Assessment and Restoration Section


Bob Jurgens, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1914    Fax: (785) 296-4823
Email: bjurgens@kdheks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Assessment and Restoration Section is responsible for: tracking and clean-up at emergency spill response sites and assessing and restoring sites with natural resource damages, as well as performing assessments and/or corrective action at sites with actual or potential environmental contamination in the Superfund, Dry Cleaning, Natural Resources Damages, Brownfields, Orphan Sites, and Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Programs.

Kansas Dry Cleaning Program Overview (.pdf)
This document describes the Kansas Dry Cleaning Program, enforcement of the Dry Cleaning Regulations, and describes actions taken at the Former Four Seasons Dry Cleaners Site in Wichita.

Kansas Spill Notification (.pdf)
Instructions to reporting spills to the Kansas Spill Response Program have been updated as of October 24, 2014.

Orphan Site Program Annual Report 2014 (.pdf)
This annual report describes the activities of the Orphan Sites Program.

Maggie Weiser, KDHE's Brownfields Program Coordinator Discusses the Kansas Brownfields Program

Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Manual (.pdf)
KDHE is happy to provide an updated Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Program Manual. The new version is more user-friendly and is designed to better serve voluntary parties and other program participants.

Staff

Assessment and Restoration Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Bob Jurgens

Section Chief

bjurgens@kdheks.gov

785-296-1914

Jessica Willis

Senior Administrative Assistant

jwillis@kdheks.gov

785-291-3790

Ashley Christiansen

Administrative Assistant

achristiansen@kdheks.gov

785-296-6370

Brownfields and Orphan Sites Unit

Vacant

Unit Manager

785-291-3246

Stephanie Farve

Environmental Specialist

sfarve@kdheks.gov

785-291-3244

Moud Safadi

Environmental Specialist

msafadi@kdheks.gov

785-291-1681

Kaitlin Salley

State Brownfields Coordinator

ksalley@kdheks.gov

785-296-5519

Tiffini Wells

Environmental Specialist

twells@kdheks.gov

785-296-1665

Response and Remediation Unit

Joe Dom, P. G.

Unit Manager

jdom@kdheks.gov

785-296-4367

Chris Hase

Environmental Scientist

chase@kdheks.gov

785-296-2866

John Jones

Environmental Scientist

jtjones@kdheks.gov

785-296-1679

Kevin Moon

Geology Associate

kmoon@kdheks.gov

785-296-3866

Kent Schierkolk

Environmental Scientist

kschierk@kdheks.gov

785-368-7301

Site Assessment Unit

Darryl Morgan, P. G.

Unit Manager

dmorgan@kdheks.gov

785-296-8065

Jesse Branham

Environmental Associate

jbranham@kdheks.gov

785-296-1680

Joe Dornes

Environmental Associate

jdornes@kdheks.gov

785-296-6226

Nicholas Schneider

Environmental Scientist

nschneider@kdheks.gov

785-296-1671

Scott Williamson

Environmental Specialist

swilliamson@kdheks.gov

785-296-5742

Voluntary Cleanup Unit

Deanna Ross, P. G.

Unit Manager

dross@kdheks.gov

785-296-8064

Bryan Bain

Environmental Scientist

bbain@kdheks.gov

785-296-5548

Robert Benne

Environmental Specialist

rbenne@kdheks.gov

785-291-3247

Russ England

Environmental Scientist

rengland@kdheks.gov

785-296-5555

Gary Richards

Environmental Specialist

grichards@kdheks.gov

785-296-6380

Andrea Schiller

Environmental Specialist

aschiller@kdheks.gov

785-296-0489

Kelsee Wheeler

Environmental Specialist

kwheeler@kdheks.gov

785-296-1541