Assessment and Restoration Section


Bob Jurgens, Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-1914    Fax: (785) 296-4823
Email: bjurgens@kdheks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Assessment and Restoration Section is responsible for: tracking and clean-up at emergency spill response sites and assessing and restoring sites with natural resource damages, as well as performing assessments and/or corrective action at sites with actual or potential environmental contamination in the Superfund, Dry Cleaning, Natural Resources Damages, Brownfields, Orphan Sites, and Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Programs.

Four Seasons Dry Cleaners Site
Groundwater migrating from the area near the former Four Seasons Dry Cleaners near W. Central and N. Tyler Rd. in Wichita has been contaminated by volatile organic chemicals (VOCs). VOCs are liquid or solid chemicals that can easily evaporate into gases and are a significant source of pollution in the environment. They are sometimes found in the groundwater beneath certain industrial businesses, such as dry cleaners. A VOC commonly used at dry cleaning facilities is tetrachloroethylene, also known as PCE.

KDHE's Dry Cleaning Remediation Program is conducting an emergency action to provide alternative water supplies to all homes with private drinking water wells above the EPA Maximum Contaminant Levels (MCL) of 5 ppb for PCE and/or 5 ppb for TCE. Residents with well in the area of concern are encouraged to contact KDHE at 785-291-3252 to have their private well sampled.

Area of Concern for the Four Seasons Drycleaning Site
Area of Concern for the Four Seasons Drycleaning Site.

State Water Plan Annual Report 2013 (.pdf)
This annual report describes the activities of the State Water Plan Program.

Maggie Weiser, KDHE's Brownfields Program Coordinator Discusses the Kansas Brownfields Program

Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Manual (.pdf)
KDHE is happy to provide an updated Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Program Manual. The new version is more user-friendly and is designed to better serve voluntary parties and other program participants.

Staff

Assessment and Restoration Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Bob Jurgens

Section Chief

bjurgens@kdheks.gov

785-296-1914

Brownfields and Orphan Sites Unit

Doug Doubek, P. G.

Unit Chief

ddoubek@kdheks.gov

785-291-3246

Kaitlin Salley

Geology Associate

ksalley@kdheks.gov

785-296-1681

Tiffini Wells

Environmental Scientist

twells@kdheks.gov

785-296-1665

Response and Remediation Unit

Joe Dom

Unit Chief

jdom@kdheks.gov

785-296-4367

Anna Hernandez

Administrative Assistant

amhernandez@kdheks.gov

785-296-6370

Mandi Chace

Environmental Scientist

mchace@kdheks.gov

785-291-3249

Chris Hase

Environmental Scientist

chase@kdheks.gov

785-296-2866

John Jones

Environmental Scientist

jtjones@kdheks.gov

785-296-1679

Darryl Morgan, P. G.

Professional Geologist

dmorgan@kdheks.gov

785-296-8025

Kent Schierkolk

Environmental Scientist

kschierk@kdheks.gov

785-368-7301

Site Assessment Unit

Randy Brown, P. G.

Unit Chief

rbrown@kdheks.gov

785-296-8065

Nicholas Schneider

Environmental Scientist

nschneider@kdheks.gov

785-296-1671

Voluntary Cleanup Unit

Deanna Ross, P. G.

Unit Chief

dross@kdheks.gov

785-296-8064

Bryan Bain

Environmental Scientist

bbain@kdheks.gov

785-296-5548

Robert Benne

Environmental Scientist

rbenne@kdheks.gov

785-291-3247

Russ England

Environmental Scientist

rengland@kdheks.gov

785-296-5555

Gary Richards

Environmental Scientist

grichards@kdheks.gov

785-296-6380

Andrea Schiller

Environmental Scientist

aschiller@kdheks.gov

785-296-0489

Kelsee Wheeler

Environmental Scientist

kwheeler@kdheks.gov

785-296-1541