Assessment and Restoration Section


Joe Dom, Deputy Section Chief
Phone: (785) 296-4367    Fax: (785) 559-4261
Email: Joe.Dom@ks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
        Topeka, KS 66612-1367



The Assessment and Restoration Section is responsible for: tracking and clean-up at emergency spill response sites and assessing and restoring sites with natural resource damages, as well as performing assessments and/or corrective action at sites with actual or potential environmental contamination in the Superfund, Dry Cleaning, Natural Resources Damages, and Orphan Sites Programs.



Mid-Kansas Cooperative-Burns Facility Voluntary Cleanup Presumptive Remedy Decision Document (.pdf)
In accordance with Kansas Administrative Regulation, K.A.R. 28-71-12(a), established pursuant to the Voluntary Cleanup and Property Redevelopment Act (Kansas Statutes Annotated 65-34,161 through 65-34,174), the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) hereby provides notice to the public of KDHE's acceptance of a Voluntary Cleanup Presumptive Remedy Decision Document submitted for the Mid-Kansas Cooperative-Burns Facility site in Burns, Marion County, Kansas. KDHE will accept written comments from the public concerning the proposed Voluntary Cleanup Presumptive Remedy Decision Document during a 15-day public comment period beginning January 24, 2018, and ending February 7, 2018.

The Voluntary Cleanup Presumptive Remedy Decision Document is available for review at KDHE's offices in Topeka, Kansas, and may be downloaded from the above link. Requests to review, and written comments concerning, the KDHE-accepted Voluntary Cleanup Presumptive Remedy Decision Document for the Mid-Kansas Cooperative-Burns Facility site should be directed to the following address:

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Bureau of Environmental Remediation
Attn: VCPRP Coordinator
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 410
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1367
(785) 296-8064, FAX (785) 559-4261

Former American Cleaners Dry Cleaners Site
KDHE's Dry Cleaning Remediation Program is addressing impacts to private water supply wells caused by the former American Cleaners site in Haysville. Public Availability Sessions were held on August 17, and September 7, 2017, at the Haysville Alternative High School. Residents using a private water well within the affected area are encouraged to contact KDHE at 785-291-3252 to have their well sampled.

New Policy: Contaminated Groundwater and Surface Water Intersection
KDHE developed the policy BER-049 - Contaminated Groundwater and Surface Water Intersection as of July 5, 2017 to provide guidance for determining whether groundwater contamination poses harm to a surface water body.

Policy Update: Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management
KDHE has updated its policy BER-041 - Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH) and Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) Characterization, Remediation, and Management as of May 24, 2017. The updated policy provides additional clarification regarding its use and the associated analytical methods, without the overall framework established in the original policy.

Kansas Dry Cleaning Program Overview (.pdf)
This document describes the Kansas Dry Cleaning Program, enforcement of the Dry Cleaning Regulations, and describes actions taken at the Former Four Seasons Dry Cleaners Site in Wichita.

Kansas Spill Notification (.pdf)
Instructions to reporting spills to the Kansas Spill Response Program have been updated as of October 24, 2014.

Assessment and Restoration Section Staff Directory

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Administration

Joe Dom, P. G.

Deputy Section Chief

Joe.Dom@ks.gov

785-296-4367

Debra Walters

Senior Administrative Assistant

Debra.Walters@ks.gov

785-291-3790

Julie Halbert

Administrative Assistant

Julie.Halbert@ks.gov

785-296-6370

Dryclean/Superfund Unit

Joe Dom, P. G.

Unit Manager

Joe.Dom@ks.gov

785-296-4367

Jesse Branham

Environmental Associate

Jesse.Branham@ks.gov

785-291-3089

Alexis Crawford

Environmental Associate

Alexis.Crawford@ks.gov

785-296-1679

Chris Hase

Environmental Specialist

Chris.Hase@ks.gov

785-296-2866

Clay Kniebel

Geology Specialist

Clay.Kniebel@ks.gov

785-296-5548

Kevin Moon, P. G.

Environmental Specialist

Kevin.Moon@ks.gov

785-296-8025

Orphan Sites Unit

Gary Richards

Unit Manager

Gary.Richards@ks.gov

785-291-3246

Joe Dornes

Environmental Associate

Joe.Dornes@ks.gov

785-296-6226

Jonathan Stephenson

Environmental Specialist

Jonathan.Stephenson@ks.gov

785-296-1676

Bryce Zirfas

Environmental Associate

Bryce.Zirfas@ks.gov

785-296-1665

Site Response Unit

Darryl Morgan, P. G.

Unit Manager

Darryl.Morgan@ks.gov

785-296-8065

Dayton Allen

Environmental Associate

Dayton.Allen@ks.gov

785-296-6226

Samuel Boaz

Environmental Associate

Samuel.Boaz@ks.gov

785-296-5742

Austin Clapp

Environmental Associate

Austin.Clapp@ks.gov

785-296-1680

Bei Huang

Geology Specialist

Bei.Huang@ks.gov

785-291-3807

Jeff Janzen

Spills Response Program Coordinator

Jeffery.Janzen@ks.gov

785-368-7301

Daniel O'Crowley

Environmental Specialist

Daniel.OCrowley@ks.gov

785-296-1671