Assessment and Restoration Section


Joe Dom, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1914    Fax: (785) 559-4261
Email: Joe.Dom@ks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Assessment and Restoration Section is responsible for: tracking and clean-up at emergency spill response sites and assessing and restoring sites with natural resource damages, as well as performing assessments and/or corrective action at sites with actual or potential environmental contamination in the Superfund, Dry Cleaning, Natural Resources Damages, and Orphan Sites Programs.



Former American Cleaners Dry Cleaners Site
KDHE's Dry Cleaning Remediation Program is addressing impacts to private water supply wells caused by the former American Cleaners site in Haysville. Public Availability Sessions were held on August 17, and September 7, 2017, at the Haysville Alternative High School. Residents using a private water well within the affected area are encouraged to contact KDHE at 785-291-3252 to have their well sampled.

New Policy: Contaminated Groundwater and Surface Water Intersection
KDHE developed the policy BER-049 - Contaminated Groundwater and Surface Water Intersection as of July 5, 2017 to provide guidance for determining whether groundwater contamination poses harm to a surface water body.

Policy Update: Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management
KDHE has updated its policy BER-041 - Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management as of May 24, 2017. The updated policy provides additional clarification regarding its use and the associated analytical methods, without the overall framework established in the original policy.

Kansas Dry Cleaning Program Overview (.pdf)
This document describes the Kansas Dry Cleaning Program, enforcement of the Dry Cleaning Regulations, and describes actions taken at the Former Four Seasons Dry Cleaners Site in Wichita.

Kansas Spill Notification (.pdf)
Instructions to reporting spills to the Kansas Spill Response Program have been updated as of October 24, 2014.

Assessment and Restoration Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Joe Dom, P. G.

Section Chief

Joe.Dom@ks.gov

785-296-1914

Debra Walters

Senior Administrative Assistant

Debra.Walters@ks.gov

785-291-3790

Julie Halbert

Administrative Assistant

Julie.Halbert@ks.gov

785-296-6370

Dryclean/Superfund Unit

Vacant

Unit Manager

Jesse Branham

Environmental Associate

Jesse.Branham@ks.gov

785-291-3089

Chris Hase

Environmental Specialist

Chris.Hase@ks.gov

785-296-2866

Clay Kniebel

Geology Specialist

Clay.Kniebel@ks.gov

785-296-5548

Kevin Moon, P. G.

Environmental Specialist

Kevin.Moon@ks.gov

785-296-8025

Orphan Sites Unit

Vacant

Unit Manager

Alexa Goers

Geology Specialist

Alexa.Goers@ks.gov

785-296-8063

Jonathan Stephenson

Environmental Specialist

Jonathan.Stephenson@ks.gov

785-296-1676

Bryce Zirfas

Environmental Associate

Bryce.Zirfas@ks.gov

785-296-1665

Site Response Unit

Darryl Morgan, P. G.

Unit Manager

Darryl.Morgan@ks.gov

785-296-8065

Dayton Allen

Environmental Associate

Dayton.Allen@ks.gov

785-296-6226

Samuel Boaz

Environmental Associate

Samuel.Boaz@ks.gov

785-296-5742

Austin Clapp

Environmental Associate

Austin.Clapp@ks.gov

785-296-1680

Alexis Crawford

Environmental Associate

Alexis.Crawford@ks.gov

785-296-1679

Bei Huang

Geology Specialist

Bei.Huang@ks.gov

785-291-3807

Jeff Janzen

Spills Response Program Coordinator

Jeffery.Janzen@ks.gov

785-368-7301

Daniel O'Crowley

Environmental Specialist

Daniel.OCrowley@ks.gov

785-296-1671