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Kansas Child Care in the 21st Century Listening Tour 
 
Location:  Overland Park, Kansas   
Date:   October 23, 2007 
Participants:  Approximately 80 persons participated   
 

Participant Process 
The Department of Health and Environment is in the process of redesigning the child care licensing system to meet the needs 
of children and families in the 21st century.  The process began in October 2007 with a state-wide listening tour to solicit 
comments on day care homes, child care centers and private preschools registered or licensed by the Department.   The 
comments will be considered in the development of policies, procedures and standards of care that provide safety for 
children, encourage early learning, and balance best practices and the business realities that face child care providers every 
day.  The participants were asked to respond to the question identified below.  All the comments were recorded.  The 
participants were then asked to vote on their most pressing concerns.  Each person had a maximum of six votes.  The 
question asked in the tour, the comments and the number of votes are listed below.   
 

Listening Tour Question 
If Kansas is to have a quality 21st Century Child Care system, what improvements or changes are needed in regulations and 
in the licensing process?  (Please think both about content as well as process.  Include the inspection process, sanction 
process, licensing policies and regulations.) 
 

Number of Votes and Comments Received 
 

Votes 
                                             Comments                                                                

30 Child care centers. Faced with maintaining ratios at all time. Very difficult to have enough staff 
members to sub when someone needs to go to the bathroom. During nap time would like the 
opportunity for 100% of staff to be on premise but only 50% in classroom so the other 50% can leave 
the room. (Public schools and in home do not have to follow these ratios this strictly). Forces us to start 
lunch breaks at 9:30am and finish at 3:30pm. Need someone that is qualified as a lead teacher in the 
room. 

22 Licensing laws are written very vague so can be interpreted differently between surveyors. i.e. The 
building should be maintained in good condition. Need clear definition within regulations and we all 
need a copy of them. 

19 Home day care provider: Children come to us more for infant care. Want preschools when children are 
around 3. Would like 18 months changed to 14 months for an infant. These children can feed 
themselves and move. We turn so many infants down.  

18 Ratios need to be revamped. 
15 I would not like to see the video and book training eliminated. I already have an 18 hour day. 
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                                             Comments                                                                

15 Consistency. Statewide. There is a lack of consistency in the language of the laws. Simplify these. 
Need availability of information on line. Training of surveyors – there needs to be some consistency. 
Funding streams – how are these done in the different counties? 

15 Need to count age 5 when they turn 5. Also help us with overlap when the child turns a year older. 
Kindergarten age is fiscal, infant age is birth date. Need consistency. 

15 Health insurance. Most child care workers do not have insurance. Would like access to the state’s 
insurance pool. 

14 Training: 10 hours of in-service does not do a thing. Montessori training only worth 10 hours. Let us 
train these people that want to be with our children. Release us to do the training. Address this 6 month 
and 3 month stuff. 

14 Would like an FBI background check instead of just the KBI. Need quicker results. Post them on-line. 
We need to know who the people are that should not be with children. Takes us too long to hear from 
KDHE. 

10 This is about quality care for children. 5 hours of training per year is not enough. Need to up these 
hours so you don’t miss out on quality training. We are allowed to do videos and books – do away with 
these. You need to go outside for the training. Let’s offer the training more often so it is more 
accessible. The R & R restructure has killed our training. Would like to see the training be free. Perhaps 
offer webinars (could be challenging for folks without computers). We have to pay people when they 
are doing their training. 

9 Why does KDHE require first aid? CPR is a lot more important. CPR should be required and kept up to 
date.  

9 Should be up to day care provider on what ages of children should sleep in a crib. 
9 Training requirements. When you need a replacement the next day, the training may not be available 

immediately. (CPR, first aid, Child abuse, symptoms and illness) Would like to add SIDS, Shaken baby 
syndrome, recertification of child abuse training. Add medication administration – everyone should be 
required to take, not just school age programs. 

8 Revamp registered versus licensed. People register to avoid being inspected. Registration should not be 
any longer.  

7 Group day care center in home. Can have 4 infants with 2 adults (we can have a total of 10) One person 
can have 3 infants, 3 toddlers, 3 school agers (8 children). Want group ratios changed so we can have 
more children with 2 adults. (Infant age in centers ends at 12 months.) 

7 Inspections. Church-based facility. Met with Jefferson County Health Department to build a 
relationship in advance of opening the center. Was obvious that relationship was going to be 
challenging. Opened January 2006 to meet a specific need. Have not had one complaint to date since 
opening however, relationships with the County Health Department has been adversarial in nature. 
Received $500 penalty and have been issued a “notice to suspend license.” Have hired an attorney to 
help us. Even concerned that expressing these concerns publicly risks our position. Bring common 
sense to inspection and oversight of our day care facilities. Frustrated with the adversarial relationship. 

6 Would like to have paperwork on what the surveyor is inspecting on. 
6 Having such low ratios discourages day care homes from becoming group homes. More parents would 

like the peace of mind that two adults provide. Need it to be easier to become a group day care. 
6 I’m afraid that care givers that now register will just go underground if we eliminate the registered 

category. I used to be licensed and now am registered and I just don’t want to take care of as many 
children. 
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5 Boil this down to the simple and the basic. Each of us wants the best for the child. Don’t over-regulate. 
5 Licensed so my own young children don’t count against my count. Would be reasonable not to have to 

count your own children up to a certain age or number. Perhaps don’t count once your own children are 
5 or older. 

5 Owner operator of local Montessori school. Frustrated as an owner that I’m making less and less every 
year. Waiting on an amendment to my license (started in middle July, upgraded fire system. 

4 If a room is licensed for 3 year olds but room doesn’t have 3 year olds that day, why can’t we have the 
older children move into that room as long as the ages and ratios are appropriate.  

4 Would be nice to have flexibility for overlap with our children. We constantly have a waiting list – 
child might be born early…In Colorado have a simple solution – can have an overlap of up to 30 days 
for one child and one hour a day for pick up and drop off. 

4 Would like to be able to meet with other friends that are day care providers without being considered an 
R & R. 

4 Make the laws simple to understand. Keep children’s interest first.  People that aren’t licensed say they 
aren’t because it is too complicated. 

4 Centers. Need relief on paperwork. i.e. immunization records – was supposed to be on-line years ago 
and is not. Lawrence says an electronic signature is OK but that is not the case in Johnson County. Can 
you make the immunization section larger? 

3 Health assessment – need consistency within the regulations. One place it says we need it another 
section says we do not. 

3 Child care instead of Day care. 
3 Challenge the “you can watch a child for 3 hour blocks” without being licensed. 
3 Large pre-school. We are seeing more programs in the public schools for these children. Several 

centers closed because they didn’t have enough children. Will the QRS be a qualifier? What is the 
future for pre-schools? (50% of pilots are supposed to be in community settings) 

3 The Health Department reviewers have been fair and consistent as well as respectful year after year. 
(Home day care provider – what is fair when the surveyor is there for 6 hours which interrupts our time 
with the children. What are they supposed to be doing?) 

2 Would like to see a change in how the state notifies centers and in home providers on a change they 
have made and an interpretation. Surveyors need to have some responsibility for ensuring each and 
every provider is notified of changes. 

2 Ratios for 2.5 year old is 1 to 10 should be fewer children. But at age 3 ratio is 1 to 12 and that should 
also be lower. (For those children that do need more care, you can put them in a different room with a 
smaller ratio.) 

2 Brain development should be taken into consideration as we look at early learning opportunities. 
2 I like the protection of having some education for the people that are taking care of my kids. As a 

parent, would like to see an increase in the education required for the provider. 
2 Group size. Classroom that starts at 2.5 years. Maximum of 20 children does not work well. Hard to do 

a good quality program with this number. Would like this to go down to 18. 
2 Stop having center laws and in-home laws different. We are all doing the same thing. The issue is 

absolute non-flexibility. Children were walking through the classroom and we were written up because 
they were in the classroom. 

2 Universal pre-school: There are so many more rules and regulations for our day schools than for our 
public schools. Why isn’t there harmony going on between these sets of regulations? There seem to be 
different rules and regulations. Would be like to look at what others states are doing. 
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1 Blankets – one day we can use them and one day we cannot. Common sense needs to rein. 
1 Ratios: Allow 3 infants. I had a fire in my home. Only had one baby at that time. I don’t think I could 

have gotten three infants out of my home. Still just take 2 infants. Think this needs to be changed for 
the safety of the infants. 

1 Emergency. Need something going on for emergency planning. Need to be prepared. 
1 Why do we have to have a high school diploma for our infant teachers? 
1 Licensing inspection form – would like to indicate with boxes which accreditation or standards we 

already meet. This is an important piece of information. 
0 It is hard to regulate quality. 
0 Policies and procedures written by state people need to work in a day care center or be a provider for 

one week. Cannot get what actually happens unless you work there. 
0 If we have a visitor, I have been cited for not having a KBI on them. Do they need one if they are not 

caring for the children? 
0 How do you have children brush their teeth in a sanitary way? Would love to see the tooth brushing 

regulation disappear. As a parent of a 2 year old I appreciate that my child brushes his teeth at day care. 
0 In home care…sometimes we don’t get to the bathroom or get a lunch break either. 
0 There is no one policing the health department. 
0 Would appreciate the sick child exclusion policy are just guidelines not policy. Just needs to state 

“guideline.”  
0 We don’t need more regulations. We spend more money trying to keep the center open…would like to 

spend that money on teacher salaries. Need common sense. 
0 Had a child from 10 to 3, called health department and told them the kids were never out of bed. Health 

department came into my day care like a swat team. “Look at how clean this place is, the kids must 
never be out of there beds.” Wrote me up…I called Topeka and didn’t hear from the surveyors again 
about that. 

0 Cannot transition a child until 2.5 years old. 
0 Parents want to know that their child will be well taken care of and will be safe. 
0 With new regulations, put everything related to staff qualifications in one section. 
0 In-home day care in rural area. Giving my Social Security number to some parents is uncomfortable. 

Would rather provide a day care ID number. You can get an EIN (Employer Identification Number) 
number from the IRS to provide to these parents. 

0 Center. Maintaining quality staff is a difficult challenge. Staff leave child care industry because the 
atmosphere is not one they planned on (i.e.) can’t leave to go to the bathroom. Struggle to provide the 
atmosphere that is actually required by federal law. Our ability to provide the best child care is being 
undermined. 
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