
KANSAS BUSINESS 
INCENTIVES



Business Incentives

• Machinery & Equipment Expense 
Deduction 

• Promoting Employment Across Kansas
• Workforce Training Grants 
• Kansas Corporate Income Tax Credits 
• Kansas Sales Tax Exemptions
• Machinery & Equipment Property Tax 

Exemption



M & E Expense Deduction

• One-time deduction 
• Difference between the cost of the item and 

present value of the stream of depreciation 
deductions

• Based upon the business’ Federal 
depreciation schedule



PEAK
• Promoting Employment Across Kansas
• Withholding Tax Retention Finance Program
• 95% of withholding tax retained for 5 years
• Term of withholding depends on pay of 

employees over county median wage
• Must create at least 10 net, new jobs within two 

years in metro areas; or 5 net, new jobs within 
two years in all other counties



KIT
• Kansas Industrial Training
• Allowable costs may include:  instructors’ 

salaries, curriculum planning and development, 
travel expenses, textbooks, videos and 
temporary training facilities

• Average award $200 to $400 per trainee



KIR
• Kansas Industrial Retraining 
• Retrain workforce of existing Kansas company 
• For companies restructuring by incorporating 

new technology, product diversification or new 
production activities

• Requires at least a dollar-for-dollar match from 
the company 



HPIP
• High Performance Incentive Program
• 10% investment tax credit
• 16-year time frame to use the tax credit
• 100% of corporate income tax liability can be 

eliminated each year
• Project Exemption from Sales Tax



HPIP
• Eligibility based on:  

• Operate an eligible business – i.e. 
manufacturing, distribution, back-office, 
business headquarters

• Pay above-average salaries 
• Participate in our workforce training programs, 

i.e. IMPACT or KIT, or spend at least 2% of 
total annual payroll on workforce training



• Labor costs for new construction
• Manufacturing machinery and equipment
• Equipment that supports production line
• Ingredient and component parts used or 

consumed in production
• Utilities used in production – gas, water, 

electricity

Other Sales Tax Exemptions



Personal Property Tax 
Exemption

• Commercial and industrial machinery and 
equipment is exempt from state and local 
property tax by state law

• Broad coverage – includes equipment for 
manufacturing, warehouse/distribution and 
office



CDBG

• All Cities or Counties with population 50,000 or 
less

• Maximum $750,000 / $35,000 per FTE
• 51% jobs created LMI
• Private or public fund match required
• Working capital 5 yr – equipment up to 10 yr –

real property up to 15 yr



Susan NeuPoth Cadoret
Business Assistance Manager

Kansas Department of Commerce
1000 SW Jackson
Topeka, KS 66612

(785) 296-7198
scadoret@kansascommerce.com
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