Assessment and Restoration Section


Bob Jurgens, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1914    Fax: (785) 559-4261
Email: Bob.Jurgens@ks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Assessment and Restoration Section is responsible for: tracking and clean-up at emergency spill response sites and assessing and restoring sites with natural resource damages, as well as performing assessments and/or corrective action at sites with actual or potential environmental contamination in the Superfund, Dry Cleaning, Natural Resources Damages, Brownfields, Orphan Sites, and Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Programs.



Koch Agri-Services, Clifton/Vining Voluntary Cleanup Plan (.pdf)
In accordance with Kansas Administrative Regulation, K.A.R. 28-71-12(a), established pursuant to the Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Act (Kansas Statutes Annotated 65-34,161 through 65-34,174), the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) hereby provides notice to the public of KDHE's acceptance of a Voluntary Cleanup Plan submitted for the Koch Agri-Services, Clifton/Vining site in Vining, Kansas. KDHE will accept written comments from the public concerning the proposed Voluntary Cleanup Plan during a 15-day public comment period beginning December 8, 2016 and ending December 22, 2016.

The Voluntary Cleanup Plan is available for review at KDHE's offices in Topeka, Kansas, and may be downloaded from the above link. Requests to review, and written comments concerning, the KDHE-accepted Voluntary Cleanup Plan for the Koch Agri-Services, Clifton/Vining site should be directed to the following address:

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Bureau of Environmental Remediation
Attn: VCPRP Coordinator
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1367
(785) 296-8064, FAX (785)296-7030

Orphan Site Program Annual Report 2015 (.pdf)
This annual report describes the activities of the Orphan Sites Program in 2015.

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Update--TPH Analytical Method Update
In September 2015 KDHE BER revised its total petroleum hydrocarbon and LNAPL policy, Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management BER Policy # BER-041. BER has since coordinated with the Kansas Health and Environmental Laboratory (KHEL) to bring to fruition a new Kansas analytical method to meet the requirements of the policy.

KDHE is happy to announce that beginning January 1, 2016, five laboratories will be certified to run the new Kansas TPH Methods. For a complete list of certified laboratories for the Kansas TPH Methods and other various matrices and analytes, please visit the KHEL Laboratory Accreditation webpage.

Tonganoxie Methane Response (.pdf)
KDHE has completed a report summarizing an investigation into identifying the extent and source of methane gas found in soil in the Jackson Heights subdivision in Tonganoxie, Kansas. The methane has only been found in the soil and does not pose a risk to public health. Laboratory analytical results indicate the soil gas is consistent with methane gas formed through decay of organic matter in near-surface soils. The data collected by KDHE indicates that the gas found in the Jackson Heights subdivision is most likely from naturally decaying material found in the soil. KDHE has concluded response activities for the Tonganoxie Methane Response site.

Kansas Dry Cleaning Program Overview (.pdf)
This document describes the Kansas Dry Cleaning Program, enforcement of the Dry Cleaning Regulations, and describes actions taken at the Former Four Seasons Dry Cleaners Site in Wichita.

Kansas Spill Notification (.pdf)
Instructions to reporting spills to the Kansas Spill Response Program have been updated as of October 24, 2014.

Maggie Weiser, KDHE's Brownfields Program Coordinator Discusses the Kansas Brownfields Program

Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Manual (.pdf)
KDHE is happy to provide an updated Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Program Manual. The new version is more user-friendly and is designed to better serve voluntary parties and other program participants.

Staff

Assessment and Restoration Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Bob Jurgens

Section Chief

Bob.Jurgens@ks.gov

785-296-1914

Jessica Willis

Senior Administrative Assistant

Jessica.Willis@ks.gov

785-291-3790

Brownfields and Orphan Sites Unit

Gary Richards

Unit Manager

Gary.Richards@ks.gov

785-291-3246

Joe Dornes

Environmental Associate

Joe.Dornes@ks.gov

785-296-6226

Moud Safadi

Environmental Specialist

Moud.Safadi@ks.gov

785-296-1665

Vacant

State Brownfields Coordinator

Response and Remediation Unit

Joe Dom, P. G.

Unit Manager

Joe.Dom@ks.gov

785-296-4367

Jesse Branham

Environmental Associate

Jesse.Branham@ks.gov

785-296-1680

Alexis Crawford

Environmental Associate

Alexis.Crawford@ks.gov

785-296-1679

Chris Hase

Environmental Specialist

Chris.Hase@ks.gov

785-296-2866

Clay Kniebel

Geology Specialist

Clay.Kniebel@ks.gov

785-296-5548

Kevin Moon

Environmental Specialist

Kevin.Moon@ks.gov

785-296-8025

Debra Walters

Administrative Assistant

Debra.Walters@ks.gov

785-366-6370

Site Assessment Unit

Darryl Morgan, P. G.

Unit Manager

Darryl.Morgan@ks.gov

785-296-8065

Austin Clapp

Environmental Associate

Austin.Clapp@ks.gov

785-296-1680

Natalie Martin

Environmental Specialist

Natalie.Martin@ks.gov

785-296-5742

Nicholas Schneider

Geology Specialist

Nicholas.Schneider@ks.gov

785-296-1671

Bryce Zirfas

Environmental Associate

Bryce.Zirfas@ks.gov

785-296-1681

Voluntary Cleanup Unit

Deanna Ross, P. G.

Unit Manager

Deanna.Ross@ks.gov

785-296-8064

Brittany Bennett

Environmental Specialist

Brittany.Bennett@ks.gov

785-296-1541

Russ England

Environmental Specialist

Russ.England@ks.gov

785-296-5555

Brad Johnson

Environmental Specialist

Bradley.Johnson@ks.gov

785-291-3247

Daniel O'Crowley

Environmental Specialist

Daniel.OCrowley@ks.gov

785-296-6380

Andrea Schiller

Environmental Specialist

Andrea.Schiller@ks.gov

785-296-0489