receive prenatal care. Those with no 
prenatal care will likely show up with an unknown HBsAg test and while 70% of Kansas hospitals have 
a policy in place to test these women and to ensure that their infants are vaccinated within 12 hours there 
are still many who do not have these policies in place (5).  In 2012, approximately 1% of women who 
gave birth in Kansas received no prenatal care (6).  Additionally, the CDC projects that every year, 
Kansas should identify between 102 and 145 infants born to hepatitis B positive mothers.  From 2011-
2013, Kansas identified an average of 79 infants; therefore, KDHE may not be identifying all infants 
born to HBsAg-positive women.  
 
To ensure that all infants are managed properly, there are numerous policies that can be implemented to 
prevent perinatal transmission of hepatitis B (Appendix A).  HBsAg status should be reviewed for all 
women upon admission to labor and delivery.  If there is no documented HBsAg status, testing should 
be performed, and results should be obtained within 24 hours to assure proper chemoprophylaxis is 
given to the infant.  Hospitals that do not have HBsAg-testing capabilities should make arrangements 
with a local laboratory to ensure test results are obtained within the recommended time frame, or if 
possible testing capabilities should be developed in-house.   
 
To ensure this appropriate treatment is routinely given, hospitals should implement standing orders and 
written policies based on ACIP recommendations (1).  Additional information can be found on the CDC 
website http://www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/HBV/PerinatalXmtn.htm  and KDHE’s website 
http://www.kdheks.gov/hiv/hepatitis.htm.  Furthermore, in 2013, ACIP and CDC initiated the birth dose 
honor roll which exemplifies hospitals that have a 90% or higher rate of administration of first dose of 
the hepatitis B vaccine to all newborns, regardless of maternal HBsAg status. With this goal in mind, it 
is clear to see that hospitals in this study, and Kansas as a whole, should work to increase its birth dose 
rate with implementing policies to do so as the first major step towards success. 
 
 
Report modified & updated by: 
Kelly Gillespie, MPH 
Kansas Department of Health and Environment  
Bureau of Epidemiology and Public Health Informatics  
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     APPENDIX A 
 
 
 Delivery Hospital Policies and Procedures to Prevent Perinatal Hepatitis B Virus 

Transmission 
 
At time of admission for delivery  

• Review hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) status of all pregnant women.  
• Record maternal HBsAg test results on both labor and delivery record and on infant’s delivery 

summary sheet.  
• Perform HBsAg testing as soon as possible on women who  

— do not have a documented HBsAg test result;  
— were at risk for hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection during pregnancy (e.g., >1 sex partner in the 

previous 6 months, evaluation or treatment for a sexually transmitted disease, recent or current 
injection-drug use, or HBsAg-positive sex partner); or  

— had clinical hepatitis since previous testing.  
 
 
After delivery  
HBsAg-positive mothers and their infants  

• Administer single-antigen hepatitis B vaccine and hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) to all infants 
born to HBsAg-positive mothers <12 hours after birth and record date and time of administration of 
HBIG and hepatitis B vaccine in infant’s medical record.  

• Provide information regarding hepatitis B to HBsAg-positive mothers, including  
— advice that they may breast feed their infants upon delivery;  
— modes of HBV transmission;  
— need for vaccination of their susceptible household, sexual, and needle-sharing contacts;  
— need for substance abuse treatment, if appropriate; and  
— need for medical management and possible treatment for chronic hepatitis B.  

 
Mothers with unknown HBsAg status and their infants  

• Administer single-antigen hepatitis B vaccine (without HBIG) to all infants born to mothers with 
unknown HBsAg status <12 hours after birth and record date and time of administration of hepatitis 
B vaccine on infant’s medical record.  

• Alert infant’s pediatric health-care provider if an infant is discharged before the mother’s HBsAg test 
result is available; if the mother is determined to be HBsAg positive, HBIG should be administered 
to the infant as soon as possible, but no later than age 7 days.  

 
All mothers and their infants  

• Administer a dose of single-antigen hepatitis B vaccine to all infants weighing >2,000 g.  
• Ensure that all mothers have been tested for HBsAg prenatally or at the time of admission for delivery, 

and document test results.  
 
 
At time infant is discharged  

• Provide infant’s immunization record to mother and remind her to take it to the infant’s first visit to a 
pediatric health-care provider.  
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