Assessment and Restoration Section


Bob Jurgens, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1914    Fax: (785) 559-4261
Email: Bob.Jurgens@ks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Assessment and Restoration Section is responsible for: tracking and clean-up at emergency spill response sites and assessing and restoring sites with natural resource damages, as well as performing assessments and/or corrective action at sites with actual or potential environmental contamination in the Superfund, Dry Cleaning, Natural Resources Damages, Brownfields, Orphan Sites, and Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Programs.



Former American Cleaners Dry Cleaners Site
KDHE's Dry Cleaning Remediation Program is addressing impacts to private water supply wells caused by the former American Cleaners site in Haysville. A Public Availability Session was held on August 17, 2017 at the Haysville Alternative High School. Residents using a private water well within the affected area are encouraged to contact KDHE at 785-291-3252 to have their well sampled.

Clark Manufacturing Voluntary Cleanup Plan (.pdf)
In accordance with Kansas Administrative Regulation, K.A.R. 28-71-12(a), established pursuant to the Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Act (Kansas Statutes Annotated 65-34,161 through 65-34,174), the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) hereby provides notice to the public of KDHE's acceptance of a Voluntary Cleanup Plan submitted for the Clark Manufacturing site in Sumner County, Kansas. KDHE will accept written comments from the public concerning the proposed Voluntary Cleanup Plan during a 15-day public comment period beginning August 16, 2017 and ending August 30, 2017.

The Voluntary Cleanup Plan is available for review at KDHE's offices in Topeka, Kansas, and may be downloaded from the above link. Requests to review, and written comments concerning, the KDHE-accepted Voluntary Cleanup Plan for the Clark Manufacturing site should be directed to the following address:

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Bureau of Environmental Remediation
Attn: VCPRP Coordinator
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1367
(785) 296-8064, FAX (785) 559-4261

New Policy: Contaminated Groundwater and Surface Water Intersection
KDHE developed the policy BER-049 - Contaminated Groundwater and Surface Water Intersection as of July 5, 2017 to provide guidance for determining whether groundwater contamination poses harm to a surface water body.

Policy Update: Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management
KDHE has updated its policy BER-041 - Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management as of May 24, 2017. The updated policy provides additional clarification regarding its use and the associated analytical methods, without the overall framework established in the original policy.

Orphan Site Program Annual Report 2015 (.pdf)
This annual report describes the activities of the Orphan Sites Program in 2015.

Tonganoxie Methane Response (.pdf)
KDHE has completed a report summarizing an investigation into identifying the extent and source of methane gas found in soil in the Jackson Heights subdivision in Tonganoxie, Kansas. The methane has only been found in the soil and does not pose a risk to public health. Laboratory analytical results indicate the soil gas is consistent with methane gas formed through decay of organic matter in near-surface soils. The data collected by KDHE indicates that the gas found in the Jackson Heights subdivision is most likely from naturally decaying material found in the soil. KDHE has concluded response activities for the Tonganoxie Methane Response site.

Kansas Dry Cleaning Program Overview (.pdf)
This document describes the Kansas Dry Cleaning Program, enforcement of the Dry Cleaning Regulations, and describes actions taken at the Former Four Seasons Dry Cleaners Site in Wichita.

Kansas Spill Notification (.pdf)
Instructions to reporting spills to the Kansas Spill Response Program have been updated as of October 24, 2014.

Maggie Weiser, KDHE's Brownfields Program Coordinator Discusses the Kansas Brownfields Program

Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Manual (.pdf)
KDHE is happy to provide an updated Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Program Manual. The new version is more user-friendly and is designed to better serve voluntary parties and other program participants.

Staff

Assessment and Restoration Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Bob Jurgens

Section Chief

Bob.Jurgens@ks.gov

785-296-1914

Brownfields and Orphan Sites Unit

Gary Richards

Unit Manager

Gary.Richards@ks.gov

785-291-3246

Joe Dornes

Environmental Associate

Joe.Dornes@ks.gov

785-296-6226

Seth Mettling

State Brownfields Coordinator

Seth.Mettling@ks.gov

785-296-5519

Jonathan Stephenson

Environmental Specialist

Jonathan.Stephenson@ks.gov

785-296-1676

Bryce Zirfas

Environmental Associate

Bryce.Zirfas@ks.gov

785-296-1665

Response and Remediation Unit

Joe Dom, P. G.

Unit Manager

Joe.Dom@ks.gov

785-296-4367

Jesse Branham

Environmental Associate

Jesse.Branham@ks.gov

785-291-3089

Alexis Crawford

Environmental Associate

Alexis.Crawford@ks.gov

785-296-1679

Chris Hase

Environmental Specialist

Chris.Hase@ks.gov

785-296-2866

Jeff Janzen

Spills Response Program Coordinator

Jeffery.Janzen@ks.gov

785-368-7301

Clay Kniebel

Geology Specialist

Clay.Kniebel@ks.gov

785-296-5548

Kevin Moon, P. G.

Environmental Specialist

Kevin.Moon@ks.gov

785-296-8025

Debra Walters

Administrative Assistant

Debra.Walters@ks.gov

785-366-6370

Site Assessment Unit

Darryl Morgan, P. G.

Unit Manager

Darryl.Morgan@ks.gov

785-296-8065

Austin Clapp

Environmental Associate

Austin.Clapp@ks.gov

785-296-1680

Daniel O'Crowley

Environmental Specialist

Daniel.OCrowley@ks.gov

785-296-1671

Voluntary Cleanup Unit

Deanna Ross, P. G.

Unit Manager

Deanna.Ross@ks.gov

785-296-8064

Brittany Bennett

Environmental Specialist

Brittany.Bennett@ks.gov

785-296-1541

Russ England

Environmental Specialist

Russ.England@ks.gov

785-296-5555

Brad Johnson

Environmental Specialist

Bradley.Johnson@ks.gov

785-291-3247

Marquise Paige

Geology Specialist

Marquise.Paige@ks.gov

785-296-6380