Kansas Department of Health and Environment — Bureau of Air
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310, Topeka, Kansas 66612
Phone: (785) 296-6422 Fax: (785) 296-7455

Kansas Asbestos Control: What Contractors Should Know
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In Kansas, the asbestos program is operated by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, or KDHE, Bureau of
Air. Asbestos control regulations and statutes detail requirements for contractors, including the following:
e licensure of business entities
e qualifications of asbestos workers
e notification of asbestos projects
e work practices for asbestos-related projects

The statues also detail violations and criminal penalties for not complying with state regulations.

In addition to state regulations, contractors must follow federally regulated asbestos requirements administered by the
Occupational Safety and Health Administration and United States Environmental Protection Agency. KDHE has authority
to implement the U.S. EPA National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air Pollutants, or NESHAP, for asbestos as found in
40 CFR Part 61.145 — Standard for Demolition and Renovation.

Business license

A business entity must be licensed by KDHE to engage in asbestos-related projects in Kansas including removal,
encapsulation, dismantling and demolition. The license must be renewed annually with payment of a fee. The KDHE
business license application form requests information about the company’s employees’ asbestos certification details,
respirator protection program, mitigation equipment and work practices.

Worker qualifications

A person must be certified by KDHE to engage in (Class | Worker), or supervise (Class Il Supervisor) asbestos-control
work. Initially, and each year following, workers must apply for initial certification or renewal of a certificate. To obtain
certifications or subsequent annual certificates, workers must successfully complete U.S. EPA-approved training or
refresher courses. They must fill out and submit the KDHE application form, pay a certification or renewal fee, and
submit copies of required training certification.

Notification of asbestos project

KDHE must be notified in writing before asbestos-related projects (removal, encapsulation, dismantling or demolition)
will be performed in a building, structure or adjoining area accessible to the public. Use the KDHE notification form and
submit it in time for KDHE to receive it 10 business days prior to the start of the asbestos project. In specific situations,
such as an emergency, the 10-day notification requirement may be waived.

Work practice standards

Kansas asbestos-control regulations detail work practice procedures for asbestos containment, removal, encapsulation,
cleanup and waste disposal. Contractors must comply with these requirements unless they have been waived for
specific projects. Failure to follow asbestos- control regulations can result in a business entity incurring a civil penalty in
an amount up to $5000 per violation. In the case of a continuing violation, every day the violation occurs shall be
deemed a separate violation.

Resources
e KDHE asbestos program telephone number — 785-296-1549
e KDHE asbestos website — http://www.kdheks.gov/asbestos/indexasb.html
e EPA asbestos website — http://www.epa.gov/asbestos

This fact sheet is a guidance for asbestos abatement contractors, Kansas Asbestos Regulations can be found at:
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