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                              INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION FOR A 
     LICENSED DAY CARE REFERRAL AGENCY 

 
 
NEW APPLICANTS: PROGRAMS THAT ARE APPLYING FOR A NEW LICENSE MUST COMPLETE ITEMS 1  
   THROUGH 8.  If you are applying for a NEW licensed Day Care Referral Agency, return the  
   required forms and fees to your local child care facility surveyor. 
 
INTENT TO CONTINUE: COMPLETE THE ITEMS LISTED UNDER 1 THROUGH 3 BELOW.   If you are renewing your 
(ANNUAL RENEWAL)  current license, WITHIN THE NEXT 30 DAYS, return the required forms and the annual state  
   fee to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment at the above address.  Send the  
   local fee, if any, to your local child care facility surveyor. 
 
1.   APPLICATION FOR LICENSE. 
      Applications for a new license are to be submitted a minimum of 90 days prior to the anticipated opening of the 

facility.  Applications are processed in the order received.  The facility is not authorized to provide services prior to 
receiving a temporary permit or license.  

 
  If you are no longer operating your Day Care Referral Agency, you must notify KDHE of your intent to close.  Complete 

the information requested on the form, mark the closure information and include the date of closure. 
 
 CLEARLY PRINT OR TYPE using black ink.  Complete all statements carefully and include all requested  
 information as attachments.  Please carefully review the complete application prior to mailing to the local child care  
 facility surveyor or the Kansas Department of Health and Environment to be sure that all items as listed on the  
 application are included. Incomplete applications may be returned. 
 
2. STATE FEE.  A check or money order made payable to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment for $75.00 

or complete the credit card information on this application. 

LOCAL FEE.  KDHE contracts with local health departments or private contractors for local regulatory services.   
Local contractors may charge a local fee.  Please contact your local child care facility surveyor to determine the  
amount of the local fee and submit that fee directly to the local contractor per their instructions. 

3.           KBI/DCF SCREENING FORM as required by K.A.R. 28-4-187. 

 CLEARLY PRINT OR TYPE IN ALL INFORMATION REQUESTED FOR EACH PERSON USING BLACK INK.  All  
 blanks need to be completed; however, the Social Security Number is optional.  If a section is not applicable, put NA  
 in that space.  Incomplete requests will be returned. 
   
 CAREFULLY CHECK the accuracy of the information you are submitting.  All of the information requested helps to  
 ensure the accuracy of the background screening process.  EVERY PERSON LIVING, WORKING OR REGULARLY  
 VOLUNTEERING AT THE FACILITY IS TO BE SCREENED AND INCLUDE THE OWNERS OF THE FACILITY.   
 Keep a copy of the completed request form on file.  

                   APPLICANTS FOR A NEW LICENSE MUST ALSO COMPLETE 
              AND SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION. 

4.            FIRE SAFETY as required by K.S.A. 65-508.   

      You must contact and obtain acceptance of fire safety from the Office of the State Fire Marshal         
                                                   (785-296-3401).   Acceptance is to be submitted with the application. 

     

5.            Verification of the legal owner or operator. 
               Private Owner or Partnership that is not Incorporated 

                    Submit a copy of the lease or deed for the property and, pursuant to K.S.A. 1991 Supp. 74-139, a copy of 
the Social Security Card or Driver’s License or Birth Certificate for each owner or partner. 

 

 



Corporate Owner 
Submit a copy of the Articles of Incorporation, By-Laws and the Federal Identification  

                                 Number.   

Governmental Agency including School District 
Submit Verification of Governmental Authority (i.e. if located in a church or school, include authorization from the  

                                 church or the school district for operating the program on their premises) and the Federal Identification Number. 

Other.  Please Describe. 

6.           Program Information. 
a. Description of Services to be provided including items such as educational services, resources provided, 

etc.   

b. Organization Chart including position titles and job descriptions for all staff.  Clearly designate the individual  
or governing body which exercises authority over and has responsibility for the operation, policies and 
practices of the day care referral agency

 7.           Physical Plant Information.  

 Floor plan.  Include a drawing showing how the day care resource and referral agency fits into the overall 
floor plan of a building.  Indicate if other type of business is conducted within the building.  Mark all of the exits 
to the outside.   

 
8.           Local Code Approval. 
 
                             Local codes and ordinances may prescribe other requirements for the legal operation of a day care referral 

agency.  Applicant must submit written approval from the appropriate local agencies indicating that all local 
codes are met or that there are none which apply. 

                                         FOR YOUR INFORMATION AND USE 
 

                  KDHE INSPECTION. 

                             K.S.A. 65-512 requires that all licensed facilities be inspected at least once every twelve months.  An initial 
announced inspection will be requested by KDHE when a complete and reviewed application is received and the 
facility is ready for occupancy.  Your local child care facility surveyor will make an ANNOUNCED initial inspection of 
the facility.  However, all future inspections including compliance checks, complaint investigations and annual reviews 
are UNANNOUNCED.   The annual review inspection will not necessarily occur at the time of your annual renewal 
date for your Intent to Continue Licensure.  KDHE provides dates for inspection to the local child care facility surveyor.  
Inspection dates may change from time to time.  If you have questions or comments about your inspection, please 
contact the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. 

                  REQUIRED FORMS.  

Current KDHE forms are enclosed for your use.  Please make copies of these forms for future program use.   
Destroy all unused copies of out-of-date forms, if you have any.  Additional forms may be obtained from the KDHE 
website at www.kdheks.gov/kidsnet/ 

                  REGULATORY QUESTIONS.   

 The local child care facility surveyor is your first and primary person of contact for questions about your child 
care facility, child care regulations and laws.  Surveyors have a supply of Laws and Regulation books.  If you need 
a law or regulation book, contact your local surveyor or download the regulations from the KDHE website at 
www.kdheks.gov/kidsnet 

           Good Beginnings Last A Lifetime! 


