Child Care Licensing Parent Page



ONLINE COMPLAINT PROCESS

Please read all of the following information before proceeding:

  1.  It is important for you to complete all sections of this form so your complaint can be fully evaluated.  If a particular section does not apply to your situation, simply type “N/A” (not applicable) in the space.
  2. If you wish to file a complaint by phone please call 785-296-1270.  Child Care Licensing hours are Monday through Friday (except legal holidays) from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.
  3. Once your complaint is reviewed you may be contacted by a child Care Licensing Surveyor if more information is needed.
  4. By submitting a complaint, you acknowledge that the information you submit is accurate.  This does not mean that it is necessary for you to be able to “prove” that the allegation being made is true, only that you do not knowingly give false information in your complaint.
  5. The complainant information is not disclosed during the investigation however if the investigation leads to a legal enforcement the complainant may be called to testify.
  6. Allegations are investigated and must be verified independently for a substantiated finding.

If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, please call the Kansas Protection Report Center at 1-800-922-5330

         Rounded Rectangle: CONTINUE ? Submit a Complaint

Child Care Aware of Kansas:  http://www.ks.childcareaware.org

Day Care Connection:  http://daycareconnection.org/

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) administers the child care licensing law and issues licenses for child care facilities. The main purpose of regulation is to protect the health, safety, and welfare of children receiving care away from their home.

If there is a regulatory concern, KDHE is required to conduct an on-site visit, also called a complaint survey, to determine if the child care facility is in compliance with regulations. Concerns reported about someone providing child care without a license are also investigated and involve an on-site visit by a child care surveyor. Once a complaint is submitted it cannot be "withdrawn".

  • The surveyor will begin the initial investigation review within 5 days of receipt of the complaint.
  • There will be an unannounced onsite visit to the child care facility, this may or may not occur within 5 days of receiving the complaint.
  • The surveyor will provide the reason for the visit but will NOT reveal the identification of the person(s) submitting the complaint.
  • A walkthrough of the entire child care facility will be conducted by the surveyor to observe the environment, staff, and the children in care.
  • If the complaint involves concerns about the environment, the surveyor may take pictures.
  • Files for children and adults will be reviewed. Contact information from files may be obtained to gather information from parents and staff.
  • Findings of noncompliance will be documented on a Notice of Survey Findings (NOSF) form and will be available to the public on the Online Dissemination Portal once the complaint has been completed by the surveyor and reviewed by KDHE staff

The nature of the concern determines if another agency such as the Department for Children and Families (DCF), law enforcement, fire marshal, or food program may be involved in an investigation. For example, if a child care complaint includes concerns of abuse, neglect, or lack of supervision, a DCF social worker may accompany the surveyor. When a surveyor is conducting an investigation with another agency, each agency will conduct their own investigation and document their own findings. Even though other agencies involved may have no findings, there may be noncompliance cited by the surveyor. Other agency results must be requested from that agency.

If the complaint is unsubstantiated?

If a complaint is unsubstantiated the complaint displayed through the Online Dissemination System will indicated UNSUBSTANTIATED. If noncompliance was found unrelated to the complaint, those findings are available online.

If the complaint is substantiated:

  • The provider is required to correct all findings within five (5) calendar days of the survey.
  • The surveyor may return to the facility unannounced to verify compliance.
  • If serious or repeat findings are found, KDHE may consider denial of an application, civil penalty, suspension of a permit or license, or revocation of a license. The licensee has the right to appeal these actions.
  • If findings from a visit reveal that children need to be protected from abuse, abandonment, or any other substantial threat to their health or safety, KDHE may issue an Emergency Suspension. Although subject to appeal, an Emergency Suspension results in immediate closure.