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 INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION 
FOR A LICENSED SCHOOL AGE DROP-IN PROGRAM 

  
 
NEW APPLICANTS: This includes all facilities required to be licensed, currently licensed programs that are  
   moving, ownership changes, and programs changing from one category to another.  
   PROGRAMS THAT ARE APPLYING FOR A NEW LICENSE MUST COMPLETE ITEMS 1  
   THROUGH 7. If you are applying for a NEW licensed School Age Drop-In Program, return the  
   required forms and fees to your local child care facility surveyor. 
 
INTENT TO CONTINUE: COMPLETE THE FORMS LISTED UNDER 1 THROUGH 4 BELOW.   If you are renewing your 
(ANNUAL RENEWAL)  current license, return the required forms and the annual state fee to the Kansas Department of  
   Health and Environment at the above address.  Send the local fee, if any, to your local child care  
   facility surveyor. 
 
CLOSURE:  If you are no longer operating your School Age Drop-In Program, you must notify KDHE of your  

intent to close.  Complete the information requested on the form by checking the Closure box  
and provide the date you closed. Complete Section II & VI of the application and send to KDHE at  
the above address.  

 
1.   APPLICATION FOR LICENSE. 

Applications for a new license are to be submitted a minimum of 90 days prior to the anticipated opening of the 
facility.  Applications are processed in the order received.  The facility is not authorized to provide services to children or 
youth prior to receiving a temporary permit or license.  
 
CLEARLY PRINT OR TYPE using black ink.  Complete all statements carefully and include all requested  
information as attachments.  Please carefully review the complete application prior to mailing to the local child care  
facility surveyor or the Kansas Department of Health and Environment to be sure that all items as listed on the  
application are included. Incomplete applications may be returned. 

 
SHOW FACILITY ADDRESS ON WEBSITE. Checking “yes” to this question authorizes KDHE to publish the facility 
address and phone number on a compliance report made available to the public through the online compliance information 
system. 
 
ORIENTATION.  If you currently have a license, you do not need to complete this section.  If you are applying for a  
new license, please complete the date of your orientation.  If you have not attended an orientation session, please  
contact the local child care facility surveyor. 

 
2. STATE FEE.  Payment of the annual fee of $20.00 may be made by check or money order made payable to the Kansas 

Department of Health and Environment or by credit card by completing the necessary information on the application. 
 

LOCAL FEE.  KDHE contracts with local health departments or private contractors for local regulatory services.   
Local contractors may charge a local fee.  Please contact your local child care facility surveyor to determine the  
amount of the local fee and submit that fee directly to the local contractor per their instructions. 

 
3. FIRE SAFETY as required by K.S.A. 65-508(b). You must contact and obtain acceptance of fire safety from the Office of 

the State Fire Marshal (785-296-3401). Acceptance must be submitted with the application. 
  

4. KBI/DCF SCREENING FORM as required by K.A.R. 28-4-705. 

CLEARLY PRINT OR TYPE IN ALL INFORMATION REQUESTED FOR EACH PERSON USING BLACK INK.  All  
blanks need to be completed, however, the Social Security Number is optional.  If a section is not applicable, put NA  
in that space.  Incomplete requests will be returned. 

   
CAREFULLY CHECK the accuracy of the information you are submitting. All of the information requested helps to ensure  
the accuracy of the background screening process.  EVERY PERSON LIVING, WORKING OR REGULARLY 
VOLUNTEERING AT THE FACILITY IS TO BE SCREENED EACH YEAR AT THE TIME OF ANNUAL RENEWAL, 
INCLUDING YOURSELF.  THROUGHOUT THE RENEWAL YEAR, NEW PERSONS ARE TO BE SUBMITTED WITHIN 
ONE WEEK.  Keep a copy of the completed request form on file.  Please see K.A.R. 28-4-125 for more information. 

 



 

 APPLICANTS FOR A NEW LICENSE MUST ALSO COMPLETE  
 AND SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION. 
 
5. VERIFICATION OF THE LEGAL OWNER OR OPERATOR. 

 
Private Owner or Partnership that is not Incorporated. 

Submit a copy of the lease or deed for the property and, pursuant to K.S.A. 1991 Supp. 74-139, a copy of the 
Social Security Card or Driver’s License or Birth Certificate for each owner or partner.  If located in a church, 
school, or other building not owned by the individual or partnership, include authorization signed by the owner of 
the property granting permission for the operation of the program on their premises. 

 Corporate and LLC Owners. 
  Submit the Federal Identification Number and the Kansas Secretary of State’s Business Entity ID Number.  If 

located in a church, school, or other building not owned by the corporation, include authorization signed by the 
owner of the property granting permission for operation of the program on their premises. 

 Governmental Agency including School District. 
  Submit the Federal Identification Number assigned to the legal owner. If located in a church, school, or other 

building not owned by the government agency, include authorization signed by the owner of the property granting 
permission for the operation of the program on their premises. 

 
6. PROGRAM INFORMATION. 

 Description of Program Activities and Services to be provided including a statement of the program’s 
purpose and goals including description of services provided such as educational and recreational activities, 
transportation, etc., the number and ages of children and youth for whom the program is designed, anticipated 
opening date. 

  
 Program Director pursuant to K.A.R. 28-4-701(d).  Submit a KDHE Program Director Approval letter if 

available.  If not available, complete and return the enclosed Program Director's Application included in this 
packet.  

 
7. SANITARIAN’S APPROVAL. If connected to private water or sewage disposal system a sanitarian’s approval is necessary 

to verify compliance as required by K.S.A. 65-508(a). 
 

FOR YOUR INFORMATION AND USE 
KDHE INSPECTION. 

K.S.A. 65-512 requires that all licensed facilities be inspected at least once every twelve months.  An initial 
announced inspection will be requested by KDHE when a complete and reviewed application is received and the facility is 
ready for occupancy.  Your local child care facility surveyor will make an ANNOUNCED initial inspection of the facility and 
the surrounding outdoor area. However, all future inspections including compliance checks, complaint investigations and 
annual reviews are UNANNOUNCED.   The annual review inspection will not necessarily occur at the time of your annual 
renewal date for your Intent to Continue Licensure.  KDHE provides dates for inspection to the local child care facility 
surveyor.  Inspection dates may change from time to time.  If you have questions or comments about your inspection, 
please contact the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. 

REQUIRED FORMS. 
Current KDHE forms are enclosed for your use.  Please make copies of these forms for future program use.   Destroy 
all unused copies of out-of-date forms, if you have any.  Forms may also be downloaded from the KDHE website at 
www.kdheks.gov/kidsnet.  Additional optional sample forms are included and may be used by the program at the program’s 
option. 

REGULATORY QUESTIONS.   
The local child care facility surveyor is your first and primary person of contact for questions about school age 
drop-in program regulations and laws.  Surveyors have a supply of Laws and Regulation books.  If you need a law or 
regulation book, contact your local surveyor or download from the KDHE website at www.kdheks.gov/kidsnet. Surveyors 
are also a good source of information about other local services including local education opportunities that may be 
available to school age drop-in program facility staff. 

 
FOR YOUR INFORMATION.   

  Once you have obtained a temporary permit or license, you may be eligible for services provided by other 
agencies.  Please contact your local child care facility surveyor, local area Department of Social and Rehabilitation 
Services office, and your local child care resource and referral agency to find out what is available in your area. 

 

Good Beginnings Last A Lifetime! 


