Assessment and Restoration Section


Bob Jurgens, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1914    Fax: (785) 296-4823
Email: bjurgens@kdheks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Assessment and Restoration Section is responsible for: tracking and clean-up at emergency spill response sites and assessing and restoring sites with natural resource damages, as well as performing assessments and/or corrective action at sites with actual or potential environmental contamination in the Superfund, Dry Cleaning, Natural Resources Damages, Brownfields, Orphan Sites, and Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Programs.

Kansas Spill Notification (.pdf)
Instructions to reporting spills to the Kansas Spill Response Program have been updated as of October 24, 2014.

State Water Plan Annual Report 2013 (.pdf)
This annual report describes the activities of the State Water Plan Program.

Maggie Weiser, KDHE's Brownfields Program Coordinator Discusses the Kansas Brownfields Program

Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Manual (.pdf)
KDHE is happy to provide an updated Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Program Manual. The new version is more user-friendly and is designed to better serve voluntary parties and other program participants.

Staff

Assessment and Restoration Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Bob Jurgens

Section Chief

bjurgens@kdheks.gov

785-296-1914

Jessica Willis

Administrative Assistant

jwillis@kdheks.gov

785-291-3790

Brownfields and Orphan Sites Unit

Doug Doubek, P. G.

Unit Chief

ddoubek@kdheks.gov

785-291-3246

Kaitlin Salley

State Brownfields Coordinator

ksalley@kdheks.gov

785-296-5519

Tiffini Wells

Environmental Scientist

twells@kdheks.gov

785-296-1665

Response and Remediation Unit

Joe Dom, P. G.

Unit Chief

jdom@kdheks.gov

785-296-4367

Anna Hernandez

Administrative Assistant

amhernandez@kdheks.gov

785-296-6370

Chris Hase

Environmental Scientist

chase@kdheks.gov

785-296-2866

John Jones

Environmental Scientist

jtjones@kdheks.gov

785-296-1679

Darryl Morgan, P. G.

Professional Geologist

dmorgan@kdheks.gov

785-296-8025

Kent Schierkolk

Environmental Scientist

kschierk@kdheks.gov

785-368-7301

Site Assessment Unit

Randy Brown, P. G.

Unit Chief

rbrown@kdheks.gov

785-296-8065

Charles Krumins

Environmental Technician

ckrumins@kdheks.gov

785-296-1680

Nicholas Schneider

Environmental Scientist

nschneider@kdheks.gov

785-296-1671

Scott Williamson

Environmental Scientist

swilliamson@kdheks.gov

785-296-5742

Voluntary Cleanup Unit

Deanna Ross, P. G.

Unit Chief

dross@kdheks.gov

785-296-8064

Bryan Bain

Environmental Scientist

bbain@kdheks.gov

785-296-5548

Robert Benne

Environmental Scientist

rbenne@kdheks.gov

785-291-3247

Russ England

Environmental Scientist

rengland@kdheks.gov

785-296-5555

Gary Richards

Environmental Scientist

grichards@kdheks.gov

785-296-6380

Andrea Schiller

Environmental Scientist

aschiller@kdheks.gov

785-296-0489

Kelsee Wheeler

Environmental Scientist

kwheeler@kdheks.gov

785-296-1541