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INFORMATION COMPARING  
LICENSED DAY CARE HOMES AND GROUP DAY CARE HOMES 

 
Regulation books and application forms may be obtained from the local child care facility surveyor in most county health 
departments.  If your county does not contract with the Kansas Department of Health and Environment for child care 
licensing, please contact our office directly at the address and phone number listed above. 
 
 
LICENSED DAY CARE HOMES OR GROUP DAY CARE HOMES RESPONSIBILITY 
Compliance with safety and health standards within the home is determined by:   
1) self-evaluation; and 2) evaluation of safety and health standards by a child care facility surveyor. 
 
 
NUMBER OF CHILDREN 
Licensed Day Care Home:  Maximum of 10 children, This total includes children birth to infancy through 16 years of age 
with a limited number of children under kindergarten age.  This number includes the provider's own children under 11 years 
of age.            
Group Day Care Home:  Maximum of 12 children with a second adult present. (See Regulations for Licensing Day Homes 
and Group Day Care Homes.) 
 
 
CHECKLIST 
The provider receives a self-evaluation checklist that may be used to help the provider meet and maintain compliance with 
laws and regulations. 
 
 
KBI/DCF CHILD ABUSE REGISTRY FORM 
Complete information to conduct background checks on each person over 10 years of age living, working, substituting, 
and/or regularly volunteering in the home is to be submitted at the time of application, and application renewal.  The same 
information is to be submitted to KDHE within one week for any new person in the home.  Screening is done by KBI for 
criminal history and by DCF for child abuse and/or neglect. 
 
 
HOME VISITS 
A licensing inspection is conducted at least once every 12 months (K.S.A. 65-512). 
 
 
PARENT INVOLVEMENT 
Licensed providers are required to allow parents access to the day care home during hours of operation. 
 
 
HEALTH REQUIREMENTS-ADULT 
Health assessments conducted within the past year are to be on file for day care providers and persons living, working, or 
volunteering in the home who are 16 years of age and older.  A negative TB test obtained no more than two years prior to 
application or employment must be submitted for persons 16 years of age and older at the time of application or initial 
employment. 
 
 
HEALTH REQUIREMENTS-CHILDREN 
The parent side of the medical record must be completed, including documentation of current immunizations, for each child 
in care. 
 
Health assessments are required at the time the child is enrolled but not thereafter.   

                 

 

 



FEE 
A Licensed Day Care application requires an $85.00 state fee.  A Group Day Care Application requires an $87.00 state fee.  
Fees are to be paid at the time of application or application renewal.  Local contractors may charge a local fee.  Contact 
the local child care facility surveyor to determine if a local fee is charged. 
 
 
SMOKING IS PROHIBITED 
Smoking is prohibited inside the day care home during hours of operation (K.S.A. 65-530). 
 
 
SPECIFIC SPACE REQUIREMENT 
25 square feet of available play space is required per child. 
 
 
INSURANCE 
Accident and liability insurance is required on any vehicle used for transporting children.  Other insurance is not required, 
but recommended. 
 
 
GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 
Kansas Administrative Regulations 28-4-122 through 132 are minimum requirements applicable to all categories of child 
day care and cover parental access to the day care home, parental permission to go off premises, information for criminal 
and child abuse histories, health of persons 16 years of age or older, emergency preparations and procedures, safety 
procedures, swimming and wading requirements, transportation requirements, pet policies, and child care practices in 
regards to supervision, appropriate discipline, prohibited punishment, and diapering and toileting procedures. 
 
 
ENFORCEMENT 
The license may be revoked, denied, suspended, or the licensee fined if regulations are not met.  
(K.S.A. 65-504, 506, 523, 524, and 526) 
 
Failure to comply with child care laws may result in criminal prosecution and a fine of $5.00 to $50.00 per day (K.S.A. 65-514 
and 515). 
 
 
DCF CHILD CARE PURCHASE OF SERVICE 
The Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF) may contract with any licensed day care home. 
 
 
CHILD AND ADULT CARE FOOD PROGRAM 
The Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) may contract with any licensed day care or group day care home, 
operated within the provider's residence, for partial reimbursement for nutritious meals and snacks served to children in 
care.  The Kansas Department of Education administers this program. 
 
 
 


